Top resources for the English Literature research
(find more in the English Literature A-Z)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) - Current searchable online edition of the OED. Useful for history of individual words, and of the English language.
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (ODNB) - Concise, scholarly biographies of historical and literary figures. Searchable and quotable.
Oxford Very Short Introductions
Proquest One Literature - Includes Author Pages (with scholarly biographies, lists of works, and links to related journal articles) and online versions of reference books such as The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online - Online, searchable editions of primary texts. Includes editions of works by Dickens, Donne, and Dryden through to Virgil, Wordsworth and the New Oxford Shakespeare.
ARTstor - A digital library of images and accompanying scholarly information.
The Bible - 20 versions of the English Bible.
Times Digital Archive 1785-2010 - Searchable digital copies of The Times Between 1785-2010.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive - Every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902-2011.
Including digitised manuscripts, illuminations, maps, photos, archives, music, etc.
Primary texts
How to use EEBO: a guide from the University of Waterloo
Journal article stores:
Bibliographies (Searchable indexes of scholarly books and articles - good for tracking down references)
MLA International Bibliography
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (included in the Web of Science Core Collection)