Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Help

Resources for My Subject

Materials Science & Metallurgy: Collections

Information about collections for Materials Science & Metallurgy

We have collections for Tripos and Post Graduate study as well as a Reference Collection and Departmental Theses.

All journals for MSM are electronic subscription only and can be found here

Databases for the Physical Sciences can be found here

Database A-Z

The Cambridge A-Z Databases offers a complete list of bibliographic databases accessible to current staff and students at the University. You can search by database name, browse the alphabetical listing or select a subject of your choice from the drop-down menu. These databases can all be accessed remotely, using the links in the guide and a Raven password.

Collections Showcase

MSM Library

Make a Recommendation

Use these links to make recommendations for resources direct to your library,

Reading lists

Below you will find links to undergraduate reading lists in Materials Science. Physical books are found in the Tripos section of the library (look for the  books with the yellow labels).

These links will direct you to the Moodle page for each part (Raven login required).

Physical Sciences Databases

These are some of the databases that our students and researchers use most frequently. They offer a good place to start to find information in the physical sciences. Got a database that you think should be on the list? Drop us an email.

IMPORTANT: this database is only a selection of the resources on offer. Consult the A-Z Databases link for a full list. Please note that all database links open in a new window.

Name
Description
Access
arXiv

ArXiv is an open archive operated by Cornell University for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. It is particularly good for finding pre-print articles. 

Access here 
Cambridge Core The platform for Cambridge University Press online content including ebooks and journals. Search by keyword, title or browse by subject. Access here - Raven password required
MathSciNet Produced by the American Mathematical Society, MathSciNet indexes mathematical literature from 1940 onwards. MathSciNet specializes in reviews, which can be found alongside the bibliographic information of a resource. To see if an article is available online, click on the ejournals@cambridge under the result you are interested in.  Access here - Raven password required
NASA Astrophysics Data System A NASA funded project which maintains three databases focusing on astronomy and astrophysics. The ADA will also be of use to those interested in physics and geophysics.  Access here 
Scopus Scopus is a large multidisciplinary citation and abstract database. It is excellent for searching for interdisciplinary resources. Scopus is also a great way to look at the metrics of an article and see what its reach has been like.  Access here - Raven password required
ScienceDirect A database hosting Elsevier published books and journals covering physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences and social sciences and humanities. Includes some open access materials.  Access here - Raven password required
Web of Science Another large scale, multidisciplinary citation index covering journal content for the sciences, the social sciences and the arts. Contains searchable author abstracts. Good for known author/reference searching. Access here - Raven password required

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Log into LibApps | Report a problem