Physical & Digital Collections

Children's Literature Collections at Cambridge: Prizes & awards

An introduction to the range of Children's Literature collections in Cambridge and the resources and services available to students and staff


This page provides an introduction to some of the most well renowned children's literature prizes as well as links to websites for further research.

Both Homerton Library and the Education Library purchase the shortlisted books for some of these awards.

Search iDiscover to locate a shortlisted book in Cambridge.

Chartered Insitute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP) Awards

The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are the UK's oldest and most prestigious children's book awards.

First awarded to Arthur Ransome for 'Pigeon Post', The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book written in English for children and young people.

The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal, established in 1955 is awarded annually by children's librarians. It is the only UK prize awarded for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.

Every year, children and young people are encouraged to get involved with shadowing the Carnegie and Kate Greenaway awards.

American Library Association (ALA) Awards

Caldecott Medal : The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Michael  L. Printz  Award : The Michael L. Printz Award recognizes the best titles in young adult literature in a given calendar year.

Newbery Medal : The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

UK Booksellers / Publishing industry sponsored awards

The Bookseller YA Book Prize : Launched in 2014, it awards any YA title written by an author living in the UK or Ireland. It is the first UK and Ireland prize to specifically focus on fiction for young adults.

Branford Boase : The Branford Boase Award is awarded annually for an outstanding first novel to a first time writer of a book for young people. At the same time, it also recognises the contribution of the editor in identifying this new talent. Previous winners include Siobhan Dowd and Frances Hardinge.

Costa Book Awards : The Costa Book Awards recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. The prize has five categories, including Children's, with one of them voted Costa Book of the Year. It is the only prize which places children’s books alongside adult books.

Scholastic Lollies : The Laugh Out Loud Book Award was started by Michael Rosen in order to replace the Roald Dahl Funny Prize which stopped running in 2013. The Lollies are categorised by age group ( picturebooks, 6 - 8, 9 - 13)  and recognises all funny fiction for children.

Waterstones Children's Book Prize : An annual prize, this is voted for by the booksellers at Waterstones. There are three categories ( Best Younger Fiction, Best Illustrated Book, Best Older Fiction) as well as an overall winner of the Children's Book Prize.

International book awards

Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award :  The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is the world' largest award for children's and young adult literature and is given annually to a single laureate or to several. Authors, illustrators and oral storytellers are eligible for the award. A jury selects the winner from candidates nominated by institutions and organisations all over the world. The Cambridge/Homerton Research and Teaching Centre for Children’s Literature is a nominating body for the UK.

Hans Christian Andersen Awards : The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to an author and an illustrator of children's books. Every other year, the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) presents the Andersen Award to a living author and an illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature.

Organisational awards

CLiPPA : The CLiPPA (Centre for Literacy in Primary Poetry Award) for a book of poetry for children was launched in 2003. This is the only award for published poetry for children.  The award is presented annually for a book of poetry published in the preceding year.

Federation of Children's Book Groups Children's Book Award Awards : The Children’s Book Award (known as the Red House Children’s Book Award during the 14 years of The Book People’s sponsorship)  is the only national award for children’s books that is voted for entirely by children themselves. There are two categories - Younger Readers and Older Readers.

The Harvey Darton Award : In 1990, the Children's Book History Society established its biennial Harvey Darton Award for a book, published in English, which extends our knowledge of some aspect of British children's literature of the past.

UKLA Prize : UK Literacy Association Book Awards are the only awards judged entirely by teachers. Prizes are awarded to the winners of three categories: 3 - 6, 7 - 11 and 12 - 16+.

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Log into LibApps