LibGuides: Land Economy: Online resources

Business and Market research

IBIS World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Orbis This link opens in a new window
Raven required on- and off-campus
Company database comprising information about more than 100 million companies worldwide. Also covers the banking and insurance sectors.

Rural Business Research
Rural Business Research is the largest specialist group of its kind in the UK. Here you can find excellent research, data and analysis, and important tools for business, government and universities.

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista offers a wealth of company, consumer, country, and industry data in a number of easy to use formats that you can download and use in your assignments. As well as detailed dossiers and raw data, you will be able to find attractive charts and infographics
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For access to these data please simply complete the WRDS Registration Form https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/register/

Economics and Finance

EconAcademics
Blog aggregator for economics research

EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. EconLit adheres to the high quality standards long recognized by subscribers to the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) and is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969.

Econostor
Large repository of Open Access publications, mostly working papers.
Eikon
Eikon allows you to monitor and analyse financial information. It provides access to real time market data, news, fundamental data, analytics, trading and messaging tools. You will need to book a place to use the Eikon terminal.

EMIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, industry, company and market data and reports for emerging and established markets.

EXIOBASE
EXIOBASE is a global, detailed Multi-regional Environmentally Extended Supply and Use / Input Output (MR EE SUT/IOT) database. EXIOBASE1 files are available for free. Registration is free.

Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window
You can either click on “Single Sign-On” and type “cam” to authenticate via Shibboleth; or you can click on “Log in with Network” and authenticate via EZproxy and enter your Raven credentials.
Provides financial data on banks, insurance firms, corporates and sovereigns.
Global Financial Data : GFD This link opens in a new window
Provides long-range financial data on stocks, bonds, bills and other instruments, covering approximately 200 countries from the medieval world to the present. The first time you log in GFD you will be prompted to create your own personal login - you will only need to do this once. Restricted to 5 simultaneous users - please log out when you finished your session

Google Finance
LSE Research Online
LSE Research Online contains research produced by LSE staff, including journal articles, book chapters, books, working papers, conference papers and more.
MSCI Real Estate Analytics Portal
Morgan Stanley Capital International, Real Assets, Real estate market information data. Real estate market information data. University of Cambridge members for access details please contact: Cambridge Real Estate Research Centre in Land Economy mstrealestate@landecon.cam.ac.uk

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary provides online access to the many publications put out by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Publications include country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, environment, health, migration, social issues, sustainable development and more. It replaces SourceOECD.

Research Papers in Economics
Decentralised bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers
RICS market surveys
RICS surveys of international real estate markets
UK Government housing statistics

Environment

GreenFile This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

International Energy Statistics (IEA)
This package provides access to all of the IEA's main statistics products in one convenient package with one start and expiry date.
International Energy Statistics (archives via OECD)
- This link opens in a new window
International Climatic Changes and Global Warming

JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

The Little Green Data Book 2017
The Little Green Data Book 2017 is based on World Development Indicators 2017 and its online database. Defining, gathering, and disseminating international statistics is a collective effort of many people and organizations.

Law

Eurostat
The statistical office of the European Union.
Kluwer Law Online
Peer-reviewed journals on international legal matters in many different practice areas, written by experts from around the world.
Legal Databases
Squire Law Library list of legal databases.
Legislation.gov.uk
Carries most (but not all) types of legislation and their accompanying explanatory documents.
Oxford Law Trove
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw UK
- This link opens in a new window

Maps and geographical information

agCensus online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to a time-series database of grid square based data derived from the regular Agricultural Censuses of England, Scotland and Wales.
Aerial Digimap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maps and geospatial data from a number of national data providers, including Ordnance Survey and the British Geological Survey. Maps can be generated online within Digimap or data can be downloaded for use with the appropriate software.

Cartographic Resources
Paper and digital maps and other cartographic resources.
Lyell Collection (Geological Society Publications)
Geological Society of London - collection of journal titles, special publications and key book series – plus journals published on behalf of other societies.

News and newspapers

Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative link (via iDiscover)
Factiva is a database of over 8,000 business and news publications, most in full text. Sources are in 22 languages, date back as far as 1969, and include trade journals, newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, and others), media programs, and company and stock reports. Find information on over 22,000 public and private companies including description, history, current stock quote, financial data, competitors, and the latest news on business activities. Search publications by title, industry, geographic locations, type, and language.
Economist This link opens in a new window
Access via ABI/Inform

Newspapers
All newspapers available to the University of Cambridge. Current and historical.
Financial times
The Financial Times is the world’s premier newspaper for business and economics. FT.com access significantly enhances the Cambridge reader’s existing access via Factiva and ABI/Inform, providing up-to-the-minute news coverage, all statistical sources and their full visualization online, personalization of content, and companies and markets data.

General resources

A-Z Databases
Do not miss selected databases on the right of the main list including New / Trial Databases.
Browzine
Create and account and keep up to date with journals.

Gale Digital Scholar Lab This link opens in a new window
Available to members of the University of Cambridge only. You will need to sign in with a Google or Microsoft account for access.
Tool for the digital humanities to text mine all of the digital archives from Gale Cengage in one place
Nature This link opens in a new window
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology.

Official Publications

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to all Oxford Handbook Online subject collections from Foundation to current year inclusive.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) This link opens in a new window
PAIS International indexes the public and social policy literature of public administration, political science, economics, finance, international relations, law, and health care, International in scope, PAIS indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The database is comprised of abstracts of thousands of journal articles, books, directories, conference proceedings, government documents and statistical yearbooks.
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. A "methods map" facilitates finding content on methods. SAGE Research Methods contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and "Little Blue Book” series. Includes a collection of case studies of real social research.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers

UK Data Service
Social, economic and population data resources.
Web of Science
The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Resources for My Subject

Land Economy: Online resources

Business and Market research

Economics and Finance

Environment

Law

Maps and geographical information

News and newspapers

General resources