Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
17th-18th Century British Library Newspapers
This database provides access to over 1,270 newsbooks, newspapers, pamphlets and a variety of other news materials published in England, Ireland and Scotland, plus papers from British colonies in Asia and the Americas. The collection is particularly rich in 18th century London newspapers. All the major titles are included, such as the Daily Courant from 1702 to 1735, the first daily newspaper published in London, and the London Gazette from 1665. Periodicals, such as Tatler (1709-1711) and Spectator (1711-1712), are also included as are English provincial titles from 1712, Irish newspapers (the earliest being the Dublin Intelligence of 1691), Scottish newspapers from 1708 onwards, and many 18th century American newspapers, including the New England Courant (1721-1723)
19th Century British Library Newspapers
This resource provides access to national, regional, and local 19th century British newspapers. It includes 48 titles, totalling approximately 2.2 million pages, which reflect the social and political developments of the time. The collection focuses on London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism
19th Century UK Periodicals Series 1 New Readerships
19th Century UK Periodicals provides access to a good range of nineteenth-century periodical literature published in the UK. It is of particular interest to those researching nineteenth-century history, literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, and the professions. The first part (New Readerships) covers Women’s, Children’s, Humour and Leisure/Sport
ArcticToday is the comprehensive news source reporting on the Arctic, from the Arctic. An independent digital news site, ArcticToday partners with media organizations from around the circumpolar north, offering readers on-the-ground reporting, international news, features and community perspectives from one of the world’s fastest-changing regions.
Site of the major Japan daily
Biblioteca Nacional Digital
Biblioteca Nacional de Portugal digital collection including Portuguese newspapers from 17th to 20th centuries
British Periodicals 1 and 2
British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. On completion this unique digital archive will consist of almost 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages and forming an unrivalled record of more than two centuries of British history and culture. Provides access to the full-text of nearly 460 British popular and literary periodicals published from the 17th century to the early 20th century. Includes amongst others the Anti-Slavery Reporter, London Review, Royal Magazine or Gentleman’s Monthly Companion, some religious titles such as The Wesleyan-Methodist Magazine. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, architecture, drama, the fine arts and the social sciences
Compact Memory: German-Jewish Periodicals and Newspapers from the 18th to 20th centuries
Includes more than 100 Jewish language newspapers and periodicals published in the German-speaking world between 1806 and 1938
The Daily Express archive is a fully searchable database of the newspaper. Here you can view, download and print historic pages from Daily Express newspaper dating back to 1900. The Sunday Express is also available from 2000.
The Daily Star Archive archive is a fully searchable database of the newspaper. Here you can view, download and print pages from Daily Star newspaper dating back to 2000. The Daily Star Sunday is also available, complete from 2002
Donetsk and Luhansk Newspaper Collection
10 newspapers from the self-proclaimed “people’s republics” of Donetsk and Luhansk in the east of Ukraine from 2013 to 2015.
Early American Newspapers online
The EAN is the single most comprehensive online resource for searching and browsing early American newspapers, comprising thousands of fully searchable historical newspapers from all 50 states and Washington, D.C., searchable by series, by place of publication, by era or by decade
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2003
This archive is a fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist. The database covers 8,000 issues and more than 600,0000 pages, offering full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers (via the browse by date option). Maps, images and financial tables can be searched separately. Selected financial tables published after May 1983 can be exported using links in the blue box to left of the page image
Exilpresse digital: Deutsche Exilzeitschriften 1933-1945
Based on collections of the Exiled German Archive 1933-1945 at the German Library in Frankfurt am Main and related collections of exile literature in Leipzig, this digital collection contains a digitized selection of 30 (out of 900) periodicals from the Nazi period from a broad range of subjects. They were published in German in places as diverse as New York, Paris, Shanghai and London. Several, but not all, of the newspapers are Jewish publications, such as the Shanghai Jewish Chronicle; Jüdaisches Nachrichtenblatt (The Jewish Voice, Shanghai); Gemeindeblatt der Jüdischen Kultusgemeinde (Shanghai); and Ordo (Paris)
Newspapers from 19th to early 20th centuries from the Bibliothèque nationale de France, including Le Figaro (1830-1942), Le Temps (1861-1935), La Croix (1883-1944), L'Humanité (1904-1944), La Press (1836-1858), and Le journal des débats (1814-1912).
Guardian & Observer
The Guardian started life as The Manchester Guardian in 1821 but changed title to The Guardian in 1959. The papers are fully cross-searchable with the other newspapers on the ProQuest Historical Newspapers platform, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The New York Times and The Times of India. As well as browsing of discrete issues, there are multiple ways to search and across different content types (articles; cartoons; advertisements etc.).
Hemeroteca Municipal de Lisboa, digital collection of newspapers and magazines. Coverage includes titles from 1715 to 1993 in Portuguese language
Historical Australian Newspapers, 1803 to 1954
Historical Australian newspapers from 1803-1954 digitized as part of the Australian Newspaper Digitisation Project.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive
Fully searchable archive of all issues from 1842 to 2003 of the world's renowned pictorial weekly newspaper.
Independent voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is an open access collection of digitized alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States in the latter half of the twentieth century, mostly in the 1960s and 1970s. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press. The collection also includes alternative literary magazines, known as “little magazines,” which published experimental and avant-garde works
Irish Newspaper Archive
Digital archives of many of Ireland's historical newspapers from the 1700s to the present, including out of print publications
Newspaper Archive. over 150 years of Irish Times journalism, as it originally appeared in print. Searchable by keyword and date, reproductions of every page of The Irish Times from 1859 up to the last 7 days.
Izvestiia Digital Archive
Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR.
Krokodil Digital Archive
Krokodil emerged in the USSR at the moment of the creation of a national Soviet mass media, broadcast and communications systems, and its demise coincided with the expansion of the internet. Between these dates, Krokodil provided a mediated documentation of life in the USSR.
Le Temps: archives historiques:
This collection from a partnership led by the Bibliothèque nationale suisse currently includes the Journal de Genève (1826-1991), the Gazette de Lausanne (1803-1991), the Journal de Genève et Gazette de Lausanne (1991-1998) and the Nouveau Quotidien (1991-1998).
Literaturnaia gazeta digital archive
First published in 1929, Literaturnaia gazeta (Literary paper) provided a remarkably open forum for intellectual debate throughout the Soviet period.
‘Maisaku 毎索’ provides the archives of the Mainichi shinbun from 1872 to the present. In addition to the regular Japanese newspaper, the database also includes the English-language The Mainichi since 2008, the weekly Ekonomisuto since 1989, and searchable Yoron chôsa from 1945 to 2017
Mass Media in Russia 1908-1918
This collection comprises penny newspapers documenting political and social developments in Russia in the pivotal years from 1908 to 1918
Nashriyah:digital Iranian history
23 rare newspapers and periodicals (over 12,000 pages) available digitally, documenting real-life news from the 1953 coup against Prime Minister Mohammad Mosaddegh, the 1979 revolution and the late 1990s/early 2000s 'reform era' of President Mohammad Khatami.
NAVER News Library
News Library provides high quality news archive services for 4 major newspapers in Korea: Han’gyore (1988-1999); Kyonghyang Sinmun (1946-1999); Maeil Kyongje (1967-1999); Tonga Ilbo (1920-1999)
An online database providing links to over 1,000 full-text digital newspapers in the United States and Caribbean. The project's current coverage, which began with the Southeastern United States, is growing rapidly and will soon cover all fifty states. The purpose of NewspaperCat is to improve access to historical newspapers digitized by libraries, archives, historical societies and non-profit organizations that remain buried within search engine returns. These newspapers represent a rich source of primary research material. The project is funded by the George A. Smathers Libraries and developed in cooperation with the Digital Library Center of the University of Florida.
NewspaperSG: National Library of Singapore
Historical newspapers from Singapore and Malaya published between 1831 and 1989, including The Straits Times 1845-1989.
New York Times Historical Archive
Long known as the U.S. paper of record, the New York Times has been reporting the news and shaping opinion around the world since 1851. The New York Times Archive (1851-2006) with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times
Nichols Newspapers Collection
Seventeenth and eighteenth century newspapers from a collection at the Bodeian Library
Nineteenth Century Serials Edition
A free online edition of six nineteenth-century periodials and newspapers
Nineteenth century U.S. Newspapers
The archive comprises digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities
Niva digital archive
Niva, an illustrated weekly journal of literature, politics and modern life was the most popular magazine of the late-nineteenth-century Russia
Pravda digital archive, 1912-2009
Full text of the Soviet newspaper ("The Truth") from its roots as an underground publication through its rise to prominence as the main state sanctioned outlet for party propaganda until the breakup of the Soviet Union in 1991.
Sovetskaia kul’tura digital archive
The archive comprises Kul’tura (Culture), an important Russian weekly newspaper previously published under the titles Rabochii i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952) and Sovetskaia kul’tura (1953-1991).
Soviet Cinema: Film Periodicals 1918-1942
This collection includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting an interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian film
Times Digital Archive
The entire content of The Times, 1785-2012, including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
The TLS Historical Archive offers more than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems, and articles in over 5,000 issues of the TLS in the context in which they were originally published. All articles are fully indexed and searchable by author and/or contributor and the identities of the contributors to the TLS who were published anonymously until 1974 are disclosed for the first time and augmented by biographical sketches
Times of India Historical Archive
Founded in 1838 (under the title Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce), the Times of India archive from ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides coverage up to 2001. "The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper", this archive will be of broad interest to the study of colonialism, post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, as well as for the recording and reporting of key historical events and everyday life
Vestnik Evropy Archive
One of the first Russian literary and political journal. Together with literature and arts the journal enlightened its readers on problems of internal and foreign policy of Russia, history and political life of foreign countries. It became conservative since 1815
Wall Street Journal Historical Archive (1889-1992)
The Dow Jones & Company first published The Wall Street Journal in 1889 to serve the financial community. The paper's editorial scope changed in the 1940s to encompass all aspects of business, economics, and consumer affairs, as well as analysis of trends and issues. The Archive offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue
Washington Post Historical Archive (1877-1991)
The Washington Post is the leading source of political and governmental coverage in the U.S and offers award-winning coverage of national and international affairs. Originally, a highly partisan four-page rag paper charting the early days of the Hayes administration, the newspaper changed its tune when it was bought by Eugene Meyer during the Roosevelt administration. "The newspaper shall not be the ally of any special interest but shall be fair and free and wholesome in its outlook on public affairs and public men." (Eugene Meyer). The Archive offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue
World News in Indian newspapers 1782-1908
The India Gazette (1782-1834); The Bengal Hurkaru and Chronicle (1822-1866); and The Bengal Times (1876-1908)
Yomidasu Rekishikan (Yomiuri Shinbun)
Yomidasu Rekishikan is a Japanese newspaper database. It consists of 4 parts, including more than 10 million articles from Yomiuri Shinbun since its inception in 1874. Yomiuri Shimbun contains Japanese language articles from Yomiuri Shimbun since 1986; The Daily Yomiuri contains articles from the English language edition of the Yomiuri Shimbun English edition since 1989; Jinbutsu is a Who's who of current key persons in Japan; the Meiji Taisho Showa database contains the historic archive of scanned articles published during the period of 1874 to 1989.