Skip to main content

Subject Guides

Clinical Medicine: Researching a Topic

Finding Journal Articles

Search for the journal by title in ejournals@cambridge. (Help with using the ejournals@cambrigde search is given here.)

If the relevant year is covered, click on the active link provided and navigate to the article.

Where the relevant year is not covered by an ejournal, carry out a search of the journal title in iDiscover to discover print holdings in Cambridge (you may want to limit to the print holdings of the Medical Library (limit by "location")

You may also want to check if your NHS ATHENS login will give you access to additional journals - go to NHS Journals & Databases, and login with ATHENS (in the top right corner). Type in the name of the journal you need, and check if the correct range of years is available, click through and browse till you find the article you need.

If your search of online and print holdings is unsuccessful, contact the Library (library@medschl.cam.ac.uk) to use the document delivery service.

If you don't know what articles have been published on a topic, this is the time to search a database such as Pubmed

Use one of the "teach yourself" guides to help you get the best from the database you decide to use, or contact the Medical Library for help with your search.

 

 

Google Scholar is great at finding links to the full text of known items. Set your Library Preferences to Cambridge and maximise the strength of your search by using the advanced search option.

Reasons why you should not rely on Google Scholar as your only research tool:

  • You don't know precisely what it is indexing. With the other databases described in this LibGuide, you can check their source lists. 
  • Because you don't know what GS is indexing, you do not necessarily know whether the material has been peer reviewed. The other databases described in this LibGuide emphasise peer-reviewed material, and allow you to limit your search to include only peer-reviewed content.
  • Google searches very broadly, and you end up with a lot of noise. 
Loading

Copyright Guidance

Help & Support with Literature Searching

If you need help either getting started with your literature search, or  ensuring that you're catching everything that you need, contact the Medical Library. You may find reading one of our "teach yourself" guides to using the databases helpful.

We are happy to arrange a meeting with you, or for you to attend one of our many training sessions to help you get your search to be the best and most efficient it can be.

E-resource Help

For questions about e-resources, (journals, ebooks, databases)  see these Frequently Asked Questions. Please also feel free to get in touch with your subject specialist librarian.

Research Data Management and Issues

Loading