Cambridge LibGuides

Children's Literature Collections at Cambridge: Organisations

An introduction to the range of Children's Literature collections in Cambridge and the resources and services available to students and staff

Introduction

This Libguide provides an introduction to some organisations and representatives for children's literature based in the UK. 

We hope that these links provide guidance for both current awareness and general interest.

Children's Literature Centres

Seven Stories : Seven Stories was founded in Newcastle in 1996 as an institution to collect, champion and celebrate children’s literature. Celebrated children’s authors and illustrators have donated their archives to Seven Stories and created a national centre for children’s books with large exhibitions and events held regularly.

V & A Museum of Childhood : Situated in Bethnal Green, London, this free museum provides the national collection of Childhood related objects, from ideas to design, toys to schoolbooks.

Organisations

BookTrust : BookTrust is the largest reading charity in the UK. They currently give over two million carefully chosen books to children throughout the UK, delivered by health professionals, libraries and schools to encourage reading for pleasure.

Centre for Literacy in Primary Education : The Centre for Literacy in Primary Education is a charity working with all those involved in teaching literacy in primary schools. Their work raises the achievement of children by helping schools to teach literacy more effectively and showing teachers how quality children’s literature can be placed at the heart of all learning.

IBBY : The International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) is a non-profit organization which represents an international network of people from all over the world who are committed to bringing books and children together.

Lectures and Festivals

The Philippa Pearce Memorial Lecture :  Established in 2007 by family and friends of celebrated author Philippa Pearce, the annual lecture provides a platform for the very best children’s authors, poets and illustrators to reflect on their art.The Philippa Pearce Lecture is held in association with Homerton College.

Young Adult Literature Convention (YALC) : YALC is a celebration of young adult books. Held in association with BookTrust and Showmasters, it is an interactive event where YA fans meet their favourite authors, listen to panel discussions and take part in workshops and takes place in London during London Film and Comic Con.

Online publications

Books for Keeps : Books for Keeps is the UK’s leading, independent children’s book magazine. It was launched in 1980 and ever since has been reviewing hundreds of new children’s books each year and publishing articles on every aspect of writing for children. There are over 12,500 reviews on the new website and more than 2,000 articles including interviews with the top children’s authors and illustrators.

Bookbird : Bookbird: A Journal of International Children's Literature (ISSN 0006 7377) is a refereed journal published quarterly by IBBY. Bookbird aims to communicate new ideas to the community of readers interested in children's books and is open to any topic in the field of international children's literature. Bookbird also includes news of IBBY projects and events. Other regular features include coverage of children's literature studies and children's literature awards around the world as well as reading promotion projects worldwide.