LibGuides: Zoology: Online Resources

Featured Zoology Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources
bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
bioRxiv is an online archive of unpublished preprints for the life sciences. By publishing here, authors can make their findings immediately available to the scientific community. Take the opportunity to read work-in-progress and the latest research before it goes into a formal journal publication.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
ELS features more than 5,000 articles written by leaders in the field to provide comprehensive coverage of each subject area. All articles are accompanied by colour illustrations and tables. Appendix and glossary material provide essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms, synonyms, units and other technical data. Importantly, since all articles have been peer-reviewed a balanced representation of the literature is ensured.
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Birds of the World is an ornithological research resource that brings together scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds. It includes nearly 11,000 species accounts as well as research citations, range maps and scientific illustrations.
Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. BHL is revolutionizing global research by providing free, worldwide access to knowledge about life on Earth.

Useful websites

Animal Diversity Web

The Animal Diversity Web is an online database and encyclopedia of animal natural history, built through contributions from students, photographers, and many others.

Darwin Online

The world's largest and most widely used resource on Charles Darwin.

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species

Established in 1964, the International Union for Conservation of Nature's Red List of Threatened Species has evolved to become the world's most comprehensive information source on the global extinction risk status of animal, fungus and plant species.

Zoology Databases

American Museum of Natural History Research Library This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Archival Sound Recordings This link opens in a new window
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Bioline International This link opens in a new window
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BrowZine - Access to online journals provided at Cambridge University This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Cite Them Right This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols This link opens in a new window
Conrad Martens Sketchbooks I This link opens in a new window
Conrad Martens Sketchbooks III This link opens in a new window
Darwin Correspondence Project This link opens in a new window Darwin's correspondence provides us with an invaluable source of information, not only about his own intellectual development and social network, but about Victorian science and society in general. They provide a remarkably complete picture of the development of his thinking, throwing light on his early formative years and the years of the voyage of the Beagle, on the period which led up to the publication of The Origin of Species and the subsequent heated debates.
Highly Cited Researchers This link opens in a new window Recognizing the true pioneers in their fields over the last decade, demonstrated by the production of multiple highly-cited papers that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and year in the Web of Science™. Of the world’s scientists and social scientists, Clarivate™ Highly Cited Researchers truly are one in 1,000.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Karger This link opens in a new window Access to front and backlist ebook titles published by Karger, a scientific and medical publisher.
- This link opens in a new window
Nature This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the award-winning Core Collection.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. A "methods map" facilitates finding content on methods. SAGE Research Methods contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and "Little Blue Book” series. Includes a collection of case studies of real social research.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier Science.
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable Ornithological Research Archive (SORA) This link opens in a new window The world's first and largest open access ornithological publications archive. SORA provides access to an extensive library of ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window Access to selected Springer and Palgrave Macmillan ebook titles. Includes selected titles in Biomedicine, Computer Science, Life Sciences, Mathematics and Physics, and a small range of titles in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
University Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Online access to 24 university presses. With the exception of Oxford University Press (see separate entry for Oxford Scholarship Online), full-text access is restricted to individual titles that have been purchased on request. Includes separate subscription access to Law titles published by 16 partner presses.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat This link opens in a new window WorldCat is a union (i.e. collective) catalog of records of any type of material (books, periodicals, scores, films, recordings, etc.) cataloged by over 41,000 OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries, primarily but not exclusively, from libraries in the United States, but extending to 82 other nations. There are more than 47 million records in the WorldCat database, whose scope includes everything from Babylonian inscriptions to e-books. This database is used to verify citations of items not found in the HOLLIS Catalog, possibly to find a local holding library, or to provide accurate citations for interlibrary loan requests. OCLC adds evaluative content to WorldCat bibliographic records such as tables of contents, cover art, book summaries, and notes about authors. A search for archives and manuscripts should include ArchivesUSA and Archive Grid (both Harvard Libraries E-Resources) as well as WorldCat.
Worldwide Science This link opens in a new window WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases.
ZETOC This link opens in a new window Access to over 30,000 journals and more than 52 million article citations and conference papers
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
Zoological Record Plus (ZR Plus) provides extensive coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. The database presents a searchable collection of references from over 4,500 international serial publications, plus books, meetings, reviews and other non serial literature from over 100 countries.

Zoological Record has been recognized as the "unofficial register" for taxonomy and systematics, but other topics are also treated using indexing in both controlled- and natural-language format. An online thesaurus of around 10,000 controlled terms arranged in hierarchies helps locate appropriate search terms. Scope notes, and related term references are also provided.

All areas of zoology and animal sciences research are covered, including conservation and environmental science, evolution, genetics, geographical and fossil records, marine and freshwater biology, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, laboratory and field techniques, and veterinary studies.

Zoology E-Journals

BrowZine gives you the ability to browse journals - subscribed by the University of Cambridge - and store them into a personal bookshelf. BrowZine then updates you with new articles published in these journals and clearly displays unread articles new to your bookshelf.

BrowZine Biological Sciences Journals covers the broad spectrum of zoology research and includes important titles such as Nature, Science, Cell, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences and Current Biology.

For more subject- or species-specific titles, try BrowZine Zoology and Animal Sciences Journals.

Resources for My Subject

Zoology: Online Resources

Databases and Journals at the University of Cambridge

Featured Zoology Databases

Useful websites

Zoology Databases

Zoology E-Journals