Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Zoology: Collections/ Physical Resources

Zoology Resources in Cambridge

Specialist print resources and library help is available via the Zoology Department Library.

There are many other libraries in Cambridge which may also hold useful collections for your subject.

We recommend:

University Library

Betty & Gordon Moore Library

Plant Sciences

Physiology, Development and Neuroscience

Genetics

Psychology

History and Philosophy of Science

A full list of all the libraries in Cambridge can be found on the Libraries Directory

iDiscover

Document Delivery Services

Zoology Library staff will request the supply of material (principally books, chapters from books, or copies of journal articles) for you that is not available within Cambridge.

Please download a copy of the Copyright Declaration Form, complete and sign it and give it to the Senior Library Assistant for processing.

Standard delivery of items should be within four working days.

Charges for members of the Department of Zoology are:

£3.00 per journal article or book chapter copy, inc. VAT

£3.00 per book loan

Members of the Department of Zoology can pay in cash, or by using a grant code.

Where an article is not available from within Cambridge, researchers can also apply for an Inter-Library Loan from another participating institution

Both the University Library and the Betty & Gordon Moore Library operate an online service that is open to all registered users:

The Betty & Gordon Moore Library runs a free Scan & Deliver service to allow current University staff and students to get remote access to their collections that are not currently available electronically.

Holdings coverage

Users should be aware that the service only covers the holdings of the Betty & Gordon Moore Library, and the Engineering Library. To make an order, please use the relevant online form.

Electronic Legal Deposit

Found an item on iDiscover that looks really good but you get a message telling you that "online access is restricted" and you have to use a "designated PC"? Not to worry. There's a Guide to help you with that!

The Zoology Library has a designated PC and items can be viewed during library opening hours. Printing is also available, subject to copyright regulations, via the University's DS-Print system.

Special Collections

The Zoology Library has over 8,500 items in their special collections. See the Special Collections page of this LibGuide.

 

Spacefinder

Close up of a person's hands scrolling on an iPhone with the SpaceFinder service displayed on the screenIs your usual study space no longer working for you? Need to get away from distractions and find a quiet spot to focus? Need to finish a group project and can't find a room for you all? Spacefinder could be the answer to all your problems!

By using your browser's inbuilt location service, Spacefinder will show you what places are available for you to work in and that are near to you. You can even filter results by what you want to do, what sort of atmosphere you want, or if you want to be able to buy a cup of coffee to fuel your study session! Handy!

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy Policy