LibGuides: Sociology: Articles & Data

Subject resources

ICPSR Data
Digital social science data, relating to research in the social sciences. Once registered (registration needs to happen on campus), users can login in with their ICPSR creditals from anywhere in the world, to access full data, and download it.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
IBSS includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.
International Encyclopedia of Ethics
Comprehensive reference work incorporating metaethics, practical ethics and normative ethics
Oxford Bibliographies: Sociology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides.

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in social sciences and humanities for Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.

SAGE Research Methods Online
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Online is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.
Scopus
Scopus is a bibliographic database containing abstracts and citations for academic journal articles. It covers nearly 22,000 titles from over 5,000 publishers, of which 20,000 are peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts
A core resource for researchers, professionals, and students in sociology. It includes citations and abstracts from over 1800 journals, relevant dissertations, selected books and book chapters, and association papers, as well as citations for book reviews and other media.
Abstracts are available from 1973
Some records published since 2001 contain references cited, sometimes with links to additional material.
World News Connection (archive up to 2013)
A powerful online subscription service bringing news from around the world, translated into English, typically within 24-72 hours from the time of the original publication or broadcast.

Official Publications
UK Data Service

Social, economic and population data resources.
Web of Science

The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this website provides access to Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
e-resources blog
Find news, advice and updates on new ejournal and eresource content from the ejournals@cambridge team.
ebooks@cambridge blog

Keep up to date with new ebook collections available to University members and tips on how to access ebooks, brought to you by the ebooks@cambridge team