Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Sociology: Collections

Print materials for Sociology

Seeley Library Interior

The Sociology collection is housed in the Seeley Library on Sidgwick Site. Material can be found in multiple locations within the library so we recommend you check iDiscover, and don't forget to speak to a member of staff if you need any help accessing your readings. For more information visit the Seeley Library Website. 

Other print resources

Specialist print resources and library help is available via your subject's Faculty or Departmental Library.

There are many other libraries in Cambridge which may also hold useful resources for Sociology, why not try the following:

University Library

Haddon Library

African Studies Library

South Asian Studies Library

Marshall Library of Economics

Casimir Lewy Library (Philosophy)

For more information about borrowing see the borrowing libguide.

Gender Studies Collection

The Gender StCover of Shrew magazineudies collection is comprised of 242 publications, mostly pamphlets, dating from the late 1960s to the 1980s. The material originated from various donations to the SPS Library when the faculty was first established.

The collection includes keystone publications on LGBT issues, the liberation of men and women, advice on motherhood, abortion, childcare, race and employment. The late 20th century was an influential period in the movement of rights, making this archive an important resource through a range of disciplines.

Most of the archive is unique to Cambridge, if not the UK. As most of the items in the collection are fragile, copying or scanning is not permitted. All the items are catalogued and are available for users to browse in the SPS library.

To browse this important collection, visit the SPS library desk. The library staff will be happy to show you some of the interesting works in the archive, suggest ways you can further your reading within gender studies, and hopefully help to incorporate parts of this collection into your research.

Make a Recommendation

©2021 Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Login to LibApps | Report a problem