LibGuides: Polar Studies: Polar resources online

iDiscover

iDiscover, the library catalogue, is the first place to start when searching for an online item. Logging in to iDiscover with Raven will help you access electronic resources quickly. Use the 'Articles and online resources' radio button, the eBooks drop-down location option and the 'Full text online' filter on the right-hand side of the results screen to limit your searches to items available electronically.

New ebooks from reading lists and user recommendations are being added to the University of Cambridge's permanent collection every day - recently including 'North Pole' by Michael Bravo. Image credit: Michael Bravo.

General online databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database covering major journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts. Information about each article includes a searchable author abstract and the article's bibliography so you can also search the database for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface also provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical literature. The database links to the full-text articles and other library resources.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
GeoRef provides access to the geoscience literature of the world, containing over 3 million references to geoscience articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as journal articles, research reports, dissertations and theses, preprints, technical reports, patents, manuscripts in preparation, working papers and many other document types. It is unclear what is indexed and how, however, so Google Scholar should be used in conjunction with other academic databases for more reliable results that enable you to filter by subject and refine your results. To make the most of Google Scholar, you should link your Google account to the University Library.

How to access and use ebooks

Online resources for Russian studies

This Google document lists electronic resources and databases relevant for Slavonic research. There are tabs for different subjects: Anthropology & History; Art, Film & Architecture; Geography & Geology; Languages & Cultures, Linguistics; Literature; Media & Politics; and Interdisciplinary. Some of the links require Raven login and others are openly accessible.

Polar subject databases, resource portals and news sites

Arctic & Antarctic Regions This link opens in a new window
Arctic & Antarctic Regions is the world’s largest collection of international polar databases. With over 1 million records from 1800 to the present, Arctic & Antarctic Regions covers a wide variety of sources from multiple disciplines. Many sources are indexed only in Arctic & Antarctic Regions making it the best resource for research on cold regions anywhere.

Arctic Portal
The Arctic Portal includes a Library which aims to maintain a comprehensive collection of Arctic relevant scientific and educational material. There are several portlets for information on specific Arctic-related topics.

Arctic today This link opens in a new window
Arctic Today is the comprehensive news source reporting on the Arctic, from the Arctic. An independent digital news site, ArcticToday partners with media organizations from around the circumpolar north, including The Independent Barents Observer, High North News and Nunatsiaq News. It offers readers on-the-ground reporting, international news, features and community perspectives.

ADA database
ADA is a digital educational service that provides access to scientific research publications, research projects derived from license and permit information, educational resources, data management resources for researchers, virtual exhibits, and the Arctic Institute of North America’s online archives and special collections.

• 68,000+ publications about the Arctic
• 18,000+ research projects derived from license and permit information
• Archival materials including photographs, maps, field journals, film, and oral histories
• Virtual exhibits showcasing documents and archival materials with educational exploratory material
• Educational resources for K–12
• Project portals for ArcticNet, the Northern Contaminants Program, and the Kluane Lake Research Station

ADA expands upon the former ASTIS database which was well-regarded by Arctic researchers as an online information resource and publications database for the Government of Canada’s Northern Contaminants Program and the Beaufort Regional Environmental Assessment, the ArcticNet Network of Centres of Excellence Canada program, and the Canadian International Polar Year program.
COLD database
The COLD Database is comprised of the Permafrost Alert Program (2011 - Present), the Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology (1900-2011) and the Antarctic Bibliography (1950-2011).
Open Polar
Open Polar will provide quick access to open publications and research data on the polar regions by providing links to full text for each record. The service covers all subjects and many languages, and is free and open for all. Open Polar is a service developed by UiT The Arctic University of Norway and the Norwegian Polar Institute.It supercedes High North Research Documents.

Lyell Collection (Geological Society Publications) This link opens in a new window
The Lyell Collection is an integrated collection of Earth Science literature brings together key journals, Special Publications and titles in the Society book series including literature on glacial geology.

Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) portal
SCAR provides access to repositories of Antarctic scientific data and information.
Atiku portal
The Northern and Arctic Studies Portal 'Atiku' is an interuniversity collaboration which features international documents for research on the North and the Arctic, presented in 3 thematic collections and 6 collections by types of documents.
ArcticStat
ArcticStat is a public and independent statistical database of socio-economic datasets and statistical tables from the circumpolar region.
National Snow and Ice Data Center
NSIDC manages and distributes scientific data, creates tools for data access, supports data users, performs scientific research, and educates the public about the cryosphere.
Polar Data Catalogue
The Polar Data Catalogue is a repository for diverse data sets generated by Arctic and Antarctic researchers

Royal Geographical Society (with the Institute of British Geographers) Archive This link opens in a new window
The Archive includes Maps, Atlases, Charts and Plans; Expedition Reports; Fieldnotes, Correspondence and Diaries; Grey Literature; Photographs, Artwork and Illustrations; Journal Manuscripts; Photographs; Proceedings, Lectures, and Ephemera. The collection spans a wide variety of interdisciplinary research areas, and supports educational needs in Anthropology, Area Studies; Cartography and Visualizations, Colonial, Post-Colonial & Decolonisation Studies; Development Studies; Environmental Degradation; Historical & Cultural Geography; Historical Sociology; Human Geography; Identity, Gender & Ethnic Studies; Geology; International Relations; Trade and Commerce, and Law and Policy relating to Colonization.

The Wiley Digital Archives-RGS collection also boasts over one hundred unique special collections. These include the Everest Collection; the David Livingstone Collection; the Sir Ernest Shackleton Collection; the Stanley Collection; the Younghusband Collection; the Speke Collection; and the Gertrude Bell Collection.

New e-resources

e-journals blog
News, advice and updates on new journal and databases content for University of Cambridge users.
e-books blog
Updates and news on new ebooks and ebook platforms for University of Cambridge users

Resources for My Subject

Polar Studies: Polar resources online