Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polar Studies Collections in Cambridge
The Polar Library supports the current multidisciplinary research of the Scott Polar Research Institute (SPRI) with specialist print and online resources for Polar Studies. These pages give you an overview of the resources and research support available. See the library website for more information about visiting and using the library.
What on this guide?
On this guide, you'll find:
- Information about resources, both print and online, that you have access to in Cambridge
- Details of the collections held in the Scott Polar Research Institute which also include the Polar Museum, Thomas H Manning Archives and Picture Library
- How to recommend a book
- Details of other libraries that might be relevant to your study or research
- Information on referencing, getting started with research, and all the support available to you here in Cambridge
Locating print collections
Selected online resources
Arctic & Antarctic Regions Arctic & Antarctic Regions is the world’s largest collection of international polar databases. With over 1 million records from 1800 to the present, Arctic & Antarctic Regions covers a wide variety of sources from multiple disciplines. Many sources are indexed only in Arctic & Antarctic Regions making it the best resource for research on cold regions anywhere, from temperate regions with cold winters to the Himalayas of Tibet.
GeoRef This database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Web of Science
The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Scopus Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
News, advice and updates on new journal and databases content for University of Cambridge users.
Updates and news on new ebooks and ebook platforms for University of Cambridge users
Staff in SPRI Library and Archives