Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Help

Resources for My Subject

Plant Sciences: Physical resources

Resources for students and researchers studying plant sciences at Cambridge

Finding Physical Resources

Any physical resources can be found by searching on IDiscover, the University of Cambridge Libraries catalogue. Filter by resource types or for the Libraries you wish to use. Many of our libraries have a dedicated computer you can use to access the iDiscover Calatogue, but you can also access the catalogue from your own computer, or even using your mobile phone.

Plant Sciences Library collections

The Plant Sciences Library holds over 16,000 books on plant anatomy, physiology, genetics, microbiology and pathology. The library also collects material on ecology and conservation, plant biomes, applied botany, palaeobotany and the history of botany. There is an excellent mixture of older and classic plant science works and new publications. All books found on undergraduate reading lists can also be found in the library. 

Although many journals can now be accessed online, either openly or through a University subscription, the library continues to take certain journal titles in print format, some of which are not published electronically. We also hold many journal backruns, some of which are rare or unique in Cambridge.

Accessing the Plant Sciences Library

The Plant Sciences Library is open 24/7 to all members of the Plant Sciences Department, including Part II and postgraduate students. You will need to swipe in with your blue University card to access the library on the ground floor of the main department building.

All other visitors wishing to consult material in the Plant Sciences Library should email the library in advance of your visit. 

Borrowing

Members of the department may borrow books from the library. Use the online borrowing form to record your loan and a member of staff will add it to your borrowing record.

Other libraries in Cambridge

There are many other libraries in Cambridge which may also hold useful collections for your subject. We recommend:

University Library

Betty & Gordon Moore Library

Zoology

Genetics

Physiology, Development and Neuroscience

History and Philosophy of Science

A full list of all the libraries in Cambridge can be found on the Libraries Directory.

Cory & Herbarium Libraries collections

The Cory & Herbarium Libraries house two significant collections which include:

  • Horticultural reference works, including practical horticulture
  • Monographs on particular plants, or types of plants
  • Floras by geographical area
  • Works on taxonomy and systematics
  • The Simpson collection of UK floras
  • The Cory collection of early botanical and horticultural works

Accessing the Cory & Herbarium Libraries

The Cory & Herbarium Libraries are open for members of the Plant Sciences Department, the Botanic Garden and those working in the Sainsbury Laboratory (SLCU).

Please fill in the Herbarium & Library Visitor Registration form ahead of each visit to let us know when you will be on site. If this is your first time visiting the Library, do get in touch with us beforehand so we can introduce you to the space and collections.

Non-department members can access the library by appointment only. Please contact us in the first instance.

Electronic Legal Deposit

The Electronic Legal Deposit terminal in the Plant Sciences Library.

Records in iDiscover that have the 'Electronic legal deposit' location can be accessed on the designated PC in the Plant Sciences Library.  Terminals are also available in many other Faculty and Department Libraries, at the Moore Library and at the UL. More information about what is available and how to access can be found in the Electronic legal deposit guide

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Log into LibApps | Report a problem