Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Plant Sciences: Online Resources

Information about the Plant Sciences Library, including information for researchers

Databases

Tair

The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana . Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community. Gene product function data is updated every week from the latest published research literature and community data submissions. TAIR also provides extensive linkouts from our data pages to other Arabidopsis resources.

Web of Science

Web of Science is an online subscription-based scientific citation indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. It gives access to multiple databases that reference cross-disciplinary research, which allows for in-depth exploration of specialised sub-fields within an academic or scientific discipline. 

Biology-related resources are mainly dealt with by the Science Citation Index which covers more than 8,500 notable journals encompassing 150 disciplines. Coverage is from the year 1900 to the present day.

WoS allows readers to analyse where articles have been cited and form a view of how significant an article may be based on its Impact Factor.

Scopus

Similar in content to Web of Science. Scopus claims to be the largest database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Similarly, Scopus provides tools to track, analyse and visualise research.

Botanicus Digital Library

Botanicus Digital Library is a  historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.

Global Plants

Global Plants is the world's largest database of digitised plant specimens and a locus for international scientific reserach and collaboration.

Bloomsbury Food Library

Bloomsbury Food Library is a growing and vibrant digital resource. Home to the widest-ranging existing collection of food studies content it reflects the interdisciplinary nature of this growing subject, making it an essential resource for students, researchers, and scholars studying food

JoVE Science Lab Manual:BIO

JoVE is a scientific journal that publishes experimental methods in video format.

Factiva

Factiva is a global database of the world's most popular newspapers and trade journals.

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. It is likely to be primarily of interest to those researching the fields of health and biomedicine. While search results mostly comprise citations rather than full text, researchers and students with University of Cambridge credentials will find direct links to full text articles where access to those articles are provided by the University.

Database and ebook guides

The University of Cambridge subscribes to a wide range of online resources that can be accessed from wherever you are through using your Raven credentials.

Search databases, digital archive collections, and primary sources on Cambridge Databases A-Z.

Use iDiscover to search for ebooks, or check out ebooks@cambridge for more information. 

In addition to our subscribed content, some publishers are making additional resources available during the COVID-19 outbreak. A live list of what is being made available online, as well as information on how long this availability is expected to last, is being collated by Cambridge University Libraries staff.

Open Access resources

Although many journals are only available to those with a subscription, an increasing number are now making some or all of their content freely accessible, or 'Open Access'. This means that our subscription database are not the only place you need to look when searching for resources. Find out more about how to search for open access content using this handy guide.

If you're interested in finding out more about the principles of Open Access, or want to publish your own content in Open Access sources, then check out this guide from the Office of Scholarly Communication.

Lean Library logoThe Lean Library Button

Compatible with most browsers, Lean Library is a browser extension that will automatically detect when you have access to something. This access might be provided through the University of Cambridge's subscriptions, or it might be an Open Access version. Either way, this will reduce the need for hours spent trying to log in to different websites or hitting paywalls and will give you quick access to what you need.