The Geography Department Library supports the teaching of the Geographical Tripos and MPhil courses in the Department.
Over 26,000 titles are currently held, including 23,500 monographs, 2,000 offprints and 300 series (working papers from geography departments of other universities).
There is also a collection of rare books, the Clark Collection, which was bequeathed to the University in 1910 by John Willis Clark, former Registrary of the University and Secretary of the Cambridge Antiquarian Society. These are mostly 18th and 19th Century travel books and are available on request. They may only be consulted in the library under the supervision of a member of staff.
All titles held in the library are searchable on the University Library's iDiscover catalogue.
Most journal consultations are electronic and members of the Department can access thousands of journals through the University Library. There are also a wide range of other electronic resources available.
On this guide, you'll find:
If the Library does not hold the title you need, contact us and we will suggest the best approach.
Department of Geography, Downing Place, Cambridge, CB2 3EN, UK.
E-mail: library@geog.cam.ac.uk
The Geography Library, as part of the School of Physical Sciences Libraries, has a team of librarians working on providing resources and support in and out of the library space.
The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts.
The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
The Geography Department Library also holds first class Tripos dissertations in paper copy for four years (ending 2019)
Details can be found on iDiscover by searching using the words 'Geography', 'Tripos' and 'Dissertation'. These are available for consultation only on request from library staff and may not be photocopied.
To look at a paper dissertation: fill in a blue slip (available on the pillars throughout the main reading room) by giving the shelf reference (e.g UG 19/01) and your name, and hand this in at the Library Helpdesk. Return the dissertation once you have finished with it.
For viewing access of electronic copies of recent dissertations, please use our Electronic Dissertations service on the Geography Library website. Titles and abstracts of each electronic dissertation held is available on the webpage.
The library also holds some Placement Reports from the Conservation Leadership MPhil course. These are also available on request.
Some of the most exemplary undergraduate dissertations (scoring first class marks in all three marking categories) are retained and are sent to the main University Library where they can be accessed in the manuscripts room. Check the catalogue record for a note which says 'transferred to UL' and visit the UL for access.
Sophy Arulanantham
As part of the wider Physical Sciences Team, Sophy and Jane work collaboratively with library colleagues to develop services across the school, specifically for Geography students and researchers.
