This link opens in a new windowOffers access to a time-series database of grid square based data derived from the regular Agricultural Censuses of England, Scotland and Wales.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Search for the article title you want on iDiscover. Sometimes iDiscover does not have the article title indexed, so a quick workaround is to search by the Journal title itself and navigate to the electronic or hardcopy. Be sure to check what issues are on offer as there may be gaps in what years of a journal we hold.
Browse our databases for further resourcesWe have a dedicated guide with all the databases offered by the University in one place. Here you can find filter down to subject databases and then use a specific database to search for articles in your area of research.
Are you working or studying outside of campus or need Open Access options?Lean Library: Please download the Lean Library browser extension and the plugin will recognise you/your Raven as a member of Cambridge and give you access to the resources (some publishers will not recognise LeanLibrary and you will need to log in manually).
LibKey Nomad: Please dowland the LibKey Nomad and it will work on your Internet browser wherever you are studying or researching. It saves you time: You only need to authenticate once via Raven in any new browser session. You won't need to login to Raven again, or onto different publishers' websites.
Google Scholar can also help. On Settings, click on Library Links, search and select the University of Cambridge using the search box and hit save. Now the University of Cambridge links will appear in your search results.
Did LeanLibrary or Google Scholar still not give you access?
Try logging in manually to the website that you are trying to access the article from:
Rebuilding Britain by
Britain faces extraordinary challenges, from climate change to growing inequality and global economics, but as a nation it has no plan for the future. This unique book asks a simple question: how can Britain organise itself, not just for survival but to build a fairer and sustainable society? The arguments refer to the high ambitions of those who pioneered the planning movement and campaigned for a clear set of progressive values, but whose drive for utopia has now been forgotten. The book takes a distinctive approach to exploring the value to society of social town planning and offers a doorway for how planning, both morally and practically, can help to meet key challenges of the 21st century. It challenges the widely held view that it's impossible to achieve a better future by suggesting that there is real choice in how society develops and pointing to contemporary examples of utopia. This accessible book makes essential reading for students in the built environment and the wider social sciences who have an interest in UK and European examples of sustainable communities.
The Environments of Ageing by
Providing the first UK assessment of environmental gerontology, this book enriches current understanding of the spatiality of ageing. Sheila Peace considers how places and spaces contextualise personal experience in varied environments, from urban and rural to general and specialised housing. Situating extensive research within multidisciplinary thinking, and incorporating policy and practice, this book assesses how personal health and wellbeing affect different experiences of environment. It also considers the value of intergenerational and age-related living, the meaning of home and global to local concerns for population ageing. Drawing on international comparisons, this book offers a valuable resource for new research and important lessons for the future.
The American Southeast at the End of the Ice Age by
The definitive book on what is known about the Late Pleistocene and Early Holocene archaeological record in the Southeast The 1996 benchmark volume The Paleoindian and Early Archaic Southeast, edited by David G. Anderson and Kenneth E. Sassaman, was the first study to summarize what was known of the peoples who lived in the Southeast when ice sheets covered the northern part of the continent and mammals such as mammoths, saber-toothed cats, and ground sloths roamed the landscape. The American Southeast at the End of the Ice Age provides an updated, definitive synthesis of current archaeological research gleaned from an array of experts in the region. It is organized in three parts: state records, the regional perspective, and reflections and future directions. Chapters survey a diversity of topics including the distribution of the earliest archaeological sites in the region, chipped-stone tool technology, the expanding role of submerged archaeology, hunter-gatherer lifeways, past climate changes and the extinction of megafauna on the transitional landscape, and evidence of demographic changes at the end of the Ice Age. Discussion of the ethical responsibilities regarding the use of private collections and the relationship of archaeologists and the avocational community, insight from outside the Southeast, and considerations for future research round out the volume. CONTRIBUTORS David G. Anderson / Derek T. Anderson / Katherine McMillan Barry / Kara Bridgman Sweeney / Samuel O. Brookes / Adam M. Burke / Stephen B. Carmody / Philip J. Carr / William A. Childress / I. Randolph Daniel Jr. / Ryan Duggins / Grayal E. Farr / Michael K. Faught / Brendan Fenerty / Jay D. Franklin / Lauren M. Franklin / J. Christopher Gillam / Joseph A. M. Gingerich / Jessi J. Halligan / Kandace D. Hollenbach / Vance T. Holliday / Thomas A. Jennings / K. C. Jones / Shawn A. Joy / Jerald Ledbetter / Greg J. Maggard / Steven M. Meredith / D. Shane Miller / Christopher R. Moore / Juliet E. Morrow / Sydney O'Brien / Ryan M. Parish / Angelina G. Perrotti / Charlotte D. Pevny / Sean A. Roades / Sarah C. Sherwood / Ashley M. Smallwood / Morgan F. Smith / Kary L. Stackelbeck / James L. Strawn / Sarah D. Stuckey / David K. Thulman / Jesse W. Tune / Michael R. Waters / Andrew A. White / Renee B. Whitman / Chris Widga
Handbook of Research on Communication Strategies for Taboo Topics by
Social norms are valuable because they help us to understand guidelines for appropriate and ethical behavior. However, as part of that process, cultures develop taboo behaviors and topics for group members to avoid. Failure to discuss important topics, such as sex, drug use, or interpersonal violence, can lead to unwanted or unintended negative outcomes. Improving communication about forbidden topics may lead to positive social and health outcomes, but we must first develop the communication and coping skills to handle these difficult conversations. The Handbook of Research on Communication Strategies for Taboo Topics seeks both quantitative and qualitative research to provide empirical evidence of the negative social and health outcomes of avoiding taboo conversations and provides communication and coping strategies for dealing with difficult topics. Covering a range of issues such as grief and forgiveness, this major reference work is ideal for academicians, practitioners, researchers, counselors, sociologists, professionals, instructors, and students.
Subaltern Frontiers by
In urban and peri-urban areas across the Global South, politicians, planners and developers are engaged in a voracious scramble to refashion land for global real estate investment, and transfer state power to private sector actors. Much of this development has taken place on the outskirts of the traditional metropoles, in the territorially flexible urban frontier. At the forefront of these processes in India, is Gurgaon, a privately developed metropolis on the south-western hinterlands of New Delhi, that has long been touted as India's flagship neoliberal city. Subaltern Frontiers tells a story of India's remarkable urban transformation by examining the politics of land and labour that have shaped the city of Gurgaon. The book examines how the country's flagship post-liberalisation urban project has been shaped and filtered through agrarian and subaltern histories, logics, and subjects. In doing so, the book explores how the production of globalised property and labour in contemporary urban India is filtered through colonial instruments of land governance, living histories of uneven agrarian development, material geographies of labour migration, and the worldly aspirations of peasant-agriculturalists.
This link opens in a new window
Select the dissertation from the list and add the code number in the request form.
A selection of dissertations from recent graduates, and MPhil Conservation Leadership placement reports*, are now available for reading access online.
We regret to announce that paper copies of dissertations submitted prior to 2020 are not included in this service.
Most staff and students should be able to access e-resources using their Raven credentials but if you want to make sure everything is working, please go to the Test e-resources page. If you can't access this page or have any other questions about accessing resources, please contact us.
First, make sure you are logged in on iDiscover (top right side of the page).
You can request articles from other libraries across the UK through our Request a Digital Copy service.
A step-by-step guide to requests is available on this dedicated LibGuide.
We recommend that if you are unable to find the item you require on iDiscover and are not presented with the option to 'Request a Digital Copy' that you place a request through the Inter Library Loans website. The Inter-Library Loans service covers lots of additional things too like entire books and theses from other institutions.
For e-books, e-journals or databases that you would like to recommend for our collection, use our dedicated recommendation form and we will get back to you with further options.
