Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemistry Collections in Cambridge
There are many specialist print and online resources for Chemistry in Cambridge. These pages give you an overview of the resources and research support that libraries can offer.
What's on this guide?
On this guide, you'll find:
- Information about and access to chemistry resources, both print and online, that you have access to in Cambridge
- Details of other libraries of the university that might be relevant to your study or research
- How to recommend books and other resources that you think will be useful
Locating print collections
Library online catalogue, iDiscover
If you're looking for a specific item, the easiest way to track it down is by using the library catalogue, iDiscover. Type a few words from the book or book chapter or journal or journal article title into the search box. If the item is available online then you should be able to get to it directly by clicking the relevant publisher link. If it isn't online, then iDiscover will tell you where the hard copy can be found.
If you're looking for items on a given topic, add a few keywords to the search box on iDiscover. Be careful with your search terms, and try synonyms if you're not getting the results you hoped for.
You can see the whole list of journals the university subscribes to on the ejournals website. You could also use Google Scholar.
You can see the whole list of ebooks the university has purchased on the ebooks website and you will find guidance there on how to download chapters or whole books onto your computer or mobile device.
Please note that the University's subscription to SciFinder was cancelled for 2020-21. Any comments on this should be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Reaxys & Reaxys Medicinal Chemistry
Reaxys is a web-based resource for chemists with a java based structure editor. Access provides tools to plan chemical synthesis and obtain physical properties data for inorganic and organic compounds and reaction information. The database contains citations and links to the literature. Reaxys also provides access to patent data. Data is drawn from the combined content of CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database.
Web of Science
The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
PQDT (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Abstracting & Indexing Service)
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. Access is to the abstracts only. Full text can either be purchased online via ProQuest directly, or by contacting the Inter-Library Loans dept: E-mail: email@example.com
ejournals & eresources : news, advice and updates on new content from the ejournals@cambridge team for the University of Cambridge
Chemistry Library Blog
Chemistry Library Blog
Visit our blog to find out the latest news on resources and services available in chemistry and related subjects.