Use the library catalogue, iDiscover, to search for print journals and online articles.
If you only want to check what is available in one library then use the location filter.
Full text databases
Although no comprehensive full text databases in Japanese are available, there are an increasing number of full text articles available in individual institutional repositories.
Bibliographical citation databases
Bibliographical citations can be searched in major databases, such as:
- CiNii Research A database of journal articles published in Japan. Some articles are available in full-text including IRDB articles.
- 雑誌記事索引集成データベース [SOAS ID/PW required] Index database for Japanese magazine and periodicals from the Meiji Era to the present.
- NDL-Search [国立国会図書館サーチ] an integrated search service of catalogs and digital archives including the National Diet Library, public, university, and specialized libraries, and academic institutes.
- NDL Research Navi (Guide to researching any topic related to Japan)
- Japan Search Japan Search is a national platform for aggregating metadata of digital resources of various fields, such as Book/Publication, Official Document, Humanities and Art, and operated by the National Diet Library, Japan, in cooperation with a variety of organizations in Japan
Subject based bibliographical citation databases are also available, such as:
- 日本語研究・日本語教育文献データベース NINJAL is the international hub for research on Japanese language, linguistics, and Japanese-language education for non-native speakers. We disseminate the research results throughout Japan and worldwide.
- 国文学論文目録データベース National Institute of Japanese Literature
- 日本思想史文献データーベース
- 地方史研究雑誌データベース
Tips for starting research
Tips for starting research
- CiNii Resarch for articles, data, books and dissertation.
- When an article is not found in the databases above, try Google Scholar.
- Articles not available in Cambridge University Library can be obtained through the Interlibrary Loan Service.
