The Japanese Collections at Cambridge University Library in the Aoi Pavilion include over 100,000 volumes of Japanese books, including around 10,000 early Japanese books. Cambridge's collection of early Japanese books and manuscripts is among the largest and finest in Europe.
The University Library also subscribes to hundreds of Japanese periodicals. The collection mainly supports Japanese studies research and consists of books about Japan that are written in Japanese, Chinese, or Korean.
Use the library catalogue, iDiscover, to search for books, journals and articles.
If you only want to check what is available in one library then use the location filter.
Cambridge uses a unique classification system for East Asian books. Following is an outline of the classification system for the East Asian language collections(FA, FB, FD, and FE). You may find other items for the closed stacks by checking iDiscover or another catalogue for the Japanese collection.
Browse the open stack items in the East Asian Reading Room and the open stacks on the ground floor of the Aoi Pavilion. Request items from the basement and closed stacks in the East Asian Reading Room. Please note that some old or fragile materials may be moved from open stacks into closed storage as necessary.
FA The Far East in general (Aoi basement)
FD Japan (Aoi ground )
FJ Japan (closed)
FL Japanese paperbacks (closed)
The Library includes an extensive collection of modern and pre-modern texts and prints. Details can be found in two books:
Early Japanese Books in Cambridge University Library by 
Classified Catalogue of Modern Japanese Books in Cambridge University Library by There is a ccollection of microfilm that reproduces some 110,000 titles (160,000 volumes) of Japanese books published between 1868 and 1912 on approximately 15,000 16 mm reels.
Print catalogue with reel numbers for individual titles may be found in the East Asian Reading Room at FD.20:16.1-25.
A subset of these titles has been made available online via the National Diet Library Digital Collections.
The Library collection continues to attract the interest of scholars in both Europe and Japan. Some of early modern works has been digitised and can be viewed in the Cambridge Digital Library.