LibGuides: Film & Screen Studies: Watch films online

This page provides on overview of options for streaming films online

Film & Screen Moodle page

For more links to e-resources and databases please visit the Film & Screen Moodle page and log in with your Raven ID.

Streaming services accessible for free to University members

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is the largest shared online off-air television and radio recording service for education and research in the world. It makes available TV programmes and films from over 75 freeview channels from the last 20 years, including a large number of films (NB: these are recorded as shown on TV so will include ad breaks etc).
Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new window
A streaming library of world cinema, with a particular focus on Latin American films.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
This streaming platform contains more than 20,000 films including everything from black-and-white Hollywood cinema to documentaries to current shows and films.
Bloomsbury Video Library (new platform for Artfilms) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Artfilms contains films by and about a large number of independent artists and filmmakers.

Klassiki online
A streaming service for films from Russia, the Caucasus and Central Asia - go to https://klassiki.online/register/university-of-cambridge to set up an account.
Centre of South Asian Studies film collection
Most of the material was taken between 1911 and 1956 and give a unique perspective of life in South Asia towards the end of the British Empire and in the first years of independence.
more...less...
The collection covers a broad range of topics – the rescue of civilians and soldiers trapped inside Burma by swollen rivers after the country’s fall to the Japanese in World War II, repairs on the railway line from Quetta to the Khyber Pass after the Quetta earthquake of 1935, relief work and disturbing scenes of the removal of bodies during the Partition period, the social lives of the Raj, children playing and going to school, royal weddings, Indian festivals and rites – the list is very long.
Royal Commonwealth Society Film Collection
The Royal Commonwealth Society Film Collection contains twenty-one original amateur films made primarily in Africa, South and South East Asia, Canada, Europe, the Caribbean, and the US. It also contains viewing copies of three Ministry of Information and government-commissioned films.

Drama online This link opens in a new window
Drama online allows you to watch productions from Shakespeare's Globe theatre here. It also includes scripts to over 1200 plays.

More streaming options

There is a large number of providers of streaming content that require sign-up or payment on an individual basis, such as Netflix, Amazon Prime (and additional video channels hosted on Amazon), Sky Cinema/NOW, MUBI, Curzon Home Cinema, Chili, BFI Player etc. Some of these may have free trial periods or student rates.

Filmdoo
Filmdoo is a streaming service for European and world cinema - no sign-up fee, you can pay for each film on demand.
Cineuropa
Cineuropa is the first European portal dedicated to cinema and audiovisual in 4 languages. It includes streaming options (rent or purchase) for independent films from across Europe and elsewhere. The site also features daily news, interviews, data bases and in-depth investigations into the audiovisual industry.

Subject Librarian

LibGuides Admin

Email Me

Contact:

Resources for My Subject

Film & Screen Studies: Watch films online

Film & Screen Moodle page

Streaming services accessible for free to University members

More streaming options

Subject Librarian