Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Film & Screen Studies: Online resources

There are various specialist print and online resources for Film & Screen Studies in Cambridge. These pages give you an overview of the resources and research support that libraries can offer.

Recommended online resources for Film Studies research

General online resources on film

Cinema, sound, and moving image:

British Library: Online Gallery - Search gateway for the British Library's collections. See also: British Library sound and vision blog.

British Film Institute - The BFI promotes and preserves filmmaking and television in the United Kingdom.

BFI Mediatheque Viewing Station - Located in Cambridge Central Library where you can access over 2000 films from the BFI archive. 

BFI Screenonline - the BFI guide to British film and TV history.

British Cartoon Archive - The BCA holds the artwork for more than 150,000 British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines. The archive is located in Canterbury at the University of Kent, but is searchable online.

The Kubrick Site - Resource archive for documentary materials regarding, in whole or in part, the work of the late American film director and producer Stanley Kubrick (1928-1999).

IMDb - An online database of information related to films, television programs and video games, including cast, production crew, characters, biographies, plot summaries, and reviews (content is uploaded and edited by volunteers, it is moderated but may occasionally contain errors).

La Cinémathèque Française: La Bibliotheque Du Film - Digitised articles, videos, advertising materials, journals and photographs from selected parts of the Cinémathèque Française library collections (website in French).

Film Archives Online - Database of film archives, mostly documentary and educational films, newsreels, travelogue, advertising, scientific, industrial, experimental and sports films.

Senses of Cinema - Australian-based online journal of film. Includes festival reports, reviews and director profiles. 

British Universities Film & Video Council: News on Screen - The B.U.F.V.C's newsreel website - The world’s leading resource for the study of newsreels and cinemagazines.

BBC Archive - Archived collections of radio and TV programmes, documents and photographs from as far back as the 1930s.

Museum of Broadcast Communications: Online Collections Database - Database of 11,338 records from the Museum of Broadcast Communication.

Specialised online resources

©2021 Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Login to LibApps | Report a problem