Skip to main content

Resources for My Subject

Psychology: Online Resources

Databases

Annual Reviews 

Each year, Annual Reviews critically review the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of their field and help them keep up to date in their area of research

Latest articles from CAM in Psychology

Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

Discovering eresources

The University of Cambridge subscribes to a wide range of online resources that can be accessed from wherever you are through using your Raven credentials.

Search databases, digital archive collections, and primary sources on Cambridge Databases A-Z.

Use iDiscover to search for ebooks, or check out ebooks@cambridge for more information. 

IDISCOVER

If your search is successful, check the coverage dates (given just below the title). If the relevant year is covered, click on the active link provided and navigate to the article.

Where the relevant year is not covered by an ejournal, carry out an Exact search of the journal title in IDISCOVER to discover print holdings in Cambridge libraries.

If your search of online and print holdings is unsuccessful, contact the Library (library@psychol.cam.ac.uk) to use the document delivery service.

If you are searching for an unknowing item, use the abstract and indexing databases to carry out a general subject search. 

If you are doing a literature review, read the Psychology Library's Literature Review page for useful tips and links to helpful books.

Undergraduates

Check your Moodle course site for scans of articles recommended on reading lists, where the University does not have access to the online version. If your search is unsuccessful, contact the Library (library@psychol.cam.ac.uk)

Loading ...

Accessing the Psychology Library e-resources outside of campus

person-writing-on-tablet-computer-3804036.jp

person writing on tablet and with hand on a book➤ Working or studying from home
If you are working/studying from home and you need Library resources, please download the Lean Library browser extension and the plugin will recognise you/your raven as a member of Cambridge and give you access to the resources (very few publishers won't recognise it and will require you to log in manually).
 
Off campus access (if Lean Library extension is not recognised).

Step 1. Choose the Shibboleth login option.
Step 2. Select UK Higher Education as your region or group.
Step 3. Select the University of Cambridge from the list.
You will then be prompted for your Raven login.

 

Most staff and students should be able to access e-resources but if you want to make sure, please go to the Test e-resources pageIf you can't access it, please contact us.

 
➤ Electronic Legal Deposit resources
Electronic Legal Deposit resources cannot be made available beyond the physical premises of Cambridge University Libraries under the terms of current legal deposit legislation.  This can only be changed by the government through new legislation.  If you need an item, we will try to obtain it electronically with a wider license so that it is accessible off-campus via Raven; this will be on a case-by-case basis.  Please contact us OR use the form at the University library website to recommend books and journal titles.
 

Featured online resources and ebooks

Electronic Legal Deposit ebooks: an exception

screenshot of eLD record in iDiscover


On iDiscover you might come across books that are 'restricted to designated PCs'. These ebooks are supplied to the UL by publishers under Electronic Legal Deposit legislation, and may only be used on designated PCs for Electronic Legal Deposit access. Read more about Electronic Legal Deposit.

Useful websites

Open Access resources

Although many journals are only available to those with a subscription, an increasing number are now making some or all of their content freely accessible, or 'Open Access'. This means that our subscription database are not the only place you need to look when searching for resources. Find out more about how to search for open access content using this handy guide.

If you're interested in finding out more about the principles of Open Access, or want to publish your own content in Open Access sources, then check out this guide from the Office of Scholarly Communication.

Lean Library logoThe Lean Library Button

Compatible with most browsers, Lean Library is a browser extension that will automatically detect when you have access to something. This access might be provided through the University of Cambridge's subscriptions, or it might be an Open Access version. Either way, this will reduce the need for hours spent trying to log in to different websites or hitting paywalls and will give you quick access to what you need.