Catalogued Official Publications, political ephemera, working papers and pamphlets that are held in the basement archive, or as part of the old Official Publications Department at the University Library, will appear when searching iDiscover.
If you have particular documents that you would like to consult to support your research (demographic statistics, ministry reports etc.), please contact us at least 24 hours before you would like to view them, so that we can perform a thorough search for you.
You can request specific items by filling in the online fetching request form
For Official Publications held across the University and online, please see the Official Publications LibGuide
The British Library holds a vast amount of official publications & government reports
Institute of Commonwealth Studies Library (6th floor Senate House Library, London)
The Weston Library at Oxford holds an extensive collection of official papers from Commonwealth countries, documents from the Foreign Office and Colonial Office, dating back to 1827. Their LibGuide provides more detailed information.
|
ISBN: 9781905165292 Publication Date: 2008-05-01 This important new guide is an introduction to the records of British government departments responsible for the administration of colonial affairs, and now held in The National Archives of the United Kingdom. It covers the period from about 1801 to 1966.It has been planned as a user-friendly guide concentrating on the organisation of the records, the information they are likely to provide and how to use the contemporary finding aids. It also provides an outline of the expansion of the British empire during the period, and discusses the organisation of colonial governments. |
|
Displaced Archives by James Lowry (Editor) Call Number: eBook ISBN: 9781315577609 Publication Date: 2017-02-17 Displaced archives have long been a problem and their existence continues to trouble archivists, historians and government officials. Displaced Archives brings together leading international experts to comprehensively explore the current state of affairs for the first time. Drawing on case studies from around the world, the authors examine displaced archives as a consequence of conflict and colonialism, analysing their impact on government administration, nation building, human rights and justice. Renewed action is advocated through considerations of the legal approaches to repatriation, the role of the international archival community, 'shared heritage' approaches and other solutions. The volume offers new theoretical, technical and political insights and will be essential reading for practitioners, academics and students in the field of archives, cultural property and heritage management, as well as history, politics and international relations. |
We are currently working on creating a digital finding aid for the microfilm and microfiche collection to replace the card catalogue.
There is a basic list (work in progress) included below, but please ask us and we are happy for you to browse the drawers.
To view the microfiche or microfilms please get in touch with us so that we can arrange for you to use the digital viewer/scanner at the Centre of South Asian Studies.
If the digital scanner is in use, we also have a traditional microfilm viewer that you are welcome to use.
Church Missionary Society Africa Collections (Parts 3, 4, 8 & 9 on the Missions to the Yoruba): a print guide in the Library is available to consult for further details
Gakaara wa Wanjau Papers
Institute of Commonwealth Studies: Political Ephemera. See the booklet held in the Library outlining the ICS collection for more details.
World Conference on Agrarian Reform and Rural Development 1978- Food and Agricultural Organisation of the United Nations Collection
Statistics & growth development plans from various Francophone countries
A Guide to the Gakaara wa Wanjau Papers
The papers of Gakaara wa Wanjau, one of Kenya's first vernacular-language publishers. Wanjau's papers include his fictional writings, language primers, and a series of plays he wrote whilst held in detention as a "Mau Mau" suspect
Guide to the CAS microform collection
A working document that lists the contents of our collection. Please ask us for more details. We will continue to update this document and our website as the card catalogue is transferred to digital.
Kenya National Archives Reels - available at the Seeley (History) Library. They have a comprehensive paper catalogue of their holdings. Please get in touch if you're interested - you can view them with the help of the African Studies Library.
The Library holds approximately 250 maps of the African continent and of several African countries.
These date mostly from the 1980s and earlier. Library volunteers over the last four years have listed this interesting collection.
Please see the excel spreadsheet below for more details. If the file does not work for you, please get in touch with us.
The maps are available for consultation only, not for loan.
Take a look at the following blogposts from our volunteers for details of some of the treasures within the collection: