Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accessing Resources

Cambridge libraries: accessibility & disability

A guide to library accessibility services for students

About catalogues and reading lists

While at Cambridge, you will encounter a number of different online 'discovery tools' for finding library resources. Many of these catalogues, lists and other tools are created by third-party providers, and vary in their levels of accessibility.

Below are some of the main tools you might use, with information about accessibility and links to accessibility statements. Depending on your college and level and subject of study, you may not use all of the tools mentioned below.

To find out specifically about ebook, ejournal and database platforms, see the Eresource platforms section of this LibGuide.

iDiscover

iDiscover is our catalogue of library resources and is a huge database containing records of physical books, journals and other materials held in some 90 libraries, as well as details of, and links to, electronic books, journal articles and other electronic resources. iDiscover is provided by a third party supplier (Ex Libris) under the name Primo.

Read the Primo accessibility statement (provided by Ex Libris)

Reading Lists Online

Many of your reading lists are likely to be provided through Reading Lists Online (requires university login), which uses a system called Leganto. Leganto links readings on lists to online resources or to the iDiscover catalogue records for print items. It encourages well-structured lists with priorities clearly signposted, and many other features to assist students and academics.

Read the Reading Lists Online (Leganto) Accessibility Statement

Moodle

Moodle (requires university login) is the Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) used by a large number of faculties, departments, colleges and other offices at the University. There are some known accessibility issues with Moodle and with the content it hosts.

Read the Moodle Accessibility Statement

Databases A-Z

Cambridge has access to a large number of databases (most require university login), many of which have accessibility statements and inbuilt features. You can search for accessibility statements for individual databases via SearchBOX Finder.

Databases are listed on the A-Z Databases LibGuide. If you have any issues with accessibility, please contact disability@lib.cam.ac.uk.

ArchiveSearch

ArchiveSearch provides access to finding aids and links to digital records for the majority of archives located in Cambridge University Libraries, University faculties and museums and the majority of colleges of the University. It is based on open source software called ArchivesSpace.

Read Cambridge University Libraries' Accessibility Statement for ArchiveSearch [Opens in Word]

Read the ArchivesSpace Accessibility Statement (provided by third party)

©2021 Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Login to LibApps | Report a problem