Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Modern & Medieval Languages and Linguistics (MMLL): Extra Slavonic e-resources (COVID-19)

In this section, prepared by Olenka Dmytryk (MMLL) and Eleanor Peers (SPRI), you will find useful electronic resources and databases related to your studies. It is regularly updated - feel free to bookmark it and check later. The list features resources that are available through University subscription, that need special registration or that are open access.

The 'A-Z Databases: Resources opened for COVID-19' contains the list of all resources made temporarily available during the COVID-19 epidemics. You can also read about the electronic services and support available for remote access.

If you have any questions, recommendations or need help with resources for your research - please email relevant Slavonic specialists:

  • Olenka Dmytryk, MMLL Library, e-resources purchasing, Slavonic resources (Ukraine, Russia, Poland).
  • Dr Eleanor Peers, Scott Polar Research Institute Library, Russian culture and exploration of the North, Siberian languages, indigenous peoples.
  • Mel Bach, University Library, Slavonic collections.

Make sure to click on subject tabs in the box below to view all resources (General / Anthropology & History /etc).

GENERAL / INTERDISCIPLINARY RESOURCES
Title Area Info Available until Access
Berghahn journals Worldwide 38 scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities Trial / temporary access Free access
East View Information Services Eastern Europe Digital archives include Russian-language press Continuous subscription Raven login
Equinox journals Worldwide Over 40 peer-reviewed, international journals, clustering in subject areas of Archaeology & History, Linguistics & Communication, Popular Music, Religion & Ethics Trial /
temporary access
Free access
Kiberleninka Russia, Eastern Europe Open access electronic library, mostly journal articles Continuous access You need to sign up and get a login.
Nauchnaia Elektronnaia Biblioteka Russia, Eastern Europe

Some open access journals and ebooks available.

Continuous access

You need to sign up and get a login.
Open Edition Worldwide Brings together four platforms dedicated to electronic resources and academic information in the humanities and social sciences. Continuous subscription Raven login
ProQuest's Academic Complete Worldwide Ebooks across all subjects, advanced search function. Mid-June Raven login
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies Eastern Europe Collection of scholarly records, including coverage of journals, books, manuscripts and dissertations Continuous
subscription
Raven login
University of California Press Journals Worldwide Includes Communist and Post-Communist Studies; Film Quarterly, etc. End of June Raven login
UTREES thesis archive (British Library) Eastern Europe Over 5,800 doctoral and masters theses in Russian and East European studies Continuous access Free access
Podkarpacka Biblioteka Cyfrowa (PBC) Poland Virtual archive of the library in Rzescow, covering Subcarpathian Voivodeship Continuous access Free access
Polona Poland Virtual archive of the National Library of Poland. Full-text search option and filters available. Make sure to also search in Cyrillic if needed, and click "search in content" option in a search bar Continuous access Free access
Polish digital libraries federation Poland Online collections of Polish cultural and scientific institutions. More than 6.7 million objects! Go to a particular collection / library for advanced search / search in content Continuous access Free access
Nauka Ukraїny Ukraine Integrated space for Ukrainian libraries, academic institutions and their resources. Full-text search option available Continuous access Free access
BiblioRossica Russia, Eastern Europe Offers expertly selected collections devoted to the most relevant areas of modern Russian, Jewish, Eastern European and Eurasian Humanities. June 30 Raven login
BiblioPlanet Russia, Eastern Europe Over 70,000 arts, humanities, and social sciences ebooks, plus journals, audiobooks, reference works and digital maps. June 30 Raven login

 

ANTHROPOLOGY & HISTORY RESOURCES
Title Area Info Available until Access
Euromaidan Protests in Ukraine, 2013-2014 Ukraine A collection of ephemera and primary source material from the Euromaidan protests beginning on November 21, 2013. Continuous
subscription
Raven login
History of Russia in photographs Russia A collection of photographs from museum and personal archives made from 1840 to 1999. Continuous access Free access
Russian everyday life: online archive Russia Presents Russian everyday life of the XX-XXI centuries, captured in oral biographical narratives, diaries and family albums, interior photos and singing recordings, digital copies of amateur art and child drawings. Continuous access Free access
Stalin digital archive Soviet Union Collection containing material relating to many aspects of Joseph Stalin's political life. Continuous
subscription
Raven login
Saint-Petersburg archives Russia, Soviet Union Access to digitized copies of archival documents. July 31 You will need to register to get access
The Union of Russia's Physical Anthropologists (Sodruzhestvo fizicheskikh antropologov Rossii) Russia Some authors have uploaded their books to this site as pdfs. Care must be taken when using this material however, since Russian copyright law differs from that of the UK. Continuous access Free access
The Central Nenets Library in the name of Pichkov Russia This site contains electronic material that can be downloaded. Care must be taken when using this material however, since Russian copyright law differs from that of the UK. Continuous access Free access
Elektronnaia Biblioteka 'Nauchnoe nasledie Rossii' Russia, Soviet Union This site is an attempt to create a unified digital library for historical academic work. Material from Soviet and pre-Soviet journals is available for download. Continuous access Free access
State Public Historical Library (GPIB) Russia Virtual archive of the biggest historical library in Russia Continuous access Free access
Runivers Russia, Soviet Union, Russian empire Online library aimed to provide free access to authentic documents, books and texts related to Russian history Continuous access Free access
Ristat Russia Virtual archive of the historical statistics, XVIII-XXI centuries, territory of contemporary Russian Federation Continuous access Free access
Byzantinoslavica Medieval Slavonic Articles on the whole range of subjects and disciplines relevant to Byzantine Studies Continuous access Free access
obshtezhitie.net Medieval Slavonic Website dedicated to the study of Cyrillic and Glagolitic manuscripts and early printed books Continuous access Free access
Prozhito Russia, Ukraine, Soviet Union Database of personal diaries from Russia and Ukraine Continuous access Free access
Open Society Archive Eastern and Central Europe "OSA curates multilingual collections in over 40 languages spanning the period from World War II until the present, with a global geographical coverage but special focus on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union" Continuous access Free access

 

ART & ARCHITECTURE RESOURCES
Title Area Info Available until Access
Art & Architecture ePortal Worldwide Art and Architecture scholarly ebooks from Yale University Press and partners Temporary / Trial access Raven login
ArtStor Worldwide The ARTstor Digital Library includes approximately 300,000 images and accompanying scholarly information covering art, architecture and archeology. Continuous access Raven login
St. Petersburg State Theater Library online Russia, Soviet Union Archival materials, early periodicals, books and screenplays. Continuous access Free access
Early Russian Cinema Russia A collection of Russian film periodicals from the last tsarist decade released by the major Russian film studios. Continuous access Raven login
KLASSIKI (Kino Klassika Foundation) Soviet Union, Russia, Caucasus, Eastern Europe Digital film series available online. Director-led selection. A specially commissioned and downloadable pogram notes to give context to each film. Profiling one film each week Free access
MOSFIL'M official Youtube channel Soviet Union, Eastern Europe & more A collection of films by Mosfil'm film company, with English subtitles. A unique resource for Soviet cinema. Continuous access Free access
Soviet Cinema Soviet Union Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s Continuous access Raven login
Screen Studies (Bloomsbury Digital Resources) Worldwide Includes three collections: Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism (448 titles), BFI Film Classics (91 titles) and BFI Film Studies (89 titles). The platform is fully searchable or content can be browsed under the headings People, Themes, Genres, Movements and Styles or Films. Continuous access Raven login
Odesa Film Studio YouTube channel Ukraine, Soviet Union Masterpieces of "Odesa Film Studio" and "Odessa Animation Studio" on the official YouTube channel. "Odesa Film Studio" leads its history from 1907, and was one of the three leading studios of the Soviet Union. Continuous access Free access
'Iskusstvo Kino' digital archive (up to 2018) Russia, Soviet Union, Eastern Europe, Central Asia Leading journal of Russian cinema critics. Publishes reviews of contemporary Russian and foreign movies, articles on history and theory of Russian and world cinema as well as general essays on culture and arts. Continuous subscription Raven login
'Iskusstvo Kino' digital archive (2019) Russia, Soviet Union, Eastern Europe, Central Asia Leading journal of Russian cinema critics. Publishes reviews of contemporary Russian and foreign movies, articles on history and theory of Russian and world cinema as well as general essays on culture and arts. Continuous access Free access

 

GEOGRAPHY & GEOLOGY RESOURCES
Title Area Info Available until Access

The Russian Geographical Society

(Rossiiskoe Geograficheskoe Obschestvo)

Russia,

Soviet Union

This site contains digital versions of the RGO's journals, which are available for download. Continuous access Free access
Rossiiskaia Akademiia Nauk, Vestnik Russia The Vestnik is the flagship journal of the Russian Academy of Sciences. This site contains an electronic archive of issues, going back to the 1970s. Continuous access Free access
Institut Geografii Rossiiskoi Akademii Nauk Russia The 'books' section of this site contains several pdfs of their latest publications. We recommend that care is taken when using these pdfs, since Russian copyright legislation differs from that of the UK. Continuous access Free access
Electronic library of the Institut Geografii Rossiiskoi Akademii Nauk Russia Material from several of the Geographical Institute's journals can be downloaded from this site. Continuous access Free access
The Institut Fizika Zemli im. O. Iu. Shchmidta RAN; the Shmidt Institute of Earth Physics, Russian Academy of Sciences Russia, Eastern Europe The Institute has opened its journals on Seismology, Technology and Geophysics, via the platform elibrary. You need to create an elibrary account in order to access this work. September 1, 2020 Free access

 

LANGUAGES & CULTURES, LINGUISTICS RESOURCES
Title Area Info Available until Access
Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek - Slavistik Slavonic languages Website is in German, however the database features open access journals in different languages. Continuous access Free access
Textbooks on Cambridge Core Worldwide 700 textbooks across all subjects. Might be interesting for Linguistics topics June 30 Raven login
Endangered languages and cultures of Siberia North Asia A resource for exploring endangered indigenous Siberian languages, for linguists, anthropologists, historians and language planners. Continuous access Free access
Национальный корпус русского языка Russian language Russian language corpus, over 600 million words Continuous access Free access
UkrainianLanguage.uk Ukrainian language A collection of resources supporting the study of Ukrainian. Continuous access Free access
The CEELBAS Language Repository Slavonic languages Supports language training for research on Central and Eastern Europe. Continuous access Free access
LITERATURE RESOURCES
Title Area Info Available until Access
ProQuest One Literature Online Worldwide The collection includes writers from Eastern Europe and Central Asia. Continuous access Raven login
Ukrainian Literature A Journal of Translations Worldwide Ukrainian Literature publishes English translations of the finest works of Ukrainian literature. Continuous access Free access
Zhurnal'nyi Zal Russia, Eastern Europe Journals on literature & philosophy (NLO, Neprikosnovennyi zapas, etc.) Continuous access Free access
Online library of the 'Pushkinskii Dom' Institute of Russian Literature, IRLI RAN Russia E-publications of the Institute on Russian literature Continuous access Free access
Essential Russian Classics Russia Includes almost 6,400 titles by 300+ famous Russian authors, thinkers and philosophers of the 19th-early 20th centuries. The collection is divided into four main genres: Classic Russian Fiction, Classic Russian Non-Fiction, Classic Russian Poetry, Classic Russian Drama. June 30 Raven login
MEDIA, POLITICS RESOURCES
Title Area Info Available until Access
Arcanum Digitheca Hungary Collection of press in Hungarian. Continuous access Free access
Donetsk and Luhansk newspaper e-collection Ukraine 10 rare newspapers from the self-proclaimed "Donetsk People's Republic" and "Lugansk People's Republic" Continuous access Raven login
Integrum Central Press Publications Russia Largest electronic collection of Russian mass media Continuous access Raven login
Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei Soviet Union A digitized serial publication that indexes Soviet-era periodicals from 1956 to 1975 Continuous access Free access
Soviet Samizdat Periodicals Soviet Union A database of information about editions of classic Soviet samizdat, 1956-1986 Continuous access Free access
Ukrainian conflict collection Ukraine Content includes news outlets, social media, blogs, and government websites. Sites are in English, Ukrainian, Russian, and other languages. Continuous access Free access
ANNO - AustriaN Newspapers Online

Hungary,

Poland

ANNO is the virtual newspaper reading room of the Austrian National Library.
Here you can browse and read online in historical Austrian newspapers and magazines. Search by year or theme, full text search option available.
Continuous access Free access
Libraria Ukraine Digital archive of Ukrainian press. Over 400 publications, including in Ukrainian, Polish, Russian Temporary / trial access Free access
Emigrantika Worldwide Journals, books and newspapers of Russian emigrants, 1917-1996, - around 1800 titles Continuous access Free access
PONARS Eurasia Eurasia Site hosted by the Elliott School of International Affairs at the George Washington University, containing academic articles and films on politics and current events Continuous access Free access
Johnson's Russia List Russia and Ukraine Site also hosted at the Elliott School of International Affairs providing digest of anglophone news stories about Russia Continuous access Free access
Rossiĭskaia gazeta Digital Archive Russia Boasting a nationwide circulation, the newspaper covers domestic and foreign news, economics, culture, sports, and governmental affairs. With a daily print run of more than 180,000 and a large online presence, the Rossiĭskaia gazeta has become the go-to media outlet for government related news and official communiques and notices. July 31 Raven login
Novaia gazeta Digital Archive Russia A popular Moscow newspaper focusing on sensational investigative reporting exposing corruption, abuse of power and violation of laws amongst government structures and financial-industrial circles close to them. Published twice a week July 31 Raven login

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy Policy