Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Modern Languages Collections in Cambridge
THIS LIBGUIDE IS NO LONGER UPDATED. PLEASE SEE THE LANGUAGES LIBGUIDE FOR 2020/21.
The Modern & Medieval Languages and Linguistics Library holds over 115,000 books, periodicals and DVDs. The Library provides material for the 10 taught languages in MMLL, as well as medieval European languages, and linguistics. Students taking the MMLL Tripos, the MPhil in Film & Screen Studies and the MPhil in European, Latin American & Comparative Literatures & Cultures should find most of the reading list material for their studies here, including multiple copies of high-demand titles.
Please check the Linguistics LibGuide to find Theoretical & Applied Linguistics resources.
What's on this guide?
On this guide, you'll find:
- Links to specific e-resources for Romance, Germanic and Slavonic languages and contact details for the individual librarians if you need any help or want to make a recommendation
- Help with how to research a topic
- Information on referencing
- More to come!
Locating print collections
Specialist print resources and library help is available via the Modern & Medieval Languages Library. There are many other libraries in Cambridge which may also hold useful collections.
Literature Online (LION) Literature Online (Lion) includes a collection of over 349,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and critical resources. Literature Online's primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present, American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and English prose from 1500 to 1900, among others. Secondary sources include the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature from 1920 onward, with links to articles in JSTOR, LIFT, a literary journal index with full text of selected articles, the King James Bible, Webster's Dictionary, links to selected Web resources, and biographical information.
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest) Classified listing and subject index on scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
ARTstor Database of digital images and accompanying scholarly information for use in art history and other humanistic fields of learning, including the related social sciences. The ARTstor Digital Library includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology.
Early European Books Provides digital access to continental printed texts before 1701, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.
Electronic Enlightenment The Electronic Enlightenment provides access to more than 53,000 English, French, German and Italian letters and documents associated with over 6000 prominent thinkers of the 18th century
Oxford Reference Online Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the award-winning Core Collection.
Scopus Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index