Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Help

Resources for My Subject

Physical Sciences: Using the Library

Welcome to the Betty & Gordon Moore Library

To support teaching and research at the University of Cambridge, the Betty & Gordon Moore Library provides the University’s major working collections in science and technology. This includes collections in mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, materials science, engineering, biological, chemical, earth, and environmental sciences. The Library is open to all University of Cambridge students and staff.
 

Take a short online tour of our Library - we hope to see you in person soon!

When can I use the Library?

The Library is currently open and staffed between:

9am-5pm Monday - Friday

 

On advice from the University Safety Office the library will not be in a position to offer 24/7 access.  Readers will only be able to gain access to the Moore during staffed hours. 

Please continue to monitor our website, as any future updates to this will be posted there in the first instance. 

COVID-19 Safety

  • Please sanitise your workspace before and after use - we have provided antibacterial wipes and hand sanitiser at every work station.

  • Please work within the space provided, and be respectful of the personal space of staff and other users

For further information, please visit our study spaces webpage. Thank you for continuing to help us keep staff and users safe.

Departmental libraries

There are several places you can turn to get help. As well as the Physical Sciences Research Support Team, many disciplines operate their own library. You can find their details in the Help tab or by using the quick links to their online guides below:

FAQs & Contact Us

If you've got any questions about the Moore Library which aren't answered on this guide, we have an FAQ section on our website:

Moore Library FAQs

If you have any other questions please Contact Us.

Finding books in the Library

Our book collections are located on the ground, first, and second floors of the Library - the sequence starts on the second floor. Our bound journal collection can be found on the lower ground floor.

You can search our book stock using iDiscover, the Cambridge University Libraries online catalogue, as demonstrated in the video below. If you need help using iDiscover, please ask a member of the Library Team - we will be happy to guide you.

The University Library has developed a series of short videos on how to get the most out of iDiscover. You can access the playlist by clicking this link.

Where is my book?

Need a book from the Moore Library? Check out our handy guide to what is available on each floor:

  • 2nd floor: AC8.D46 1969 - QA432.L58 1964
  • 1st floor: QA432.M33 1965 - TK5102.9.K863 2005
  • Ground floor: TK5102.9.L38 1998 - ZA 4460.K36 2010
  • Lower Ground floor: print journals

Remember: books labelled 'reserve collection' on iDiscover have been integrated into the main sequence so you will find them on the main shelves.

You can see an overview of our which books are held at which classmark on our classification guide.

Online Reading lists

Click & Collect

You can come in and browse our collections and borrow what you need. However, if you would like to borrow a book and collect it from the Library entrance, you can request via our Click and Collect service. Books are collected Monday - Friday

How do I place a request?

Can I return books at the same time?

Yes! Our book box is located outside of the Library doors, so if you want to return your books you won't need to enter the building.

Find out more about Click & Collect on our webpages

Scan & Deliver

Need a journal article or book chapter that isn't available online?

Scan & Deliver allows current staff and students to request an individual scanned copy of one chapter (or 5%) of a monograph (printed book) or  one article per issue of a journal from collections held by Cambridge University Libraries, subject to relevant  conservation approval and copyright permissions.

Find out more about Scan & Deliver on the University Libraries Scan & Deliver page.

Library Facilities

  • Study spaces

Currently we have a range study spaces available throughout the library, including the Glass Room on the Lower ground floor. We offer two bookable study rooms which are available on a first-come first-served basis and can be reserved via our bookings page.
 

  • Self service borrowing

Our self service borrowing machine is located on the ground floor. Using your blue univesrity card, books can be borrowed and returned on this terminal.
 

  • Printing, Scanning & Photocopying

Printing, scanning and photocooying are available on the lower ground floor of the Moore Library. Prices and futher information can be found on our website.

Borrowing Information

Undergraduates may borrow up to a maximum of:

  • 10 books at a time with an initial loan period of 7 days, after which all loans will automatically renew until returned to the library
  • Borrowed books may be requested by another library user during term time only

University Staff, University PhD and Masters students may borrow up to a maximum of:

  • 20 books at a time with an initial loan period of 28 days after which all loans will automatically renew until returned to the library
  • Borrowed books may be requested by another library user during term time only

All other users with borrowing rights, may borrow up to a maximum of:

  • 20 books at a time with an initial loan period of 8 weeks (three times renewal, online or in person)
  • Borrowed books may be requested if required by another library user during full term and vacation periods

Other borrowing rules

  • Journal volumes have a loan period of 1 day (please note that journal issues from the current calendar year may not be borrowed)
  • Non-book media items are for use in the Library only
  • Reference items may not be borrowed

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Log into LibApps | Report a problem