Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are many specialist print and online resources for Linguistics at Cambridge.
These pages give you an overview of the resources and research support that libraries can offer.
iDiscover– Search Cambridge collections
Use iDiscover to search the University's libraries print and online collections using a single search. Find books, ebooks, videos, theses, open access content and more. Log in to manage your loans, requests, fines and saved search results.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics, first published in 1994, with a 2nd edition in 2006, is an encyclopedia of all matters related to language and linguistics. The Journal of Linguistics described it as "the definitive and indispensable scholarly reference publication, on all branches of linguistics for any library where linguistics is taken seriously
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts) currently indexes and provides abstracts for journal articles from over 1200 journals annually in all areas of language and linguistics. LLBA also includes books, book chapters, bibliographies, monographs, conference proceedings, etc. International in scope, this index covers phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics as well as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.
Literature Online (LION)
Literature Online (Lion) includes a collection of over 349,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and critical resources. Literature Online's primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present, American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and English prose from 1500 to 1900, among others. Secondary sources include the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature from 1920 onward, with links to articles in JSTOR, LIFT, a literary journal index with full text of selected articles, the King James Bible, Webster's Dictionary, links to selected Web resources, and biographical information.
MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)
Classified listing and subject index on scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
PQDT (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Abstracting & Indexing Service)
Comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. Access is to the abstracts only. Full text can either be purchased online via ProQuest directly, or by contacting the Inter-Library Loans dept: E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science
The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the award-winning Core Collection.
Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus
An online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date. As such, the DOE Web Corpus represents over three million words of Old English and fewer than a million words of Latin, or almost five times the collected works of Shakespeare.