LibGuides: History and Philosophy of Science: Home

Contact us

Email Me

Contact:

Whipple Library
Department of History and Philosophy of Science
University of Cambridge
Free School Lane
Cambridge CB2 3RH
UK

+44 (0)1223 334547

iDiscover

Online resources

History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new window
The definitive international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, this database now integrates four separately created bibliographies. Expanded at the end of 1999 to include records from an internationally renowned medical collection. Covers pre-history to the present.
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Access restricted to 10 users at one time - if you cannot access because of this restriction please try again a short time later or email ejournals@lib.cam.ac.uk
The largest and most comprehensive resource available for all those involved in the study of philosophy. It is a trusted source of quality information, providing access to over 2,700 articles that have been edited for level and consistency by a team of renowned subject experts. Regularly updated with new and revised articles it is the ideal entry point for further discovery and research, clearly organised and with over 25,000 cross-references linking themes, concepts and philosophers. It is also an ideal reference source for those in subjects related to philosophy, such as politics, psychology, economics, anthropology, religion and literature.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Complete dictionary of scientific biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the professional lives of scientists, engineers, inventors and other figures of importance to the history of science, from classical antiquity to modern times.

FULL list of all A-Z online resources in Cambridge
Cambridge Digital Library Very high quality digital images from selected significant items in the Cambridge University Library collections, including papers belonging to Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin and the Board of Longitude.

English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) This link opens in a new window The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items
Incunabula Short-Title Catalogue (ISTC) This link opens in a new window
The Incunabula Short Title Catalogue is the international database of 15th-century European printing created by the British Library with contributions from institutions worldwide. The database records nearly every item printed from movable type before 1501, but not material printed entirely from woodblocks or engraved plates. 30,375 editions are listed as of March 2014, including some 16th-century items previously assigned incorrectly to the 15th century
Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalog This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and major research library holdings data on all print materials published in the United States and the British Empire from 1801 to 1919, all books in English, wherever published, during that same time, as well as translations from English. The 1.2 million records in the database are drawn from eight copyright and research libraries

Universal Short Title Catalogue (USTC) For books printed in continental Europe, 1500-1650.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window Eighteenth Century Collections Online, a comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library on microfilm of the printed book available through its imprint Primary Source Microfilm.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Artstor is now on JSTOR. The Artstor website will be retired on 1 August 2024.

British Library Images Online
Wellcome Images Digital images from one of the world's richest and most unique collections, the Wellcome Collection, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.

e-resources blog
ejournals & eresources : news, advice and updates on new content from the ejournals@cambridge team for the University of Cambridge

For questions about e-resources, please see these Frequently Asked Questions.

You can find most of Cambridge's subscription e-resources via Google or Google Scholar.

BUT, you are far more likely to get accurate results, and full text access to pre-paid content by using one of the University Library routes.

*** Never pay for an article without double-checking with Library staff that there's no alternative! ***

To find an article / start researching a topic:

Type one author surname and a couple of words from the title into iDiscover
Think of some keywords that describe your topic and try searching for them individually in iDiscover

To find out if, and if so how much of a journal is available online: