LibGuides: History and Philosophy of Science: Home

Contact us

Email Me

Contact:

Whipple Library
Department of History and Philosophy of Science
University of Cambridge
Free School Lane
Cambridge CB2 3RH
UK

+44 (0)1223 334547

iDiscover

Use the library catalogue, iDiscover, to search for books, journals and articles. If you only want to check what is available in one library then use the location filter.

Online resources

History of Science, Technology and Medicine
The definitive international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, this database now integrates four separately created bibliographies. Expanded at the end of 1999 to include records from an internationally renowned medical collection. Covers pre-history to the present.
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Access restricted to 10 users at one time - if you cannot access because of this restriction please try again a short time later or email ejournals@lib.cam.ac.uk

The largest and most comprehensive resource available for all those involved in the study of philosophy. It is a trusted source of quality information, providing access to over 2,700 articles that have been edited for level and consistency by a team of renowned subject experts. Regularly updated with new and revised articles it is the ideal entry point for further discovery and research, clearly organised and with over 25,000 cross-references linking themes, concepts and philosophers. It is also an ideal reference source for those in subjects related to philosophy, such as politics, psychology, economics, anthropology, religion and literature.
Scopus
Web of Science
Complete dictionary of scientific biography
*Click 'eBooks' and scroll or search under 'biography'.*
Provides information on the professional lives of scientists, engineers, inventors and other figures of importance to the history of science, from classical antiquity to modern times.

English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
Incunabula Short-Title Catalogue (ISTC)
The Incunabula Short Title Catalogue is the international database of 15th-century European printing created by the British Library with contributions from institutions worldwide. The database records nearly every item printed from movable type before 1501, but not material printed entirely from woodblocks or engraved plates. 30,375 editions are listed as of March 2014, including some 16th-century items previously assigned incorrectly to the 15th century
Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalog
Provides citations and major research library holdings data on all print materials published in the United States and the British Empire from 1801 to 1919, all books in English, wherever published, during that same time, as well as translations from English. The 1.2 million records in the database are drawn from eight copyright and research libraries

Universal Short Title Catalogue (USTC)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
ARTstor
Artstor is now on JSTOR. The Artstor website will be retired on 1 August 2024.

e-resources blog
e-journals & e-resources : news, advice and updates on new content from the ejournals@cambridge team for the University of Cambridge

For questions about e-resources, please see these Frequently Asked Questions.

*** Never pay for an article without double-checking with Library staff that there's no alternative! ***

To find an article / start researching a topic:

Type one author surname and a couple of words from the title into iDiscover
Think of some keywords that describe your topic and try searching for them individually in iDiscover

To find out if a journal is available online:

Search for the journal title (not the article title) on the e-journals page
You can download the browser extension, Lean Library, which alerts you via a pop-up message if you are looking for something that the University of Cambridge can give you access to, including articles, eBooks, and other subscriptions