LibGuides: Education Library: Literature Searching: Plan

Planning

Perhaps the most important stage of any literature search, the planning stage
contains 4 key steps:

Step 1: Identify keywords & phrases

Step 2: Consider language variation

Step 3: Consider the scope of your search

Step 4: Select a database / Select a database by subject

Step 1: Identify keywords & phrases

Identifying key terms and phrases which best describe your area of research is perhaps one of the most important parts of literature searching - remember, what you put in determines what you get out and whilst databases are highly sophisticated, they will only search for exactly what you type in! Omitting key terms from your search strategy will result in an incomplete literature search as relevant literature is likely to be missed.

Spending time planning your search will help to prevent the need to re-run searches with terms omitted from your initial query and it will result in more relevant items. Some databases include an in-built thesaurus (BEI & ERIC for example) - where available, we highly recommend you make use of this facility as it will help you to think through your search, organise your ideas and compile your search terms.

Identifying concepts, keywords & phrases - an example

Write your research statement/question as a sentence:

Investigate the effects of ability grouping within a primary education mathematics class

Identify the key concepts - our example above has 3 clear concepts (1: ability grouping, 2: primary education, 3: mathematics). For each concept, build a set of synonyms and related terms (ensuring that each set of terms all relate to the same concept). Remember to use the database thesaurus where there is one to help compile your list of search terms:

The Search Preparation form below can help to plan your search and identify keywords and phrases

Search preparation form

Step 2: Consider language variation

Spelling variations	Databases usually only match on the specific word(s) you enter so remember to use all variations: e.g. counselling/counseling; behaviour/behavior; wellbeing/well-being/well being If the database includes a thesaurus, use this to establish which term will cover all variations.
Acronyms & abbreviations	You may need to include both the acronym and the full term: e.g. Special Educational Needs OR SEN; CLIL OR Content and Language Integrated Learning
Ambiguous terms	Try to avoid the use of ambiguous, non-concrete terms as these are likely to bring back irrelevant results. This is especially key when using cross-disciplinary databases such as Scopus or Web of Science. e.g. Primary for example could be interpreted as an age level descriptor or as first. Programs would yield results about intervention programs and computer programs.
Thesaurus use	A thesaurus is a highly useful facility present in some databases (BEI, ERIC & PsycINFO for example). It will help you to identify relevant terms to incorporate into your search strategy. Terms can be combined with free-text searches to enable you to conduct a highly comprehensive search. It is arranged hierarchically and will place a subject term in its context in relation to other broader, narrower and related terms. They are particularly useful in establishing the most current term to use. When using a database that includes a thesaurus (BEI or ERIC for example), remember that each database uses a different set of controlled vocabulary so it is not possible to transfer one set of search terms directly from one database to another. Re-search the thesaurus in each database you use to ensure that you use the correct set of terms that relate to your concepts.
Stop words	Stop words are commonly used words such as articles, pronouns and prepositions (the, so, with). Most databases ignore these even when included within quotation marks and replace them with any word. See the help section within each database for further information and a list of stop words.

Step 3: Consider the scope of your search

There are a number of factors to consider when deciding on the scope of your search. To ensure consistency, the same limits should be applied across all databases you search. All of the following will narrow your search and reduce the number of results:

Date - do you only want to include material published after a certain date? (not appropriate if you are conducting an historical search)
Language - can you read other languages or do you only want references in English?
Type of publication - the databases enable you to search for all types of information (peer-reviewed journal articles, books, grey literature etc). Consider whether to include all of these types in your search
Geography - do you want to limit your search to information about a specific place or to material published in a particular country?

Step 4: Select a database/resource

Selecting the the most appropriate database(s) is a key part of the planning stage. There is overlap across many of the databases, but if you are conducting a thorough and systematic literature search, you need to ensure that you search all of those that are relevant.

Use the tabs above to find out about those databases and resources relevant to education and related disciplines. Each tab includes a coverage and scope box which will enable you to select those that relate to your subject area. You can also Select a database by subject.

We strongly recommend that you create an account on each of the databases you search as this will enable you to save and edit searches and re-run them at a later date

Image credit: Nick Youngson

Click the link below to access the database:

African Education Research Database This link opens in a new window
The AERD is a curated collection of research undertaken in the past decade by scholars based in sub-Saharan Africa. The database includes social science research with implications for educational policy and practice, understood in the context of the global priorities and targets expressed in Sustainable Development Goal 4 ‘ensuring inclusive and quality education for all’, and the African Union’s Agenda 2063 and Continental Education Strategy for Africa.

Coverage & scope	The AERD is a curated collection of research (peer-reviewed articles, chapters, PhD theses and working papers) undertaken in the past decade by scholars based in sub-Saharan Africa. Developed by the Faculty’s REAL Centre, AERD includes social science research with implications for educational policy and practice, understood in the context of the global priorities and targets expressed in Sustainable Development Goal 4 ‘ensuring inclusive and quality education for all’, and the African Union’s Agenda 2063 and Continental Education Strategy for Africa. For more coverage details click here. Good source for: Education (in Sub-Saharan Africa); International development
Full text?	No – some material is available via University subscriptions – to access these, search iDiscover
Help & support	Video guide to searching the AERD

Click the link below to access the database:

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (incl. in Web of Science Core Collection) This link opens in a new window

At the search page, click on the arrow next to Editions and untick all other indexes apart from the Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Coverage & scope	Indexes more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals and accessed via the Web of Science. Good source for: Arts & creativity; Children's literature; Drama
Full text?	No - each entry includes a link enabling you to check whether online access is available
Specialist features	Citation database In addition to enabling you to retrieve high quality academic material using sophisticated and comprehensive search techniques, a citation database enables you to see how many times a previously published paper has been cited in the current literature. Citations are sometimes used as a way to evaluate a piece of work and assess its impact. However, there can be many reasons for citing (negative citations, ethnocentricity, self-citation) and a high citation count does not necessarily indicate that the research is of a high quality.
Help & support	Detailed guidance on the functionality of the database can be found in this guide

Click the link below to access the database:

British Education Index This link opens in a new window Provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education from sources mostly published in the UK although the BEI does include international literature.

Use Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Chromium-based Edge (version 87 & higher) to access this database (EBSCO no longer supports Internet Explorer (all versions) or Legacy Edge (version 18 & lower))

Coverage & scope	Specialist database focusing on journals in the field of education published in the UK. For more coverage details click here Good source for: Assessment; Arts & Creativity; Children's Literature; Counselling (within schools); Education (all curriculum subjects); International development; Psychology & education; School leadership; Second language learning
Full text?	No - each entry includes a link enabling you to check whether online access is available
Specialist features	Includes a highly useful thesaurus to help establish relevant terminology plus introduce new terminology and new areas of research
Help & support	Detailed guidance on the functionality of the database can be found in this guide Video guide to searching the database Step-by-step guide to searching the database Instructions for setting up an account can be found in this guide

Click the link below to access the database:

Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window Source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.

Use Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Chromium-based Edge (version 87 & higher) to access this database. (EBSCO no longer supports Internet Explorer (all versions) and Legacy Edge (version 18 & lower))

Coverage & scope	Child Development & Adolescent Studies, produced by NISC, is today’s source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 - 2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development plus new coverage on Child Rights and welfare issues Good source for: Children's literature; Counselling; Psychology
Full text?	Yes. To find full text articles, click on Linked Full Text under Search Options
Specialist features	Includes a highly useful index of terms to help establish relevant terminology plus introduce new terminology and new areas of research
Help & support	Detailed guidance on the functionality of the database can be found in this guide Instructions for setting up an account can be found on this guide

Click the link below to access the database:

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Captures the moments before the curtain rises and after the curtain falls, providing valuable insight into the play making process. We share the hidden drama of the weeks, days, and hours before ‘lights up’ on stage. By revealing the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, our documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium.

Coverage & scope	Includes exclusive video resources, interviews, detailed study guides, essays and lesson plans. Good source for: Drama
Full text?	Yes

Click the link below to access the database:

Drama online This link opens in a new window This collection includes scripts to for over 1200 plays, including plays by Henrik Ibsen, Noel Coward, Aeschylus, Yasmina Reza, Tom Stoppard, Sue Townsend and Bertolt Brecht. The scripts can be viewed online, searched by Act or by keyword or printed.

Coverage & scope	Filmed and audio recordings of performances plus scripts along with ebooks covering context and criticism. For more coverage details click here. Good source for: Arts & creativity; Drama
Guide	Video guides available here
Full text?	Yes
Help & support	Can be found on these pages

Click the link below to access the database:

ERIC This link opens in a new window

Use Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Chromium-based Edge (version 87 & higher) to access this database. EBSCO no longer supports Internet Explorer (all versions) or Legacy Edge (version 18 & lower)

Alternative access via Proquest (please note that you will not have access to material saved within your EBSCO account)

Coverage & scope	Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an American English-language database relating to education. ERIC indexes over 650 journals, plus books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports and policy papers. For more coverage details click here Good source for: Assessment; Arts & creativity; Children's literature, Counselling (within schools); Education (all curriculum subjects); International development; Psychology & education; School leadership; Second language learning
Full text?	Mixed - entries either include a PDF option OR a link enabling you to check whether online access is available
Specialist features	Includes a highly useful thesaurus to help establish relevant terminology plus introduce new terminology and new areas of research
Help & support	Detailed guidance on the functionality of the database can be found in this guide Video guide to searching the database (uses BEI as an example but the functionality is the same on ERIC) Step-by-step guide to searching the database (uses BEI as an example but the functionality is the same on ERIC) Instructions on setting up an account can be found in this guide

The video below uses the British Education Index as an example, but the functionality is the same on ERIC

Click the link below to access the database:

Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window Literature Online (Lion) includes a collection of over 349,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and critical resources. Literature Online's primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present, American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and English prose from 1500 to 1900, among others. Secondary sources include the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature from 1920 onward, with links to articles in JSTOR, LIFT, a literary journal index with full text of selected articles, the King James Bible, Webster's Dictionary, links to selected Web resources, and biographical information.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Coverage & scope	A fully searchable database covering English and American poetry, drama and prose. Another good source for material on Children's Literature. For more coverage details click here. Good source for: Children's literature; Drama
Full text?	Mixed - entries either include a PDF option OR a link enabling you to check whether online access is available
Help & support	Detailed guidance on the functionality of the database can be found in this guide

Click the link below to access the database:

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window

Coverage & scope	Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) covering more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present. For more coverage details click here Good source for: World languages and literatures, Linguistics and teaching of language, Drama, Film, Children's Literature. Also cross-disciplinary subjects such as gender studies
Full text?	Mixed - entries either include a PDF option OR a link enabling you to check whether online access is available via Cambridge University Subscriptions. Full text is limited so do not use the option to limit to full text as you will exclude content available through University subscriptions
Specialist features	Includes a highly useful thesaurus to help establish relevant terminology plus introduce new terminology and new areas of research
Help & support	Detailed guidance on the functionality of the database can be found in this guide Instructions on how to set up an account can be found on this guide

Click the link below to access the database:

OECD Commonwealth iLibrary This link opens in a new window Each year, The Commonwealth publishes around 30 new titles on a range of topics in which it has particular insight and expertise, especially concerning small states, including; globalisation and multilateral trade issues; export and enterprise development education; gender; public service management and reform; law and human rights. For the first time, these publications are now available online in a single research repository. Titles are organised by series, year and alphabetically, and search and discovery of complete publications or even their components – articles and chapters – is a click away.

Coverage & scope	Publishes material especially concerning small states, including; globalisation and multilateral trade issues; export and enterprise development education; gender; public service management and reform; law and human rights. Good source for: International development; Developing countries
Full text?	Yes

Click the link below to access the database:

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window OECD iLibrary provides online access to the many publications put out by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Publications include country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, environment, health, migration, social issues, sustainable development and more. It replaces SourceOECD.

Coverage & scope	OECD iLibrary provides online access to the many publications put out by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Publications include country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, environment, health, migration, social issues, sustainable development and more. Good source for: International development; Developing countries
Full text?	Yes
Help & support	https://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/oecd/about

Click the link below to access the resource:

PEDAL Hub Resource Library

Coverage & scope	This resource library contains a range of short articles, blog pieces and videos to summarise findings from PEDAL's research, alongside links to their latest academic publications. Good source for: Play; Psychology
Full text?	Mixed (depending on material)

Click the link below to access the database:

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project Muse intends to provide networked access to the full text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by several university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Individual titles offered by Project Muse are listed separately in the ejournals@cambridge A-Z
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Coverage & scope	A full text searchable database covering digital humanities and social science. A good source for material on Children's Literature. For more coverage details click here. Good source for: Children's literature; Drama
Full text?	Yes
Help & support	Project Muse guide available here

Click the link below to access the database:

PsycARTICLES (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a source for over 100,000 full-text, peer-reviewed articles from 48 APA journals and from 11 additional journals published by allied organizations. All articles, letters to the editor, and errata in each issue are included. Coverage spans 1894 to present; most APA journals are available from volume one, issue one

Use Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Chromium-based Edge (version 87 & higher) to access this database. (EBSCO no longer supports Internet Explorer (all versions) and Legacy Edge (version 18 & lower))

Coverage & scope	APA PsycArticles is a full-text database of journals published by APA, the Canadian Psychological Association, Hogrefe Publishing Group and APA's Educational Publishing Foundation dating back to 1894. For more coverage details click here. Good source for: Assessment; Counselling; Psychology; Wellbeing/mental health
Full text?	Yes
Specialist features	Includes a highly useful thesaurus to help establish relevant terminology plus introduce new terminology and new areas of research
Help & support	Detailed guidance on the functionality of the database can be found in this guide Video guide to searching the database (uses BEI as an example but the functionality is the same on PsycArticles) Step-by-step guide to searching the database (uses BEI as an example but the functionality is the same on PsycArticles) Instructions on how to set up an account can be found on this guide

The video below uses the British Education Index as an example, but the functionality is the same on PsycArticles

Click the link below to access the database:

PsycBooks (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
PsycBooks, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a source for over 69,000 full-text, peer-reviewed chapters from 4600 scholarly and professional psychology books, including reference works. Coverage spans 1620 to present.

Coverage & scope	PsycBooks, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a source for over 69,000 full-text, peer-reviewed chapters from 4600 scholarly and professional psychology books, including reference works. Coverage spans 1620 to present. For more coverage details click here. Good source for: Assessment; Counselling; Psychology; Wellbeing/mental health
Full text?	YES
Specialist features	Includes a highly useful thesaurus to help establish relevant terminology plus introduce new terminology and new areas of research
Help & support	Video guide to searching the database (uses BEI as an example but the functionality is the same on PsycBooks) Step-by-step guide to searching the database (uses BEI as an example but the functionality is the same on PsycBooks) Instructions on how to set up an account can be found on this guide

Click the link below to access the database:

PsycINFO (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.

Use Firefox, Chrome, Safari, Chromium-based Edge (version 87 & higher) to access this database. (EBSCO no longer supports Internet Explorer (all versions) and Legacy Edge (version 18 & lower))

Coverage & scope	APA PsycINFO is an abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. For more coverage details click here. Good source for: Assessment; Counselling; Psychology; Wellbeing/mental health
Full text?	MIXED - entries either include a PDF option OR a link enabling you to check whether online access is available
Specialist features	Includes a highly useful thesaurus to help establish relevant terminology plus introduce new terminology and new areas of research
Help & support	Detailed guidance on the functionality of the database can be found in this guide Video guide to searching the database (uses BEI as an example but the functionality is the same on PsycINFO) Step-by-step guide to searching the database (uses BEI as an example but the functionality is the same on PsycINFO) Instructions on how to set up an account can be found on this guide

The video below uses the British Education Index as an example, but the functionality is the same on PsycInfo

Click here to access the database:

PsycTESTS (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window

Coverage & scope	A database of psychological tests and measures designed for use with social and behavioral science research. Focused primarily on unpublished tests, this database was designed to save your researchers time from having to reproduce tests when conducting research on previously measured constructs. Good source for: Psychological tests
Full text?	Mixed – some entries include a PDF option
Specialist features	Includes indexes which allow you to browse tests by subject
Help & support	FAQs

Click the link below to access the database:

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources

Coverage & scope	PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Good source for: Counselling; Psychology; Mental health
Full Text?	MIXED PubMed Guide to finding full text articles
Help & Support	PubMed guide available here Instructions on how to save searches can be found on the PubMed Guide

Click the link below to access the database:

Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers

Coverage & scope	Scopus is international in coverage and indexes 16,500 peer-reviewed journals plus book series and conference papers in the fields of Scientific, Technical, Medical and Social Sciences including Arts & Humanities. For more coverage details click here. Good source for: Arts & creativity; Children's literature; Counselling; Education; International development; Medical education; Psychology & education; School leadership; Second language learning
Full text?	No - each entry includes a link enabling you to check whether online access is available
Specialist features	Citation database In addition to enabling you to retrieve high quality academic material using sophisticated and comprehensive search techniques, a citation database enables you to see how many times a previously published paper has been cited in the current literature. Citations are sometimes used as a way to evaluate a piece of work and assess its impact. However, there can be many reasons for citing (negative citations, ethnocentricity, self-citation) and a high citation count does not necessarily indicate that the research is of a high quality.
Help & support	Detailed guidance on the functionality of the database can be found in this guide Instructions on how to set up an account can be found here In-depth tutorials are available from the Scopus Support Section here

Click the link below to access the database:

Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

If prompted to log in, select 'Institutional Access' then select 'UK Federation' from the list, after which you can search for 'University of Cambridge' which will take you to the RAVEN log in page.

Coverage & scope	WoS provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts, humanities and social science journals. Includes the Social Sciences Citation Index which enables you to see how many times an article has been cited. For more coverage details click here. Good source for: Arts & creativity; Children's literature; Counselling; Education; International development; Medical education; Psychology & education; School leadership; Second language learning
Full text?	No - each entry includes a link enabling you to check whether online access is available.
Specialist features	Citation database In addition to enabling you to retrieve high quality academic material using sophisticated and comprehensive search techniques, a citation database enables you to see how many times a previously published paper has been cited in the current literature. Citations are sometimes used as a way to evaluate a piece of work and assess its impact. However, there can be many reasons for citing (negative citations, ethnocentricity, self-citation) and a high citation count does not necessarily indicate that the research is of a high quality.
Help & support	Detailed guidance on the functionality of the database can be found in this guide.

Step 4: Select a database/resource by subject

Use the tabs above to select a database according to your subject area. See the Select a Database/Resource box for details of each of the databases together with help and support. If there is not a tab that relates to your subject area, just contact us (library@educ.cam.ac.uk)

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (incl. in Web of Science Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
British Education Index This link opens in a new window Provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education from sources mostly published in the UK although the BEI does include international literature.
Drama online This link opens in a new window This collection includes scripts to for over 1200 plays, including plays by Henrik Ibsen, Noel Coward, Aeschylus, Yasmina Reza, Tom Stoppard, Sue Townsend and Bertolt Brecht. The scripts can be viewed online, searched by Act or by keyword or printed.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window Literature Online (Lion) includes a collection of over 349,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and critical resources. Literature Online's primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present, American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and English prose from 1500 to 1900, among others. Secondary sources include the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature from 1920 onward, with links to articles in JSTOR, LIFT, a literary journal index with full text of selected articles, the King James Bible, Webster's Dictionary, links to selected Web resources, and biographical information.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project Muse intends to provide networked access to the full text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by several university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Individual titles offered by Project Muse are listed separately in the ejournals@cambridge A-Z
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

British Education Index This link opens in a new window Provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education from sources mostly published in the UK although the BEI does include international literature.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a source for over 100,000 full-text, peer-reviewed articles from 48 APA journals and from 11 additional journals published by allied organizations. All articles, letters to the editor, and errata in each issue are included. Coverage spans 1894 to present; most APA journals are available from volume one, issue one
PsycBooks (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
PsycBooks, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a source for over 69,000 full-text, peer-reviewed chapters from 4600 scholarly and professional psychology books, including reference works. Coverage spans 1620 to present.
PsycINFO (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

British Education Index This link opens in a new window Provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education from sources mostly published in the UK although the BEI does include international literature.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window Source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window Literature Online (Lion) includes a collection of over 349,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and critical resources. Literature Online's primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present, American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and English prose from 1500 to 1900, among others. Secondary sources include the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature from 1920 onward, with links to articles in JSTOR, LIFT, a literary journal index with full text of selected articles, the King James Bible, Webster's Dictionary, links to selected Web resources, and biographical information.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project Muse intends to provide networked access to the full text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by several university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Individual titles offered by Project Muse are listed separately in the ejournals@cambridge A-Z
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Web of Science includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers

British Education Index This link opens in a new window Provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education from sources mostly published in the UK although the BEI does include international literature.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window Source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a source for over 100,000 full-text, peer-reviewed articles from 48 APA journals and from 11 additional journals published by allied organizations. All articles, letters to the editor, and errata in each issue are included. Coverage spans 1894 to present; most APA journals are available from volume one, issue one
PsycBooks (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
PsycBooks, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a source for over 69,000 full-text, peer-reviewed chapters from 4600 scholarly and professional psychology books, including reference works. Coverage spans 1620 to present.
PsycINFO (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (incl. in Web of Science Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Captures the moments before the curtain rises and after the curtain falls, providing valuable insight into the play making process. We share the hidden drama of the weeks, days, and hours before ‘lights up’ on stage. By revealing the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, our documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium.
Drama online This link opens in a new window This collection includes scripts to for over 1200 plays, including plays by Henrik Ibsen, Noel Coward, Aeschylus, Yasmina Reza, Tom Stoppard, Sue Townsend and Bertolt Brecht. The scripts can be viewed online, searched by Act or by keyword or printed.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window Literature Online (Lion) includes a collection of over 349,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and critical resources. Literature Online's primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present, American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and English prose from 1500 to 1900, among others. Secondary sources include the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature from 1920 onward, with links to articles in JSTOR, LIFT, a literary journal index with full text of selected articles, the King James Bible, Webster's Dictionary, links to selected Web resources, and biographical information.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project Muse intends to provide networked access to the full text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by several university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Individual titles offered by Project Muse are listed separately in the ejournals@cambridge A-Z
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

British Education Index This link opens in a new window Provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education from sources mostly published in the UK although the BEI does include international literature.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

African Education Research Database This link opens in a new window
The AERD is a curated collection of research undertaken in the past decade by scholars based in sub-Saharan Africa. The database includes social science research with implications for educational policy and practice, understood in the context of the global priorities and targets expressed in Sustainable Development Goal 4 ‘ensuring inclusive and quality education for all’, and the African Union’s Agenda 2063 and Continental Education Strategy for Africa.
British Education Index This link opens in a new window Provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education from sources mostly published in the UK although the BEI does include international literature.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
OECD Commonwealth iLibrary This link opens in a new window Each year, The Commonwealth publishes around 30 new titles on a range of topics in which it has particular insight and expertise, especially concerning small states, including; globalisation and multilateral trade issues; export and enterprise development education; gender; public service management and reform; law and human rights. For the first time, these publications are now available online in a single research repository. Titles are organised by series, year and alphabetically, and search and discovery of complete publications or even their components – articles and chapters – is a click away.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window OECD iLibrary provides online access to the many publications put out by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Publications include country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, environment, health, migration, social issues, sustainable development and more. It replaces SourceOECD.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a source for over 100,000 full-text, peer-reviewed articles from 48 APA journals and from 11 additional journals published by allied organizations. All articles, letters to the editor, and errata in each issue are included. Coverage spans 1894 to present; most APA journals are available from volume one, issue one
PsycBooks (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
PsycBooks, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a source for over 69,000 full-text, peer-reviewed chapters from 4600 scholarly and professional psychology books, including reference works. Coverage spans 1620 to present.
PsycINFO (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

British Education Index This link opens in a new window Provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education from sources mostly published in the UK although the BEI does include international literature.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window OECD iLibrary provides online access to the many publications put out by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Publications include country studies, forecasting publications, reports, periodicals, and socio-economic databases. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, environment, health, migration, social issues, sustainable development and more. It replaces SourceOECD.

British Education Index This link opens in a new window Provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education from sources mostly published in the UK although the BEI does include international literature.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window Source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
ERIC This link opens in a new window

PEDAL Hub Resource Library This resource library contains a range of short articles, blog pieces and videos to summarise findings from PEDAL's research, alongside links to their latest academic publications.

PsycARTICLES (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a source for over 100,000 full-text, peer-reviewed articles from 48 APA journals and from 11 additional journals published by allied organizations. All articles, letters to the editor, and errata in each issue are included. Coverage spans 1894 to present; most APA journals are available from volume one, issue one
PsycBooks (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
PsycBooks, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a source for over 69,000 full-text, peer-reviewed chapters from 4600 scholarly and professional psychology books, including reference works. Coverage spans 1620 to present.
PsycINFO (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
PsycTESTS (via EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

British Education Index This link opens in a new window Provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education from sources mostly published in the UK although the BEI does include international literature.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

British Education Index This link opens in a new window Provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education from sources mostly published in the UK although the BEI does include international literature.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science (citation indexes) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Study Skills

Education Library: Literature Searching

Planning

Step 1: Identify keywords & phrases

Step 2: Consider language variation

Step 3: Consider the scope of your search

Step 4: Select a database/resource

Step 4: Select a database/resource by subject