Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Criminology: Collections

Institute of Criminology

Collection development
Our Collection Development Policy outlines our mission to support teaching and research in the applied discipline of criminology and our remit in the University and beyond.

History of the library
The Radzinowicz Library of Criminology was established in 1960 and is named after the first Wolfson Professor of Criminology, Sir Leon Radzinowicz (1906-1999). The library houses the most comprehensive criminology collection in the United Kingdom and is internationally recognised as a world-class criminal justice resource. Further information on the history of the Institute and the Library is available in the book Challenging Crime: A Portrait of the Cambridge Institute of Criminology, edited by C. Walston and others, London: Third Millennium, 2009 (classmark in Library: QO65).

Make a recommendation
We welcome recommendations for book purchases from all our users. Please email the Librarian, Stuart Stone, with the details.

The University Library also welcomes recommendations via its website.

Finding books in the Radzinowicz Library
You'll need to know the classmark to find the book you want on the shelf. The MPhil and MSt reading lists include our classmarks when we have hard copies of the books. If you don't have the classmark already, you'll need to find it by looking the book up in the iDiscover catalogue. Library staff are happy to provide assistance in using the catalogue.

The Radzinowicz Library uses an amended in-house version of the Bliss classification scheme. Please remember to check all of the location information in the 'Get it' section of the iDiscover record. Criminology: Radzinowicz Library locations include:

MAIN COLLECTION: The majority of our stock is in the main collection, and is available to borrow for those with borrowing rights.

RESERVE: One day loan, issued at the enquiry desk.

STORE: Most books in the store can be borrowed. Please ask staff to fetch.

WAKEFIELD ROOM: Reference use only: not borrowable. Please ask staff to fetch.

PAMPHLET COLLECTION: Available to borrow for those with borrowing rights.

REFERENCE: Reference use within the library only: not borrowable.

Classmarks prefixed with 'G.' denotes our collection of UK government publications (separate sequence, shelved upstairs, available to borrow for those with borrowing rights)

New books and print journals
New books and print journals are displayed on the book shelves in the comfy seating area near the Librarians' offices. A weekly list of new books and new print journal issues is distributed to members of the Institute (please contact the Librarian if you are not receiving this and would like to).

Online materials
Electronic journals are available via the iDiscover ejournals page. Search for the journal title (not the article title) or use the alphabetical title list. You can find databases in the databases libguide, listed alphabetically, by subject, and by content type.
Ebooks are available in iDiscover or via the ebooks@cambridge libguide, which also has comprehensive guidance on finding, using, and citing electronic books.
 

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy Policy