LibGuides: Korean Studies: Databases on Korea

From A-Z databases

ARTstor (on JSTOR) This link opens in a new window Artstor is JSTOR’s cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million* rights-cleared images from around the world, discoverable alongside JSTOR’s journals, books, and other primary sources on one feature-rich platform.
- This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window A film archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts

DBpia This link opens in a new window Full text database of Korean scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and science. Searching is by title, author, keyword and journal title, and articles are provided in pdf format. Journals are organized into subject categories and coverage is from the first issue published
KRpia This link opens in a new window
Korean studies information service (KISS) This link opens in a new window One of the most important databases for Korean academic journal articles

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window As of October, 2005, the BAS Online contains over 640,000 references to books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc., published from 1971 until the present day. It encompasses the full content of the annual printed volumes of the BAS from the 1971 to the 1991 editions (the 1991 edition was the last volume available in print form).
Country Intelligence Reports on Korea (1941-1961) This link opens in a new window Archives Unbound

Bibliography of East Asian Periodicals (Colonial Korea 1900-1945) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive bibliography contains 913 periodicals from the colonial period (1910-1945), pre-colonial period (1896-1910), and post-colonial period from liberation in 1945 to the establishment of the Republic of Korea (ROK) and the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) in 1948, covering subjects in every field–politics, economy, industry, society, literature, education, religion, women, children, medicine, science, friendship societies, etc.
American proxy wars : Korea and Vietnam : global perspectives, 1946-1975 This link opens in a new window

Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative link (via iDiscover)
Factiva is a database of over 8,000 business and news publications, most in full text. Sources are in 22 languages, date back as far as 1969, and include trade journals, newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, and others), media programs, and company and stock reports. Find information on over 22,000 public and private companies including description, history, current stock quote, financial data, competitors, and the latest news on business activities. Search publications by title, industry, geographic locations, type, and language.
Naver Digital News Archive This link opens in a new window Digital archive of 4 major news papers in South Korea: Kyonghyang Sinmun, Tonga Ilbo, Maeil Kyongje, and Han'gyore. Images and electronic texts are available with full-text search.

Intangible Heritage Digital Archive 무형유산 디지털 아카이브
Archive of Gugak 국악아카이브
Artsnet 미술포탈 아츠넷
Digital Archive of Performing Arts 공연예술 디지털 아카이브
I ntangible Heritage Digital Archive 무형유산 디지털 아카이브
Korea Digital Archives for the Arts 한국예술디지털아카이브
National Museum of Contemporary Art, Korea 국립현대미술관
National Museum of Korea 국립중앙박물관
Seoul Photo Archives 서울사진아카이브
Leiden University North Korean posters (Private collection of Willem van der Bijl)
Modern Popular Songs in the Formative Period 형성기 근대 대중가요 디지털 아카이브, song lists and lyrics

Various types of Korean corpora (e.i. big language data), including newspaper corpus and National Assembly Minutes corpus

A comprehensive database for Korean modern literature. The site provides a search for authors and titles.

한국학 자료 통합 플랫폼 Korean studies resources portal site by 한국학중앙연구원
KORCIS: 한국 고문헌 종합 목록 (국립중앙도서관) Korean Old and Rare Collection Information System
한국 고전 종합 DB Image and text of 조선왕조실록, 승정원일기 and other old texts
近代朝鮮関係書籍データベース (東京大学東洋文化研究所)
한국 잡지 박물관 DB Archive of early 20th century Korean magazines
Academy of Korean Studies [한국학 디지털 아카이브]
Kyujanggak Institute (규장각 한국학 연구원) Seoul National University Kyujanggak Institute for Korean studies
고려대학교 해외한국학자료센터 Information on Korean old resources abroad
朝鮮王朝実録 (東京大学東洋文化研究所)
한국 근현대 영상 아카이브 (고려대학교)
Korean Image Archive (한국 이미지 자료원)
2,400 historic, original photographs of Korea (primarily focus on images captured pre-1970, and 35mm color slides) are available for research, presentation, lectures and other forms of scholarly works.
Sajin Taehan Min'guk (사진 대한민국)
a collection of photographic records that vividly capture the people's daily lives and social changes.

LIbrary of Congress: North Korean collection
Digitalised North Korean serials and monographs
통일부 북한자료센터
Academic resources related to North Korea and search for physical materials in its library in Seoul.
NK News
Latest North Korea news in English

경향신문, 동아일보, 매일경제, 조선일보, 한겨레 archive from 1920 to 1999 with word search service.

Weekly and daily hot topics and trend analysis, search by media and keyword for newspapers since 1990.

한국학술지인용색인 Korea Citation Index
국가법령정보센터 Korean Law Information Center, provides search the latest and official information of Korean law
한국학 영문 용어-용례 사전(AKS) Korean studies English term/usage dictionary 한국학 영문 용어-용례 사전 (AKS 제공)

Provide a simple definition and equivalent English phrases for terms related to Korean studies