The Korean Collections in Cambridge University Library is part of the East Asian collection. It is located in the Aoi Pavilion, together with Chinese and Japanese collections. The collection mainly supports Korean studies resaercu and consists of books about Korea that are written in Korean, Japanese, or Chinese.
Although it is still relatively small, the collection has grown steadily since the 1960s. Significant Korean-language e-resources are now available thanks to the support of the Korea Foundation.
The Bible Society's Library, also located within Cambridge University Library, holds a large number of rare and early translations from the Bible into the Korean language.
Use the library catalogue, iDiscover, to search for books, journals and articles.
If you only want to check what is available in one library then use the location filter.
Cambridge uses a unique classification system for East Asian books. Following is an outline of the classification system for the East Asian language collections(FA, FB, FD, and FE). You may find other items for the closed stacks by checking iDiscover or another catalogue for the Japanese collection.
Browse the open stack items in the East Asian Reading Room and the open stacks on the ground floor of the Aoi Pavilion. Request items from the basement and closed stacks in the East Asian Reading Room. Please note that some old or fragile materials may be moved from open stacks into closed storage as necessary.
FA The Far East in general (Aoi basement)
FE Korea and Other parts of the Far East (Aoi basement)
FK Korea and Other parts of the Far East (closed)
FN Korean paperbacks (closed)
You can search the Library catalogue in both English and Korean.
Searching by romanisation is recommended although searching by Korean is also possible. Some old cataloguing records do not contain the original Korean script. The Korean search has to use exact scripts of hangul and hanja.
Guide to the romanization of Korean. by Offers a single search of KERIS Union catalogue of Korean journal articles, and theses and dissertations that are held by universities and college libraries in Korea.
National information database linking 9 major Korean national library catalogues
E-resources from the National Assembly Library, including government documents
Access to over 350 million bibliographic records from hundreds of libraries, including holdings information from libraries in 25000 libraries worldwide.
Search a database of 178 UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues
The Library collection continues to attract the interest of scholars in both Europe and Korea. Some of early bibles have been digitised and can be viewed in the Cambridge Digital Library.
