Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Help

Resources for My Subject

Architecture & History of Art: Equality & Diversity

Student Info. Corner

This corner is dedicated to providing you with information on various procedures across the university, whether you are looking to intermit, query exam results, or have been unwell and want to check your fitness to study.  Each particular will take you through to related webpages. We also keep hard copies of each in the library for you to consult.

Undergraduates

Thinking of intermitting?

Want to review your exam results?

Worried you're not fit to study?

Postgraduates

Not well and thinking of intermitting?

Worried you're not fit to study?

Want to review your exam results?

Want to know the procedure for supervisions?

Concerned about plagiarism?

General

Student complaints

Students' Union Advice Service

Extension of submission dates

Student Complaints following COVID-19 during 2020-21


Architecture Handbooks

Undergraduate Handbook 2021-2022

MAUS Handbook 2019-2020

History of Art Handbook

Undergraduate Handbook 2021-2022

Online Training & Resources

University of Cambridge initiatives, including support, networks, and training, see the University’s Equality and Diversity pages: www.equality.admin.cam.ac.uk/

Online Training (Cambridge users only) 

Equality and Diversity Essentials 

Understanding Unconscious or Implicit Bias 

Other Links 

University Equality and Diversity 

Inclusive Cambridge 

Dignity @ Work Policy 

Cambridge University Students’ Union 

University Staff Networks (including LBGT+, Women Staff, Parents and Carers) 

Disability Resource Centre 

Breaking the Silence – preventing harassment and sexual misconduct 

WellCam 

Human Resources policies and procedures (including maternity, paternity, adoption, parental leave, shared parental leave, returning carer’s scheme, compassionate leave) 

University Childcare Office 

Collaborating with Men (ground-breaking research conducted by Murray Edwards College to establish how men and women can work together to transform workplace culture barriers to women’s progress into leadership positions. )  

The Black Advisory Hub hosts a range of resources to support students, including academic, welfare, financial and career support. 

CUSU produced many guides including ‘Disabled Students’ 101’ , ‘Trans Inclusion Guide’ etc.

Cambridge Decolonisation Hub, recently created by Joe Cotton who is a member of the Race Equality Network committee. If you know about working groups and initiatives working on decolonisation in your faculty that are not on this website, feel free to email Joe, it is very much work in progress.

Slavery, Law and Power in Early America and British Empire project has interesting timelines and maps, as well as the links to

Art & Architecture-related databases & websites: 

Colonial Caribbean: CO Files from The National Archives, UK 

Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African Diaspora

Slave Voyages: explore the origins and forced relocations of enslaved africans across the Atlantic world  

National Trust: addressing our histories of colonialism and historic slavery  

General Databases which contain related information and resources (go to iDiscover Databases A-Z for access):

  • Art & Architecture ePortal  

  • Artstor  

  • Avery  

  • Bibliography of History of Art  

  • British Periodicals  

  • Cambridge Journals Online  

  • DAAI  

  • Haithi Trust  

  • Heidelberger Historische Bestände  

  • International Bibliography of Art  

  • Oxford Art Online  

  • Oxford Bibliographies - art history  

  • Oxford Very Short Introductions  

  • WorldCat  

  • ZETOC  

African Studies databases

Watch, Read & Listen

TV David Olusoga’s Black and British https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b084ndpt    

LISTEN/WATCH Jim Endersby, ‘Gardens of Empire: The Role of Kew and Colonial Botanic Gardens’, Gresham College lecture, 2 December 2019, https://www.gresham.ac.uk/lectures-and-events/gardens-of-empire and see https://www.kew.org/read-and-watch/botany-trade-empire   

RADIO BBC Radio 4’s In Our Time on ‘Imperial Science’, at https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p00547b5  

ONLINE EXHIBITION 'The Botany of Empire in the Long Eighteenth Century' https://www.doaks.org/resources/online-exhibits/botany-of-empire 

POEM Derek Walcott, ‘The Sea is History’ OPEN ACCESS  

BOOK 'Dismantling the Master’s House: Thoughts on Representing Empire and Decolonising Museums and Public Spaces in Practice: An Introduction' OPEN ACCESS 

THESIS Stephen Johnston, ‘Mathew Baker and the Art of the Shipwright’, in ‘Making Mathematical Practice: Gentlemen, Practitioners and Artisans in Elizabethan England’ (doctoral thesis, University of Cambridge, 1994) OPEN ACCESS  

© Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Log into LibApps | Report a problem