Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for My Subject

Architecture & History of Art: History of Art

Header panel for the history of art page. Click to open the history of art department's own website.

 

 

 

Opening Times

Monday-Friday, 9.30am-5.30pm

(1hr closure between 12.30-1.30pm for lunch & ventilation)

Please contact us in advance if you wish to consult rare items or dissertations.

check for updates

Contact Us

library@aha.cam.ac.uk

(01223) 332953

@ahalibcam

ahalibrary

Lending Policy

undergraduates

5 books/7 days

postgraduates & academics

10 books/28 days

Fines

overnight

£1/item/day

recalled

£1/item/day

 

 

 

 

Use iDiscover to search for print and online books, journals, articles and online databases. If you only want to check what is available in one library then use the location filter. You can also access your library account on iDiscover to check and renew your loans.

 Click this logo to open iDiscover

 

 

undefined

The Artstor Digital Library provides access to 2.5+ million images of the world’s cultural heritage, all rights-cleared for use in education. The 280+ collections feature visual media from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists.

undefined

This is a scholarly art encyclopedia. You can search for thousands of articles and images by movements, locations, and periods. The subscription includes access to the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. 

undefined

This database cross searches over 12,000 journal titles. It focuses on scholarly literature on Western Art.

undefined

Articles written and reviewed by academic experts on key subjects in art history, with recommendations for further reading.

New Resources !

undefined

Delve into art and architectural history in a new way. . . .  The A&AePortal (www.aaeportal.com) is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. With innovative functionality and extensive metadata, the site includes many out-of-print titles, key backlist, and recent releases from some of the world’s finest academic and museum publishers.  Watch the trailer or review the brochure to learn more about this exciting new resource.

undefined

Bloomsbury International Encyclopedia of Surrealism is an exclusive digital resource presenting the first comprehensive and systematic overview of one of the most influential and enduring 20th-century art movements, from its beginnings to the present day.

Featuring a 3-volume major reference work, interactive timeline and rare archive images, portraits and artworks, this resource will be invaluable for academics and students in Art History/Theory, French Studies, Film Studies, Literary Studies, Photography and Visual Culture as well as Design/Fashion, Cultural History and Social/Cultural/Political Theory.

Cambridge Libraries

University Library

Fitzwilliam Museum Reference Library (book an appointment - usually available Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday)

Hamilton Kerr Institute (book an appointment - usually available Monday and Thursday. Some items can be sent for consultation at the Fitz)

College libraries (we recommend you email the library beforehand) e.g. Pembroke College Tom Rosenthal collection

London Libraries

National Art Library at the V&A: https://www.vam.ac.uk/info/national-art-library
The British Library: http://www.bl.uk/
Warburg Institute Library: http://warburg.sas.ac.uk/library/
National Portrait Gallery Library: http://www.npg.org.uk/research/archive/library.php
Library of the Society of Antiquaries of London: http://www.sal.org.uk/library/
Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art Library: http://www.paul-mellon-centre.ac.uk/collections/library
  • Flickr Commons Access to many of the world's public photography archives. Participants include the National Galleries of Scotland, the Smithsonian Institution, the Library of Congress, and New York Public Library.
  • Wikimedia Commons Media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content. Includes images, and sound and video clips. 

 

 

Recent Acquisitions

 

Email us

Contact:

The Library

Faculty of Architecture & HIstory of Art

Cambridge University

1-5 Scroope Terrace

Cambridge

CB2 1PX

Tel.: (01223) 332953



 

Click here to open Spacefinder: helping students find their ideal study space


©2021 Cambridge University Libraries | Accessibility | Privacy policy | Login to LibApps | Report a problem