Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anthropology and Archaeology
There are many specialist print and online resources for Anthropology and Archaeology in Cambridge. In these pages you will find:
- details of relevant collections and how to recommend resources
- help with how to research a topic
- information on referencing
- information on electronic resources (2nd box in central column of this page)
Finding books and journals
Use the library catalogue, iDiscover, to search for books, journals and articles. If you only want to check what is available in one library then use the location filter.
Anthropology of this Century (AOTC)
AOTC publishes reviews of recent works in anthropology and related disciplines, as well as occasional feature articles. Open access.
Worldwide index of anthropological material in journals from the early 19th century to today.
Archaeology Data Service
Map- and keyword-searchable database of UK sites and finds
British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography
Bibliographic references - many with abstracts - covering all aspects of archaeology and the historic environment, and every chronological period, with a geographical focus on Britain and Ireland.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Anthropology (CEA)
Continuously growing teaching and learning resource, hosted at the University of Cambridge. Steered by Cambridge's Department of Social Anthropology; many of its entries are written by anthropologists within the Department. Open access.
eHRAF World cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters from 1951 to date
International Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Reference resource for the field of anthropology and interrelated areas
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
The world's largest collection of digital social science data -- a *data archive* of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Oxford Bibliographies: Anthropology
An evaluative guide to books, journal articles and other types of publication in anthropology
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of Science
Index of journal articles. Includes _Social sciences citation index_ and _Arts and humanities citation index_ -- useful for tracking the impact of articles
ejournals & eresources : news, advice and updates on new content from the ejournals@cambridge team for the University of Cambridge
For questions about e-resources, (journals, ebooks, databases) see these Frequently Asked Questions. Please also feel free to get in touch with the Haddon Library team (firstname.lastname@example.org)
Locating print collections
You can find specialist print resources and library help via the Haddon Library of Archaeology and Anthropology.
There are many other libraries in Cambridge which may also hold useful collections for your subject.
Balfour and Newton Libraries
On the New Museums site, across the road from the Haddon, and another place to look for current genetics textbooks
Earth Sciences Library
Next door to the Haddon physically, and much used by archaeologists
Marshall Library of Economics
Serves the Faculty of Economics and the Centre of Development Studies, and is useful for Archaeology and Anthropology. Sidgwick Site
Seeley History Library
One of the largest libraries in Cambridge, and much used beyond its primary role in the History Faculty. Sidgwick Site
The other library within HSPS, the Social and Political Sciences Library. The collections are now housed in the Seeley History Library.