LibGuides: Asian and Middle Eastern Studies: Subscription-based Online Resources

Online resources - East Asia

CiNii Articles (Japanese) This link opens in a new window
CiNii Books (Japanese) This link opens in a new window
IRDB : International Repositories Database This link opens in a new window
JapanKnowledge Plus This link opens in a new window (Accessible on or off campus.) Portal to Japanese encyclopaedias, dictionaries, databases. Includes Nihon Kokugo Dai Jiten (N), the largest Japanese language dictionary, and Kokushi Dai Jiten (K), 古事類苑 (Koji Ruien) with “search” function and the whole 古典文学ライブラリー, 日本人物文献目録 and 日本架空伝承人名事典 . It also includes full text online articles from 週刊エコノミスト including the latest issue published on Mondays.
- This link opens in a new window
J-STAGE This link opens in a new window Leading scholarly ejournals from Japan
Nikkei Telecom 21 This link opens in a new window (Available on and off campus.) Business database covering Nihon Keizai Shinbun and other related publications. The service includes full text search of Nikkei's four business newspapers, company information search, Who's Who search and Time Nikkei flash news. There is an English menu which provides not only round-the-clock Nikkei news translated from the Nikkei's newspapers but also full contents of the Nikkei Weekly. Not searchable by keyword from text.
Yomidasu Rekishikan This link opens in a new window Only previous day's and older articles from the Yomiuri Shinbun are accessible online via this service. Available on and off campus (with Raven password). On the first screen, choose “Heisei” then in the search screen, choose “一致” instead of “範囲” in the 検索期間（search period） box and then add the date of the previous day (yesterday).
- This link opens in a new window

For more online resources please connect to FAMES Library website.

CHANT (Chinese Ancient Texts) Database 新漢達文庫 This link opens in a new window ACCESSIBLE from machines with IP addresses within the cam.ac.uk domain ONLY. Provides full-text access (single words, phrases and sentence patterns) to all traditional texts from the Pre-Han (pre 220AD) period up to the Six Dynasties (581 AD). Also includes databases of excavated wood/bamboo and silk scripts (the Zhu-jian-bo shu database), oracular inscriptions (the Jiaguwen database, and bronze inscriptions (Jinwen). Includes a database of extant Chinese encyclopedias (Leishu).
China Academic Journals Database 中国知网期刊库 This link opens in a new window 2 simultaneous users only. Full-text access to 4 collections only (Economics and Management; Education and Social Sciences; Literature, History and Philosophy; Economics, Politics and Law)
China Digital Library 中华数字书苑 This link opens in a new window Accessible from CAM DOMAIN only. It comprises five full text databases: 1. EBook Database comprising:　电子图书 (Ebooks) (144,670 titles); 国学要览 (Ancient Books) (6,294 titles); Beijing Review (1958-2008) (2,325 issues) 2. Newspaper Database (10 titles), 3. Reference Database (10 titles), 4. Yearbook Database (10 titles), 5. Fine Arts Database (1 category)You will be prompted to download a software to be able to access the database. We have downloaded this software on all computers in the Computer Room in FAMES Library.
Duxiu 读秀 This link opens in a new window ACCESSIBLE from machines with IP addresses within the cam.ac.uk domain ONLY. A huge content-based database with very flexible searches (full-text, books, articles, theses, web pages, newspapers). Contains over 2 million full-text Chinese e-books and many of the articles.
North China Herald 北华捷报 This link opens in a new window The fully text-searchable North China Herald is the prime printed source for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to 1940s. No other newspaper existed over such an extended period, and covers it in such incredible depth and variety.
Oxford Bibliographies: Chinese Studies This link opens in a new window
Sinica Sinoweb 中研院經典人文學刊 This link opens in a new window ACCESSIBLE from machines with IP addresses within the cam.ac.uk domain ONLY. It contains full-text searchable contents of the following academic journals.中央研究院历史语言研究所集刊 (1928-)中央研究院中国文哲研究集刊 (1991-)中央研究院近代史研究所集刊 (1969-)中央研究院近代中国妇女史研究 (1993-)中央研究院口述历史期刊 (1989-)中央研究院近代中国史研究通讯 (1986-)中央研究院台湾人类学刊 (2003-)中央研究院台湾史研究 (1994-)汉学研究 (1983-)思与言 (1963-)食货月刊 (1971-88)鹅湖学志 (1988-)鹅湖月刊 (1975-)
Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) 台灣電子期刊服務網 This link opens in a new window ACCESSIBLE from machines with IP addresses within the cam.ac.uk domain. For machines outside the University members may use their RAVEN password to login.TEPS offers an archive of several hundred Taiwanese periodicals in various subjects, including natural and applied sciences, medicine, the humanities, and social sciences. Full texts can be downloaded in PDF format. One can browse by title. Make sure to use the search button provided; the enter button will not give results.

For more suggested online resources please connect to FAMES Library website or the University Library's Chinese Department website.

KRpia This link opens in a new window provides full text databases including more than 862,000 articles of 1,181 Korean scholarly journals in 12 different fields of society, literature, economics & business, medical science, humanities, theology, law & administration, arts, engineering, natural science, and education. All the back issues of each journal title are available and title, author, keyword, journal title and publisher searchable.
DBpia This link opens in a new window
provides full text databases including more than 862,000 articles of 1,181 Korean scholarly journals in 12 different fields of society, literature, economics & business, medical science, humanities, theology, law & administration, arts, engineering, natural science, and education. All the back issues of each journal title are available and title, author, keyword, journal title and publisher searchable.

For more online resources please connect to FAMES Library website.

Images from East Asia

Recommend an e-resource

Cambridge University Library (UL)
New e-resources should be recommended to the University Library rather than to the Faculty Library.

E-resource Help

For questions about e-resources, (journals, ebooks, databases) see these Frequently Asked Questions. Please also feel free to get in touch with your subject specialist librarian.

E-resource Blog

e-resource blog

journals & eresources : news, advice and updates on new content from the ejournals@cambridge team for the University of Cambridge

Online resources - Middle East

Arabic manuscripts online This link opens in a new window These manuscripts are part of the Wellcome Library's Asian Collection, which comprises some 12,000 manuscripts and 4,000 printed books in 43 different languages. The Islamic holdings include Arabic and Persian manuscripts and printed books, and a small collection of Ottoman manuscripts and Turkish books. The core of these collections relates to the great heritage of classical medicine, preserved, enlarged and commentated on throughout the Islamic world, stretching from Southern Spain to South and South-east Asia.
Brockelmann Online This link opens in a new window Brockelmann Online consists of both original volumes Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann (1868-1956), as well as the three supplement volumes, including the indexes. Brockelmann’s Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period.Fully searchable.
Early Western Korans Online This link opens in a new window ACCESSIBLE from machines with IP addresses within the cam.ac.uk domain. For machines outside the University members may use their RAVEN password to login.
Encyclopaedia of the Qu'ran This link opens in a new window ACCESSIBLE from machines with IP addresses within the cam.ac.uk domain. For machines outside the University members may use their RAVEN password to login.
Encyclopedia of Arabic language & linguistics This link opens in a new window Covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches in order to be as objective and versatile as possible. The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online is cross-searchable and cross-referenced, and is equipped with a browsable index.
Encyclopaedia of Islam (3rd edition) This link opens in a new window ACCESSIBLE from machines with IP addresses within the cam.ac.uk domain. For machines outside the University members may use their RAVEN password to login.
Fihrist: Islamic Manuscripts Catalogue Online This link opens in a new window This catalogue provides a searchable interface to basic manuscript descriptions from some of the major manuscript collections in the UK. With the continuing contribution of manuscript records from UK libraries, Fihrist aims to become a union catalogue for manuscripts in Arabic script. Fihrist was first developed by the OCIMCO project, with the aim of improving access to the valuable Islamic texts held in the Bodleian Libraries, Oxford and Cambridge University Library.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window ACCESSIBLE from machines with IP addresses within the cam.ac.uk domain. For machines outside the University members may use their RAVEN password to login. International classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world (monographs, articles and reviews)
Kotobarabia database This link opens in a new window A compendium of early works of an astounding variety of disciplines from important Arab writers, spanning fields from feminism and social theory, to classics of literature, history, and the sciences. Includes works by the Four Imams of the Sunni Sect, the Al Azhar Modern Sheikhs, various authors of the Modern Arab Enlightenment, and rare works by the former Egyptian royal family. Consisting mostly of historic texts, the books in this collection are full-image, with searchable metadata only.
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Arabic dictionary This link opens in a new window

For more online resources please connect to F AMES Library website or the Cambridge University Library's Near and Middle Eastern Department.

Encyclopaedia Iranica

Encyclopedia of Hebrew language and linguistics This link opens in a new window It covers all aspects of Jewish history and culture in the Diaspora and in Israel. ACCESSIBLE from machines with IP addresses within the cam.ac.uk domain. For machines outside the University members may use their RAVEN password to login.
Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window ACCESSIBLE from machines with IP addresses within the cam.ac.uk domain. For machines outside the University members may use their RAVEN password to login. It covers all aspects of Jewish history and culture in the Diaspora and in Israel.
Ma'agarim: the Hebrew Language Historical Dictionary Project This link opens in a new window The dictionary now covers thousands of Hebrew works from the Dead Sea Scrolls to the eleventh century, and is constantly being expanded. It can be used to search for all occurrences of a Hebrew root, work, form, or expression, in all or some subset of the corpus. The texts can be read online in full, according to the best manuscripts, long with variant versions and bibliography.
Responsa Project This link opens in a new window The world's largest electronic collection of Torah literature. It encompasses the best of the Jewish sources representing a period of over three thousand years of heritage and tradition. The database includes the Bible and its principal commentaries, the Talmud Bavli and Talmud Yerushalmi with commentaries, Midrash, Zohar, Halachic Law (Rambam, Shulchan Aruch with commentaries), a large Responsa collection of questions and answers ('Shut' in Hebrew), the Talmudic Encyclopedia etc.
The Bar Ilan Responsa Project is the world's largest electronic collection of Torah literature of its kind. The project which has become the most valid and professional tool of Torah Literature, began more than 40 years ago.

For more online resources please connect to FAMES Library website or the Cambridge University Library's Near and Middle Eastern Department webpage.

Resources for My Subject

Asian and Middle Eastern Studies: Subscription-based Online Resources

Online resources at Cambridge