Skip to main content

Resources for My Subject

Psychology: Home

We have a superb collection including rare books and the bequest from John MacCurdy. The major subject categories of the collection are: Psychopathology, experimental, developmental, comparative, cognitive, behavioural, abnormal, social psychology ...

Psychology Collections in Cambridge


Welcome to the subject guide for PsychologyThere are many specialist print and online resources for Psychology in Cambridge. These pages give you an overview of the resources and research support that libraries can offer.

The Department of Psychology Library, housed in the main Psychology building on the Downing Site, has a first class collection of print resources and is a quiet and comfortable place to work. The MacCurdy Psychopathology Library is a small separate library based on the books bequeathed by Dr John Thomson MacCurdy, Cambridge University Lecturer in Psychopathology from 1923-1947. John Forrester and Laura Cameron, in their recent book Freud in Cambridge, describe it as "a remarkable collection of early twentieth-century psychoanalytic works."

 Links to other useful libraries for Psychology students and researchers can be found below.

Answering your questions

Online Resources

Annual Reviews

Get in touch if you would like to arrange a one-to-one session on using specific

Each year, Annual Reviews critically review the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of their field and help them keep up to date in their area of research

Loading ...

If your search is successful, check the coverage dates (given just below the title). If the relevant year is covered, click on the active link provided and navigate to the article.

Where the relevant year is not covered by an ejournal, carry out an Exact search of the journal title in IDISCOVER to discover print holdings in Cambridge libraries.

If your search of online and print holdings is unsuccessful, contact the Library (library@psychol.cam.ac.uk) to use the document delivery service.

If you are searching for an unknowing item, use the abstract and indexing databases to carry out a general subject search. 

If you are doing a literature review, read the Psychology Library's Literature Review page for useful tips and links to helpful books.

Undergraduates

Check your Moodle course site for scans of articles recommended on reading lists, where the University does not have access to the online version. If your search is unsuccessful, contact the Library (library@psychol.cam.ac.uk)

To browse the Psychology collection, click on the link to Psychology at the top of the Oxford Handbooks Online homepage.

Click on 'Browse by subject' and you will find a link to VSO Psychology and Neuroscience books under 'Science and Mathematics'.If you create a personal profile (top right) you can annotate VSI content. Further details here.

Loading ...

Download Lean Library browser extension. (Learn more about)

Step 1. Choose the 'Institution/Your Institution' login option.
Step 2. Select UK Higher Education as your region or group.
Step 3. Select University of Cambridge from the list.
You will then be prompted for your Raven login.

Loading ...

Library Support

Training

Get in touch if you would like to arrange a one-to-one session on using specific resources, or with improving your searching skills. Contact library@psychol.cam.ac.uk.