Skip to main content

Philosophy: Resources for researchers


There are more than 100 libraries across the University. You may use and borrow from most of these.

During vacations you may also use other University libraries through the SCONUL access scheme.

Tools for researchers

Reference Management tools

File Syncing Programs

Read-later and archiving

Notetaking & writing

Journal content alerts

RSS feed readers

There is also a guide to more research tools.

Welcome to the guide for philosophy researchers at the University of Cambridge. Here you'll find links to a whole range of useful services and resources for your research. You may also find this how to conduct a literature review guide useful.

Finding books and journals 
iDiscover is a resource discovery tool that searches books,  ejournals, ebooks and databases. You could also use the library catalogue, Newton if you prefer.

Finding Philosophy eresources
This provides links to the main philosophy databases which cover philosophical journals and books, as well as A-Z lists of databases and ejournals.

Finding theses and dissertations
This provides links to databases giving details of UK and international dissertations. There are also MPhil theses and extended essays available at the Issue desk to consult in the library.

Finding special collections
Janus is the search engine for the University of Cambridge archives. The University holds the papers of various Cambridge philosophers including Wittgenstein, Moore, Ramsay and Sidgwick. The Directory of HPS-related special collections also lists the locations of papers of a number of philosophers.

How to reference
Guide to referencing and citation tools.

How to keep up to date with new publications
Tools such as alerts and RSS feeds.

Useful websites for researchers

Find books & eresources

All libraries Philosophy

Or try the library catalogue, Newton.

Open access

Accepted for publication? Upload your manuscript to Cambridge's repository,  Apollo to make it open access and eligible for the next REF!

upload fileUpload my paper

The Open Access team will check funder and journal policies and advise on how to comply with funder requirements.

Training for graduate students

There is plenty of training and support available for researchers at the university. The following links will help you find the courses available: