LibGuides: Criminology: Getting started with Criminology

Databases
Tips on using online resources

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of U.S. and international criminal justice literature including scholarly journals, books, dissertations, governmental and non-governmental studies and reports, unpublished papers, magazines, newsletters and other materials. In addition to criminal justice and criminology, topics covered include criminal law and procedure, corrections and prisons, police and policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences and investigation, history of crime, substance abuse and addiction, and probation and parole.
Encyclopedia of criminology and criminal justice This link opens in a new window
Covers Criminology and Criminal Justice in ten broad areas, with leading researchers writing substantive contributions within their area of expertise. This work features approximately 600 entries, organized in alphabetical order.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references, and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive.
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. A "methods map" facilitates finding content on methods. SAGE Research Methods contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and "Little Blue Book” series. Includes a collection of case studies of real social research.

If you are not finding the results you need or think you should be getting, the search may just need a little bit of tweaking. You may need to think of other ways to define your search terms or structure your topic. You might need to add limits or filters to refine your search results. Please access online resources using the links on the Radzinowicz Library's online resources page. may need to exclude items/topics from your search and there may be access issues that need explaining. Perhaps another resource may be more appropriate for your search.

Most catalogues and databases provide their own very useful help pages and tips.

Please ask Library staff for help. We are always happy to provide assistance and we can arrange sessions to look at any aspect of using Library resources. We also have a number of guides already available. Please ask for further details. We can be contacted in the library, by email criminology@lib.cam.ac.uk or by telephone + 44(0)1223 335386. We will get back to you as soon as we can.

Locating print collections
Please ask the Radzinowicz Library staff if you need help finding material in the library or for any other criminology enquiries.

Many other Cambridge libraries also hold useful collections for your subject.

We recommend:

Squire Law Library, Sidgwick Site

University Library, West Road

SPS (Social and Political Sciences) Library, New Museums Site

Psychology Library, Downing Site

The iDiscover catalogue can be used to search all print and online content available to you as a member of the University.
Using the search box above, type a few words from the book, journal, or article title (you can restrict your search using the Criminology Library button).
If the content you require is available online "full-text available" should appear in your results.
Ensure that you login via Raven first to see all content available to you online via the University.
For help using iDiscover please see the video tutorials on YouTube or the iDiscover LibGuide for searching and account management advice.
See the 'Researching a Topic' tab for further details on searching.

Resources for My Subject

Criminology: Getting started with Criminology