Skip to main content

Subject Guides

Asian and Middle Eastern Studies: Home

Asian and Middle Eastern Studies Collections in Cambridge

The Faculty Library contains around 70,000 monograph volumes, around 74 current journals and 1,600 DVDs. It is primarily an English (and European) language collection but there are many publications in the various Asian & Middle Eastern languages taught in the Faculty which may be of interest to researchers. The subject content includes the languages, literature, history, philosophy, art and archaeology  and politics, social anthropology of Asia and the Middle East from earliest times to the present.  The regional scope of the Library's print, media and online collections includes China, Japan, Korea and Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent (but not South-East Asia), and the Middle East (including publications on Islamic North Africa.)

Research collections published in the various Asian and Middle Eastern languages are collected by the specialist departments at the University Library.

CLICK ON THE BLUE MENU BARS ABOVE FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT RESOURCES IN YOUR SUBJECT AREA AND HOW TO SEARCH FOR THEM.

Finding books, journals and articles

Use iDiscover (the union catalogue of Cambridge University libraries) to search for print and online books, journals and articles. If you only want to check what is available in one library then use the location filter. Searchable in vernacular scripts!

 iDiscover logo

Library images

Contact Subject librarian

Francoise Simmons
Contact:
Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies Library,
Sidgwick Avenue,
Cambridge
CB3 9DA
01223 335111
Website / Blog Page