It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are many specialist print and online resources for Physics in Cambridge. These pages give you an overview of the resources and research support that libraries can offer.
What's on this guide?
On this guide, you'll find:
Information about and access to physic resources , both print and online, that you have access to in Cambridge
Details of other libraries that might be relevant to your study or research
How to recommend books and other resources that you think will be useful
Open Access means making published research freely available to anyone with an internet connection rather than keeping this work behind a subscription paywall. Research can be shared either through the deposit of work in a repository or by publishing in a journal that makes the work freely available immediately.
Open Access has many benefits: it results in more exposure and higher citation rates for researchers, practitioners can access outputs and researchers can comply with grant rules.
More information about Open Access can be found here. The Open Access team can be contacted here.
Library online catalogue, iDiscover
If you're looking for a specific item, the easiest way to track it down is by using the library catalogue, iDiscover. Type a few words from the book or book chapter or journal or journal article title into the search box. If the item is available online then you should be able to get to it directly by clicking the relevant publisher link. If it isn't online, then iDiscover will tell you where the hard copy can be found.
If you're looking for items on a given topic, add a few keywords to the search box on iDiscover. Be careful with your search terms, and try synonyms if you're not getting the results you hoped for.
Astrophysics Data SystemThis link opens in a new windowThe Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project which maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 4.8 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and ArXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsThis link opens in a new windowContains tables of physical, chemical, and other scientific data, including: basic units and conversion factors; symbols and terminology; physical constants of organic compounds; properties of elements and inorganic compounds; thermochemistry, electrochemistry and kinetics; fluid properties; biochemistry, analytical chemistry, molecular structure, and spectroscopy; atomic, molecular, and optical physics; nuclear and particle physics; properties of solids; polymer properties; geophysics, astronomy, and acoustics; mathematical tables.
Data Citation IndexThis link opens in a new windowSelect Data Citation Index from the "Select a database" dropdown on the Web of Science platform
Provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation. These connections allow researchers to efficiently access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output, to maximize research efforts and accurately assess importance.
FirstSearchThis link opens in a new windowOCLC index of articles from the contents pages of journals.
The series comprises articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods in all sciences concerned with the structure and properties of materials. Emphasis is given to symmetry, diffraction methods and techniques of crystal structure determination, and the physical and chemical properties of crystals.
MathSciNetThis link opens in a new windowMathSciNet, produced by the American Mathematical Society, is a searchable database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. MathSciNet includes biblographic data and reviews from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications and covers approximately 1,800 current serials and journals.
Oxford Reference OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the award-winning Core Collection.
PQDT (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Abstracting & Indexing Service)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. Access is to the abstracts only. Full text can either be purchased online via ProQuest directly, or by contacting the Inter-Library Loans dept: E-mail: email@example.com
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowScienceDirect provides access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier Science.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowScopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature as well as the research literature of the social sciences and humanities. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive. Compatible with IE8 or higher, Google Chrome and Firefox browsers
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
WorldCatThis link opens in a new windowWorldCat is a union (i.e. collective) catalog of records of any type of material (books, periodicals, scores, films, recordings, etc.) cataloged by over 41,000 OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries, primarily but not exclusively, from libraries in the United States, but extending to 82 other nations. There are more than 47 million records in the WorldCat database, whose scope includes everything from Babylonian inscriptions to e-books. This database is used to verify citations of items not found in the HOLLIS Catalog, possibly to find a local holding library, or to provide accurate citations for interlibrary loan requests. OCLC adds evaluative content to WorldCat bibliographic records such as tables of contents, cover art, book summaries, and notes about authors. A search for archives and manuscripts should include ArchivesUSA and Archive Grid (both Harvard Libraries E-Resources) as well as WorldCat.
ZETOCThis link opens in a new windowAccess to over 30,000 journals and more than 52 million article citations and conference papers