The Libraries collections of Archives, Modern and Medieval Manuscripts and University Archives contain a wide range of material, from important medieval manuscripts to collections of personal papers and those of various institutions. It includes scientific collections, business archives, the records of the University and political papers. Cambridge University PhD theses are also held by the department.

All archives, modern and Medieval manuscripts and University Archives are consulted in the Manuscripts Reading Room. Bible Society manuscripts and archives, manuscript items and photographs from the Royal Commonwealth Society collections and Near and Middle Eastern and South Asian manuscripts are also consulted in the Manuscripts Reading Room Room, though these collections have their own specialist departments. 

Readers intending to use the Library for the first time should contact Reader Registration. 

If you are planning to visit us, and particularly if you have limited time, we recommend contacting us in advance via email (mss@lib.cam.ac.uk).  We can ensure the items you wish to see are available and also have them fetched and waiting for you when you visit. 

Items can also be ordered at the staff desk using the order slips provided.  Items will be fetched as quickly as possible, but at busy times, and especially in the summer months, some delay may be unavoidable. Fetching is suspended between 12:45 and 14:00; orders for items required during that time should be handed in before 12:30. Fetching finishes for the day at 18.20. 

You are welcome to bring a camera to photograph the items you are working on, subject to condition and copyright.

Monday-Friday 9.30-18.50
Saturday 9.30-16.30 

Department of Archives and Modern Manuscripts 
Cambridge University Library
West Road, Cambridge, CB3 9DR

mss@lib.cam.ac.uk
01223 333143