Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physical and Digital Collections

Chadwyck-Healey Liberation Collection, 1944-1946 (University Library): Home

The Liberation Collection is a comprehensive collection of books and pamphlets in French on the subjects of WWII, the Occupation and the Liberation published during a period of just over two years. The collection is held at Cambridge University Library.

The Collection

The Liberation Collection is a comprehensive collection of books and pamphlets in French on the subjects of the Second World War, the Occupation and the Liberation published during a period of just over two years, from August 1944 to the end of 1946.

The purpose of the collection is to show how the French used the medium of the book to express what had happened to them over the previous five years but the decision to collect everything published on three broad subjects within a limited period provides an unique opportunity to survey the state of book publishing and printing in France at a time when the country was just beginning its long recovery.

Find out more

Find out more about the Chadwyck-Healey Liberation Collection by visiting the UL French collections webpages.

You can join the Liberation collection Facebook group and browse the Flickr album.

Please contact Irene Fabry-Tehranchi          or Mel Bach with any queries.

Blog

Loading ...

Search the Catalogue

As a starting point, you can type 'Chadwyck' and a keyword in iDiscover.

More detailed guidelines about how to search the collection can be found on the UL webpages.

The Collection

liberation
untitled
liberation untitled
liberation untitled

Images from the collection

Loading ...