Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to this guide
LGBTQ+ studies is an emerging field of scholarship. The sources in this guide offer an entry point to resources and collections across the University of Cambridge that focus on various aspects of LGBTQ+ studies. This is, however, an interdisciplinary area of research, and so relevant materials can be found in a wide range of references sources which may not directly have an LGBTQ+ studies focus.
LGBT Magazine Archive (Trial Access)
LGBT Magazine Archive
The archives of 26 leading but previously hard-to-find magazines are included in LGBT Magazine Archive, including many of the longest-running, most influential publications of this type. Further details about the LGBT Magazine Archive. Access is available through the link above until the 2nd March 2019!
To find LGBTQ+ related scholarly work within a specific subject area, use the suggested search terms with these databases.
A database of citations and summaries of scholarly articles, journals and books in psychology and related fields.
A database of citations and abstracts for journals, books, papers and other media relating to the study of sociology and social planning/ policy.
ERIC The ERIC Index is a major resource for research in all areas of education. ERIC contains approximately 1,000,000 references and abstracts; it annually indexes articles from over 800 journals as well as 13,000 documents (conference papers, research reports, state, federal, and local education documents, selected books, etc.) Produced by the US Department of Education. Of the approximately 500,000 ERIC documents available on fiche at Gutman Library, about 100,000 are also available online from ERIC.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Provides comprehensive coverage of U.S. and international criminal justice literature including scholarly journals, books, dissertations, governmental and non-governmental studies and reports, unpublished papers, magazines, newsletters and other materials. In addition to criminal justice and criminology, topics covered include criminal law and procedure, corrections and prisons, police and policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences and investigation, history of crime, substance abuse and addiction, and probation and parole.
What is LGBT+?
LGBTQ+ is an acronym developed to encompass various queer identities, which are gender identities and sexual orientations other than cisgender and heterosexual. The 'q +' of the acronym acknowledges the breadth and diversity of this community, the fluidity of gender and sexuality, and the potential for something to be queer, outside of hetero and cis categories, without falling neatly into the categories of LGBT which stands for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender. Further, the identities and forms of expression grouped under the 'LGBTQ+' acronym are marginalised by the same forces of heteronormativity, homophobia and misogyny. Having common enemies in these societal prejudices has historically joined these groups in activist circles and a supportive community, a source of organised collective power often grouped politically as well as theoretically in LGBT+ studies. A more detailed explanation of these terms and many others which emerge in the dialogue around queerness, can be found on Stonewall's website, linked above.