Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Carrying out research
If you're carrying out some research or working on a dissertation or thesis in History here are some tips and useful websites to help you. Copies of past dissertations and MPhil theses are available to read in the Seeley - ask at the desk.
Finding Journal Articles
Looking across all libraries in the University
Search for the journal by title in iDiscover. Both journals and ejournals will appear.
Looking at journals only in the Seeley Library
You can use iDiscover as above, or go to the Seeley website to browse a list of all our journals (with links to the ejournals, if available).
A full list of all ejournals available to Cambridge users is found on the ejournals@cambridge website.
There are many online citation indexes that may help, such as Historical Abstracts and Web of Science. Guidance can be found on our website.
Looking at the references in journal articles may help you find similar material, which you can then find in iDiscover.
Research Data Management and Issues
Online resources help
For questions about using eresources (ejournals, ebooks, databases) see these Frequently Asked Questions from the ejournals@cambridge team. Please also feel free to get in touch with the Seeley Library staff.
Here are some of the top general eresources for historians:
ARTstor Database of digital images and accompanying scholarly information for use in art history and other humanistic fields of learning, including the related social sciences. The ARTstor Digital Library includes approximately 300,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology.
Bibliography of British and Irish History Successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography. The BBIH provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. The BBIH includes all references cited from 1901 – 2002 in the Annual Bibliographies of British and Irish History and its predecessor, Writings on British History, as well as pre-1901 citations from Oxford’s Bibliography of British History series. Post- 2002 citations are added on a continuing and timely basis. The BBIH is considered one of the main bibliographical sources on the History of the British Isles and Ireland.
Historical Abstracts Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database offers annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to the present -over half a million entries in all. Currently over 1800 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database, including key historical journals from virtually every major country
JSTOR Description of this database.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography 60,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2012.
Oxford Reference Online Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the award-winning Core Collection.
Web of Science The Web of Science (citation indexes), published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
The Seeley Library website
We also have lots of information to help you research your dissertation on our website.