LibGuides: Economics: Economics Collections

Make a Recommendation

Marshall Library of Economics
You can recommend a book to the Marshall Library for economics and development studies using our webform (at the link above).

We might not always be able to help you with your purchase request; for example, we do not usually buy books in languages other than English. In such a case please suggest this book for the UL via the Link below
Cambridge University Library (UL)

Collections Showcase

Economics Databases

Business Source Ultimate
Business Source Complete provides selected full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. Covers all areas of business, including accounting, economics, finance, management, management information systems, marketing and international business. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Many of the reports are published by Datamonitor.
EconLit
World's foremost source of references to economic literature. A reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1886. It provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory and urban economics.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
This database includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
Periodicals Index Online
An index to the contents of thousands of journals in the humanities and social sciences, from the 18th century to the present. When complete it is expected to contain records of approximately 23 million journal articles from 7,900 journals. Periodicals Index Online covers journals from North America, the United Kingdom and the rest of the English-speaking world and journals in other European languages including French, German, Italian and Spanish. Periodicals Index Online includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal. Bibliographic records are also included for the journals themselves and every journal is indexed under one or more of 37 subject headings eg: Economics, History, Law, Literature, Political Science and Religion.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Abstracting & Indexing Service (PQDT)
This service has moved to Web of Science - See separate Link on this A-Z - PQDT on the ProQuest platform will continue until 31 August.
Web of Science
The Web of Science (citation indexes) is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work. The search interface at this web site provides access to Science Citation Index,Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index

ALFRED Archive Federal Reserve Economic Data
ALFRED allows users to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. ALFRED states that "In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time".

ABI/INFORM Collection (including ABI/Inform Dateline, Global, and Trade & Industry)
ABI/INFORM Complete is a leading business database comprising journals, newspapers, conference papers, dissertations and theses and many other sources

FRED Federal Reserve Economic Data
FRED is a database maintained by the Research division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis that has more than 143,000 economic time series from 57 sources. The data can be viewed in graphical and text form or downloaded for import to a database or spreadsheet, and viewed on mobile devices. They cover banking, business/fiscal, consumer price indexes, employment and population, exchange rates, gross domestic produce (GDP), interest rates, monetary aggregates, produce price indexes (PPI), reserves and monetary base, U.S. Trade and international transactions, and U.S. Financial data. The time series are compiled by the Federal Reserve and collected from government agencies such as the U.S. Census and the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
FRASER Federal Reserve Archive
FRASER is a digital archive begun in 2004 to safeguard, preserve and provide easy access to the United States' economic history - particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System - through digitization of documents related to the U.S. Financial system : Publications of the Federal Reserve Board of Governors / Publications of each of the Federal Reserve banks / Statements, speeches and archival materials of the Federal Reserve policy makers / Government data publications / Statistical releases / Congressional hearings / Books / Reports by various organizations.
Investment Property Database
IPD is a unique database containing commercial real estate information for hundreds of private and institutional investors. It produces research and analysis used globally by individuals connected to the real estate market, especially investors, analysts and researchers. The information available provides a long performance history (25+ years for many markets) and which are mostly appraised quarterly.
MOxLAD
The Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Database : MOxLAD is a database that contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering twenty Latin American countries for the twentieth century and beyond. Coverage is now being extended back to 1870.
OECD iLibrary
OECD's online library for books, papers and statistics. It contains all the publications & datasets released by OECD, International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre and the International Transport Forum.

UN Comtrade
UN Comtrade is a repository of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010

Bloomberg
Bloomberg provides current and historical financial quotes, business newswires, and descriptive information, research and statistsics on over 52,000 companies worldwide. You can only access the database at one dedicated terminal in the Marshall Library. Additional Bloomberg terminals are available at the Judge Business School in Trumpington Street.

more... less...

ONLY AVAILABLE AT STAND ALONE TERMINAL MARSHALL LIBRARY
Refinitiv Eikon (with Datastream Excel Add-In)
A comprehensive on-line historical database that encompasses a broad range of financial entities and instruments with global geographical coverage. Datastream includes daily prices, trading volumes, and return indices, updated at the end of every trading day, for over 100,000 equities in nearly 200 countries worldwide. It also includes data on bonds, options and other derivatives, mutual funds (unit trusts), market indices, exchange rates, macroeconomic variables, and corporate financial data.

more... less...

ONLY AVAILABLE AT STAND ALONE TERMINAL AT MARSHALL LIBRARY

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Data
The EIU database Country Data is a source for global economic indicators and forecasts for over 150 countries. It contains over a million individual data points covering over 280 series and running from 1980 to 2008. It is updated monthly.

World Development Report Online (World Bank)
Contains every page of every World Development Report published by the World Bank since 1978 in one convenient, cross-searchable website - Select chapters to create your own custom ebook - browse by topic & region, and find chapters and background papers of most interest to you - Bookmark and save content in your own "MyWDR " online account.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online
This is the online edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, containing the full text of the 8 volume print edition.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource. The Premium Collection offers all of the above, plus added functionality and more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, to enhance the coverage already provided by the award-winning Core Collection.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of scholarly books in the areas of Archaeology, Biology, Business & Management, Chemistry, Classics, Clinical Medicine & Allied Health, Computer Science, Earth Sciences & Geography, Economics, Education, Environmental Science, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work and Sociology.

Specially-commissioned abstracts and keywords are available at book and chapter level, and up to 200 new and recently-published books are added each year.

Please note that subscription access does not include Archive Collection titles published 1990-2009, which are acquired on an individual title basis.

Science Direct Ebooks
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's platform for access to its ejournal & ebook collections. The collection is particularly strong in economic texts and includes the Elsevier Handbooks in Economics series.
FRASER - Federal Reserve Archive
FRASER is a digital archive begun in 2004 to safeguard, preserve and provide easy access to the United States' economic history - particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System - through digitization of documents related to the U.S. Financial system : Publications of the Federal Reserve Board of Governors / Publications of each of the Federal Reserve banks / Statements, speeches and archival materials of the Federal Reserve policy makers / Government data publications / Statistical releases / Congressional hearings / Books / Reports by various organizations.

Factiva
A business intelligence platform that includes content from 33,000 news, data and information sources from 200 countries and 32 languages.

Factiva is a database of over 8,000 business and news publications, most in full text. Sources are in 22 languages, date back as far as 1969, and include trade journals, newswires (Dow Jones, Reuters, and others), media programs, and company and stock reports. Find information on over 22,000 public and private companies including description, history, current stock quote, financial data, competitors, and the latest news on business activities. Search publications by title, industry, geographic locations, type, and language.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2024
An online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785-2012. Allows researchers an opportunity to search and view the newspaper in its original published context. Includes weekend supplements. The archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest: in business, humanities, political science, philosophy and numerous other subjects with coverage of all major international historical events.This database contains all Monday-Saturday issues of the Times in full text and full image, including news, features, editorials and commentary, advertising, pictures and illustrations. The Sunday Times is NOT included.
New York Times, The (1851-2020)
This database contains all issues of the New York Times, 1851-2020, in full text, full image forms, including news, illustrations, editorial matter, and advertising.
Times of India
This historical newspaper (1838-2012) provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Guardian (1821-2003) & Observer (1791-2003)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Daily Express Archive
The Daily Express archive (from ukpress online) is a fully searchable database of the newspaper. Here you can view, download and print historic pages from Daily Express newspaper dating back to 1900. The Sunday Express is also available from 2000.
Economist
Access via ABI/Inform
Economist Historical Archive
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2011. Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal in digital format from 1890-1991. Users can search by keyword or date or browse issues (Click on Search Methods and choose publication). Includes advertisements as well as articles.
Washington Post (1877-2008)

Econstor
Contains all the content of the German National Library of Economics catalogue, and also working papers, discussion papers and conference proceedings from economic research institutions in Germany as well as some from the United States. It functions as a national subject repository for Germany.
RePec - Research Papers in economics
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 87 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data are then used in various services that serve the collected metadata to users or enhance it.
IDEAS
Over 2,000,000 items of research can be browsed or searched, and over 1,800,000 can be downloaded in full text. This site is part of a large volunteer effort to enhance the free dissemination of research in Economics, RePEc, which includes bibliographic metadata from over 1,800 participating archives, including all the major publishers and research outlets.
SSRN - Social Science Research Network
SSRN is a repository for several social science disciplines but is particularly strong in the fields of economics, finance and accounting. Most papers are available for free downloading but a few can only be accessed for a fee.

Information about collections for Economics and Development Studies

The Marshall Library has a high number of textbooks, most of which are on the reading lists (link to intranet; only works for current students) for Economics and some are part of the MPhil at the Centre of Development Studies. There are several copies of most books on the core papers for both subjects. Apart from textbooks, the Library has particularly strong holdings in economic history, on specific countries (especially on China) and has also some books relating to politics and society. The collection of working papers (though mostly historic) is sizeable. The Marshall Library’s Archival materials are substantial, and include papers by famous Cambridge economists as well as materials relating to the Cambridge Economic Growth project.

In addition to print resources, there is one dedicated Bloomberg and one Datastream terminal, and we have a high number of e-resources.

Resources for My Subject

Economics: Economics Collections

Make a Recommendation

Collections Showcase

Economics Databases

Information about collections for Economics and Development Studies