It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Cambridge has access to 1.75 million + ebooks from a wide variety of publishers and platforms. Use this website to find a specific ebook, access over 65 ebook platforms and discover how to make the most of ebooks in your research and study. Most ebooks are licensed for Cambridge University members only and require a Raven account for access outside of the University network.
The followingpublishers' titles will not yet show up in iDiscover. Search their websites for ebooks (note that these links are to external websites and open in a new tab/window):
Early English Books Online (EEBO) - ProQuest platformWill eventually contain digitized versions of all of the titles listed in the following reference sources. Pollard & Redgrave's A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640 ("STC I") and Donald Wing's A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America, and of English Books Printed in Other Countries, 1641-1700 —("STC II")
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineEighteenth Century Collections Online, a comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library on microfilm of the printed book available through its imprint Primary Source Microfilm.
Our ebooks include titles from the following publishers and collections (note that these links are to external websites and open in a new tab/window), but please note that access is selective: not all books from all collections are available to the University.
African Writers SeriesThis link opens in a new windowFor over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series published the key texts of modern African literature. It has a unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing. This online edition includes over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Chinua Achebe, Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.
ArchaeopressThis link opens in a new windowAccess to all titles on the Archaeopress Archaeology tab as well as more recent issues of the Proceedings of the Seminar for Arabian Studies.
Art & Architecture ePortalThis link opens in a new windowA collection of important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design, published by the world’s finest academic and museum publishers.
BiblioRossicaThis link opens in a new windowIncludes the Leading Russian Scholarly Presses collection, the Russian-language publications of Academic Studies Press, and classic works of literature.
Bloomsbury Collections (Archive Collections)This link opens in a new windowAccess to selected collections only: Ancient History 1983-2012; Ancient Philosophy 1984-2012; Classical Literature 1994-2012; Hart Publishing all archive collections except the practitioner collection. Zed Books Sexuality and Gender Studies Archive.
Bloomsbury Collections (Law Collections)This link opens in a new windowAccess to selected collections only: Hart Publishing 2014-22; Hart Publishing all archive collections except the practitioner collection; C.H.Beck - Hart - Nomos 2014-17.
Bloomsbury Collections (Special Collections)This link opens in a new windowAccess to selected collections only: Education Around the World; Zed Books Sex (Sexuality) and Gender Studies 2017-2020; Zed Books Sexuality and Gender Studies Archive
Bloomsbury Collections (Subject Collections)This link opens in a new windowAccess to selected collections only: Africa, Asia and Latin American Studies 2022; Anthropology 2014-19; Art & Visual Culture 2022; Education 2020; Film & Media Studies 2014-22; History 2015-16; Literary Studies 2015; Philosophy 2015; Politics & International Relations 2019 and 2022; Religious Studies 2019 and 2022; Theology 2015-18.
BookRail Korean BooksThis link opens in a new windowAccess to selected, individual Korean-language titles only.
Brepols OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAccess to selected individual titles only
Brill.comThis link opens in a new window2014 - 2022: Asian Studies, Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East & Early Christianity, Classical Studies, Companions in Classical Studies Online I, History: Early Modern & Modern, History: Late Antiquity and Medieval, International Law, Language and Linguistics, Literature & Cultural Studies, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Religious Studies, Theology & Philosophy, Social Sciences.
2020-2022: Schöningh and Fink History: Early Modern and Modern History; Schöningh and Fink Literature and Culture Studies.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Buddhism OnlineThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive academic reference work devoted to the plurality of Buddhist traditions across Asia, offering readers a detailed treatment of this complex phenomenon in six thematically arranged volumes: Literature and Languages (I, publ. 2015), Lives (II, publ. 2019), Thought (III, forthcoming 2022), History (IV, forthcoming 2023), Life and Practice (V, forthcoming 2025), Index and Remaining Issues (VI, forthcoming 2026).
Brill's Encyclopedia of Early Christianity OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThe Brill Encyclopedia of Early Christianity focuses on the history of early Christian texts, authors, ideas. Its content is intended to bridge the gap between the fields of New Testament studies and patristics, covering the whole period of early Christianity up to 600 CE. The BEEC aims to provide a critical review of the methods used in Early Christian Studies and to update the historiography.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Global Pentecostalism OnlineThis link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive overview of worldwide Pentecostalism from a range of disciplinary perspectives. It offers analysis at the level of specific countries and regions, historical figures, movements and organizations, and particular topics and themes.
Brill’s Encyclopedia of HinduismThis link opens in a new windowThis work presents the latest research on all the main aspects of the Hindu traditions. Its 438 essays are original work written by the world’s foremost scholars on Hinduism. The encyclopedia presents an even-handed view of Hinduism, recognizing the divergent perspectives and methods in the academic study of a religion that has ancient historical roots with many flourishing traditions today. Including all essays from the printed edition, Brill’s Encyclopedia of Hinduism is now regularly updated with new articles and available in a fully searchable, dynamic digital format.
Brill's Encylopedia of Jews in the Islamic WorldThis link opens in a new windowThe publisher claims this is the first cohesive and discreet reference work which covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online is updated with newly commissioned articles, illustrations, multimedia, and primary source material.
Brill : Miras Maktoob e-book collectionThis link opens in a new window241 volumes originally published by the Written Heritage Research Institute (Miras Maktoob), including works in both Persian and Arabic on Islamic history and culture in the broadest sense.
Brill's Sezgin OnlineThis link opens in a new windowA bio-bibliography for the Arabic literary tradition offers volumes 1-9 of Fuat Sezgin's renowned Geschichte des arabischen Schrifttums (GAS), the largest bio-bibliography for the Arabic literary tradition, particularly for the history of science and technology in the Islamic world.
Cambridge CoreThis link opens in a new windowAccess to all CUP and publishing partner monographs, as well as including Cambridge Companions, Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Elements, Cambridge Shakespeare and Stahl Online.
ClinicalKey StudentThis link opens in a new window250+ medical textbook titles published by Elsevier.
Users are required to create a personal profile to access content on the site. A personal profile also enables users to use Bookshelf (with highlighting, note-making, and bookmarking functionality), share notes/highlighting, and export notes to OneNote.
ClinicalKey Student Foundations is an innovative portfolio of eBooks, images and videos combined with interactive tools and analytics to support teaching and learning in UK medical programmes. In particular, the ability to create and share links to selected readings, videos and copyright cleared images allows academics to guide students through their required learning.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsThis link opens in a new windowOnline version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Mirrors print edition + additional features such as data searching.
Digitala Vetenskapliga Arkivet (DiVA)This link opens in a new windowSweden's most used system for registration and dissemination of scholarly publication data. Multi-disciplinary (check the box marked 'Only documents with full text in DiVA' to access material)
Duke University PressThis link opens in a new windowPermanent access to titles published from 2016 - 2021 in all subject collections (AMES, Anthropology, Education, English, History, Music, South Asian Studies and SPS). We also currently have access to the entire Duke backlist.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) - ProQuest platformThis link opens in a new windowContains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700. NB NO RECORDS IN IDISCOVER.
Ebook Central/ProQuest Academic CompleteThis link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary platform offering access to permanently owned ebooks as well as 180,000+ academic ebooks on subscription. Raven login needed on campus for printing, copying & downloading. Incorporates all content previously hosted on Ebrary and MyiLibrary.
EBSCOHost eBook CollectionThis link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary. This platform gives access to titles purchased outright as well as over 195,000 subscription titles from a wide range of subjects and publishers.
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowEighteenth Century Collections Online, a comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library on microfilm of the printed book available through its imprint Primary Source Microfilm.
Equinox ebooksThis link opens in a new windowAn independent academic publisher based in Sheffield, specialises in archaeology, linguistics, cultural history, religious studies, theology, biblical studies and popular music.
Availability: selected ebook titles
Fabula / Colloques en ligneThis link opens in a new windowFabula / Colloques en ligne hosts the online proceedings of academic literary conferences, symposia, study days and round tables, focusing especially on issues of literary theory and epistemology.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA database of encyclopedias and reference sources from the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and STEMM. Includes collections in Literature, Biography, Environment, Religion, Multicultural Studies, History, Business and Law.
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)This link opens in a new windowSubscription covers access to journals, transactions, conferences and published standards as well as selective access to ebooks. For details see My Settings > What can I access?
IGI GlobalThis link opens in a new windowAccess to selected individual titles only
Instant AnatomyThis link opens in a new windowDiagrams, revision questions, lectures, podcasts, audio, oral examination preparation, interactive multiple choice questions on human anatomy.
InteLex Past MastersThis link opens in a new windowA growing collection of the works of past masters including: Augustine (works (4th release), Austen (letters), Austin (works), Boyle (correspondence and works), Bronte (Letters), Bruno (Werke - German and Italian), Chekhov (Complete works - Russian), Coleridge (collected letters), Dewey (collected works 2nd release), Dewey (correspondence I-IV), Dewey (lectures 2nd release), Dickens (letters (i-xii)), Eliot (notebooks and library), Hardy (collected letters), Hegel (OUP translations), Hume (complete works and correspondence), Luther (works), Montaigne (complete works), Nietzsche (werke), Pope (correspondence), Sidgwick: Complete Works, Select Correspondence, Swift (correspondence), Tennyson (letters), Wittgenstein (collected works) and Wordsworth (collected letters).
International Anatomy Collection - LWW Health LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA small collection of key textbooks on core/fundamental topics, procedural videos, images, real-life case studies, and quiz banks in Anatomy for medical and health science students and practitioners.
IOP Science ebooksThis link opens in a new windowThe Institute of Physics publishes "high-quality research across the physical sciences. Their ebook collections have been created to meet the needs of students, early-career researchers and established leaders in the respective fields."
Expanding Physics releases 1-6, Concise Physics releases 1-6, and the IOP 2020 collection.
Kotobarabia databaseThis link opens in a new windowAccess to ebooks within the Arab Leaders, Historians and Philosophers Collection. Approximately 5,000 titles, mainly in Arabic, on Arab culture, religion, philosophy and political thought.
KU Open Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA range of Open Access works in the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences and STEMM.
Books are available to read online or download as PDFs. Users can browse by subject
or run an Advanced Search for titles by language, publisher, content type and more.
Literature Online (LION)This link opens in a new windowLiterature Online (Lion) includes a collection of over 349,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference and critical resources. Literature Online's primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present, American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and English prose from 1500 to 1900, among others. Secondary sources include the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature from 1920 onward, with links to articles in JSTOR, LIFT, a literary journal index with full text of selected articles, the King James Bible, Webster's Dictionary, links to selected Web resources, and biographical information.
Manchester Film & Media StudiesThis link opens in a new windowA growing collection of books and one journal "Film Studies", published by Manchester University Press, covering all aspects of film and media studies. From volumes on a wide range of British, French, Spanish and Latin American filmmakers to debates and issues that are informing current practice in film and screen studies.
Manchester HiveThis link opens in a new windowA small but growing selection of individually purchased titles from Manchester University Press. Users also have access to collections in Film & Media Studies, Medieval Sources Online, Shakespeare, and Studies in Imperialism.
Manchester Medieval Sources OnlineThis link opens in a new windowFrom the terror of the Black Death to the drama of the Norman invasion, Manchester Medieval Sources Online brings alive the reality of life in the medieval world through these first hand accounts, many translated into English for the first time. The collection also provides extensive introductory and explanatory material which will enable a beginner in the area to understand the variety of interpretations the sources have had, and any linguistic problems that have been controversial.
Manchester ShakespeareThis link opens in a new windowA growing collection of books published by Manchester University Press covering a wealth of historical, social and cultural critiques of Shakespeare's works, plus the works of his contemporaries.
Manchester Studies in ImperialismThis link opens in a new windowA growing collection of books delivering scholarship on cultural encounters between the coloniser and colonised, the circulation of power through the production and organisation of colonial knowledge, and the construction of identity both at the heart and on the margins of empire.
ManiocThis link opens in a new windowDigital library specializing in the Caribbean, the Amazon, the Guyana Plateau and the regions or centres of interest linked to these territories. Includes textual, audio, iconographic documents and references concerning the cultural, social, economic or political history of these countries.
Mohr SiebeckThis link opens in a new windowA Tübingen based independent publisher specializing in Theology and Law, but also publishing in a range of fields across the Humanities including Ancient Studies, Judaic Studies, Religious Studies, History, Philosophy, Sociology and Economics. Availability: selective ebook titles only.
Morgan and Claypool ebooksThis link opens in a new windowUndergraduate and research level ebooks from the following collections: Synthesis 1 & 2, Computer & Information Science 2,3, & 10.
OAPENThis link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary Open Access library of 2600+ titles from European publishers freely available as PDF files, including titles in several languages. Includes 90 titles from UK publishers under the OAPEN-UK JISC ebooks project.
Open Edition ebooksThis link opens in a new windowEbooks in the humanities and social sciences, mostly in French and Spanish. More than half are available open access. We have purchased selected titles only from the remaining catalogue.
Oxford Chemistry Primers CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThe books in the renowned Oxford Chemistry Primers series provide accessible accounts of a range of essential topics in chemistry and chemical engineering.
Oxford Handbooks OnlineThis link opens in a new windowArchaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, and Sociology.
Oxford Legal Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAccess to all four available modules; Financial & Banking Law (55 titles), International Commercial Arbitration (42 titles), International Commercial Law (27 titles),and Private International Law (22 titles).
Oxford Medicine OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine, Oxford Handbook of Clinical Specialities, Oxford Handbook of Opthalmology, Oxford Handbook of Psychiatry as well as further medical titles.
Oxford Research EncyclopediasThis link opens in a new windowCambridge University now has access to all the OREs which currently comprise the following subjects: African history; American history; Anthropology; Asian history; Business & Management; Climate science; Communication; Criminology and Criminal justice; Economics and Finance; Education; Social work; Environmental science; Global public health; International studies; Latin American history; Linguistics; Literature; Natural hazard science; Neuroscience; Physics; Planetary science; Politics; Psychology; Religion.
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International LawThis link opens in a new windowOSAIL includes all of Oxford's leading general texts such as Oppenheim's International Law and Rosalyn Higgins' Problems and Process. It also includes all of the titles in the Oxford Commentaries on International Law such as the commentaries on UN Charter edited by Bruno Simma, on the Statute of the ICJ edited by Andreas Zimmermann, and on the Torture Convention by Manfred Nowak. In addition it includes all titles from the Oxford International Law Library series and other selected authoritative works by authors such as James Crawford, Christine Gray, William Schabas, and Dinah Shelton.
Oxford Scholarly Editions OnlineThis link opens in a new windowSubscription includes: Latin poetry; Plato; Renaissance; Shakespeare; Early 17th century; Restoration; 18th century; 19th Century Drama; Romantics.
Oxford Scholarship OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAccess to the following collections: Archaeology, Biology, Business and Management, Classics, Computer Science, Economics, Education, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, and Sociology, as well as Law content from Stanford University and Chicago University up to present. Mathematics and Physics up to early 2009. Additionally, we have purchased some individual titles in other collections.
Peter Lang ebooksThis link opens in a new windowAccess to ebook versions of Peter Lang print titles purchased by the UL with a publication date of 2010 - early 2018 as well as additional individually selected ebooks. Includes titles in English, German and French.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowHumanities & Social Sciences. Access to individually purchased ebooks only (some 400 titles and growing). Also includes 50 backlist titles from the Central European University Press Editors' Choice Collection.
ProQuest Academic Complete/Ebook CentralThis link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary platform offering 180,000+ academic ebooks on subscription as well as access to permanently owned ebooks. Raven login needed on campus for printing, copying & downloading. Incorporates all content previously hosted on Ebrary and MyiLibrary.
Routledge African Studies (via Knowledge Unlatched)This link opens in a new windowA diverse range of books on all sub-disciplines of African, and African diaspora studies, published Open Access via Knowledge Unlatched. It is expected that authorship includes both international scholars, and scholars working within the continent.
SAGE Research Methods OnlineThis link opens in a new windowA research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. A "methods map" facilitates finding content on methods. SAGE Research Methods contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and "Little Blue Book” series. Includes a collection of case studies of real social research.
ScienceDirect All Access and Freedom Collection BooksThis link opens in a new windowAround 40,000 titles including textbooks, book series, monographs and major reference works, covering all available subject areas and publication years. Access opened up until the end of May 2022 in the first instance.
Screen studiesThis link opens in a new windowFull access to all three collections: Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism (448 titles), BFI Film Classics (91 titles) and BFI Film Studies (89 titles).
Taylor and Francis eBooksThis link opens in a new windowebook platform from Taylor & Francis hosting Routledge, CRC Press, Ashgate Publishing, Longman, and Psychology Press titles (amongst other imprints). Access is restricted to monograph titles that have been purchased individually, selective Routledge Handbooks, and to the HSS and STEM Archive collections.
TorrossaThis link opens in a new windowItalian language titles in Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. To activate full-text access, users must click on the lightbulb icon and submit a request.
University Press Scholarship OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOnline access to 24 university presses. With the exception of Oxford University Press (see separate entry for Oxford Scholarship Online), full-text access is restricted to individual titles that have been purchased on request.
University Press Scholarship Online LawThis link opens in a new windowScholarly works on Law published by Oxford University Press and contributing aacdemic presses, including the University Presses of Cornell, Edinburgh, Chicago, Princeton, Stanford, and Yale.